Confessions logo

I will continue shopping with SHEIN

Here is what I have to say about the controversy of fast fashion

By Violet RoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read

If you’ve been on the internet a lot recently, especially on TikTok, you have probably heard the whispers and shouts to boycott Shein and other fast fashion stores. There are claims that people are receiving messages for help from SheIn factory workers, that workers are paid very little and over worked. Right about now you are probably judging me for choosing to still shop with them, and that’s fair.

The thing with fashion is a lot of brands, cheap or expensive, utilize sweatshops. Do a quick google search and you will see that brands such as H&M, Zara, Urban Outfitters and more have been caught in these scandals as well. And with the price of their clothing, you would think that they could afford to pay their workers fairly, right?

drop down menus under each brand show related articles

So why should we pick and choose who we boycott and who we don’t? As a plus sized woman it is so hard to find affordable and well fitting clothing. Take torrid for example. Their prices are asinine, and the quiality is not up to par of what it should be for the price. Their most basic clothing items are usually $60-$80. These same dresses would be $20-$30 in smaller sizes at chainstores such as Walmart or Target.

There are some big retailers that are starting to include more plus sizes, but for me personally when I go to look for my size, the few they had are sold out and there is only smalls and mediums on the rack. I avoid most mainstream clothing stores because I know I won’t be able to find my size.

The clothing industry itself needs to be reformed, there is no denying that. But as it stands at this current moment fast fashion has helped a lot of plus size women and women in general.

I have looked into the claims of workers being abused and mistreated at SheIn factories. I will say it doesn’t look good for the company. They claim they have a code of conduct that they follow for welfare and treatment of their employees, but details are vague. Their sustainability and social impact report of 2021 rated “Mediocre” including 1-3 ”Major risks” in the work environment. So I understand how it seems horrendous to some to continue giving them my money. But from all my research, I do not truly believe that they are forcing their workers to work there.

I have always believed that Ethical Consumption in America is not practical for the everyday working person. I would love to buy my clothes handmade and from workers who are paid fairly. I‘d grow my own food and shop only from small businesses and farmers markets. In a perfect world those things would be possible. But with gas prices steadily rising- the national average as I write this is $4.37- and minimum wage staying steadily low, most middle and lower class Americans can not afford to worry about who they give their money to in regards to fulfiling their needs.

Here is a little look into the current income situation for the majority of Americans right now. The national average hourly wage is between $7.25 and $15.25. The average American buys 40 gallons of gas in a week. If you are making $14, that’s $560(Before taxes) a week. If you are paying $4.37 a gallon and buying 40 gallons a week that is $174.48. After gas but before taxes, you would be making roughly $1544 a month. I won’t get into rent because I think I’ve made my point.

Of course I am always looking for ways to be a more ethical consumer when I can. I love thrift shopping and garage sales make my knees weak. But I am only one person, trying to survive in a really rough time in history. We all are. When I find a better solution, and I do actively look, I will use it and share it. For right now I am just trying to make it and enjoy myself a little on the way. I hope you can forgive me for that.

Taboo

About the Creator

Violet Ro

I enjoy writing about my own experiences and also enjoy experimenting with stepping out of my realm.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Violet RoWritten by Violet Ro

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.