Confessions logo

Is there Really a Labor Shortage?

My Personal Experiences Looking for Work

By Kristi FlowersPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Is there Really a Labor Shortage?
Photo by Marten Bjork on Unsplash

A very long story short, I am looking for a job. Yes, I have skills, education, and drive, but I am having a hard time finding a place to even look at my resume much less hire me. I thought there were plenty of jobs available? What is going on?

As for me and my work background. I have been a Pharmacy Technician for almost 30 years. I have worked in every kind of pharmacy setting imaginable. Two years ago, I decided that I needed to make more money and enrolled in Nursing School.

I did quite well in school, far better than I ever imagined, and when it was time to take the state boards, I was the first in my class to do it. I was ready to make some real money. Then, reality number one hit: MANY places do not hire new nurse grads. My resume was ignored, and applications dismissed. Employers that did call me, were quick to inform me that I need at LEAST six months of experience before they would even start to consider me. I was so discouraged.

Then finally, I was hired to a plastic surgery practice. I was so excited. They were aware of my "new grad" status and had no issues with the fact. My training had begun, and I was ready to be a nurse! Except, I could not stand being in surgery. I thought I would be able to handle it, but in fact it made my stomach roll, being in the OR. I discussed my concerns with my supervisor, and I decided the best option for me was to move on. We parted on good terms, and I thought maybe I would have at least an easier time finding a job since I had some experience at that point.

I was wrong again. I found a job at a rehabilitation center. I applied, interviewed and they offered me the job. They also were well aware of my "novice" experience at this point. Then when I was asking questions during the interview, they finally admitted the truth of what my job would entail. I would be in charge of 30 patients on my shift. All of their total care. I knew immediately as a novice nurse this would not be feasible, I declined the job. I would rather not work than put someone's health in jeopardy because of understaffing.

At this point, I was looking for anything. Pharmacy positions, nursing positions, entry level positions, ANYTHING. I applied to an ad from a major greeting card company as a fluke. Of course, if they offered me something, I would have taken it. It was for a job working 1-5 hours a week. I thought to myself that I could do that, and who else would even want to work those hours weekly. Two days later, without looking at my resume, I received the email that they would not be moving forward with my application. I was devastated.

I even applied to a grocery store. I have seen hiring signs in the store windows for months. It was at a grocery store that I had worked for in the past. We ended on very good terms. I thought for sure they would hire me back in no time, since I had experience, and they were quite familiar with my work ethic. Two months and counting, I still have heard nothing. Guess what, they still have "now hiring" signs in the window.

So, my question is: are places really hiring or are they giving the illusion that they need to hire because they don't really want to hire, and it gives them an excuse for the lack of employees?

Workplace
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.