Confessions logo

I wasn’t into feminism

an honest opinion

By RosePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
I wasn’t into feminism
Photo by Becca Tapert on Unsplash

So during my junior years of high school I didn’t identify as a feminist, I didn’t really think my self as someone who extremely discouraged the inequality between men and women. Yes I knew there was s pay gap and I figured that should be something thatshiuld change and yeh there were sometimes more men than women in the work place.

But then it slowly began to struck me that it was a hell lot more then women not getting postitions and similar pay.I started to see the discrimination that was truly embedded into our society.

It all began when I stated to watch this dystopian tv series on SBS made by Hulu called “The Handmaids Tale” at it’s a dystopian set in our time where basically there are only a few women who have the ability to fall pregnant, so in america a cult like set up has been created that is highly discriminatory towards women. Yeh it’s just a dystopian. So pretty extreme things happen towards the women in this movie including rape, tourcher and mutilation, believe me it’s not for the light hearted. But I stared to notice somethings that felt oddly familiar.

I thought it was just because I had been watching way to much of it. But no. I noticed that the way men were speaking in the show was very close to how I have been spoken to.

Surprisingly this isn’t what made me realise how unbalanced our society still is between the sexes today.

One of my friends explained to me what mansplanning was...

The Oxford definition of the word mansplanning is as follows:

"The explanation of something by a man, typically to a woman, in a manner regarded as condescending or patronizing."

My first reaction to this was no way is this true it's probably just some joke that women came up with.

But I was so very very wrong! Once you are told about manspanning and someone points it out to you it will drive you up the wall. A group of mates and I were talking about workouts and we were talking about planking inparticular and then the only male in the group of course goes to explain how to do it like we had no idea what we were talking about.....

It shocked me and from then on I only noticed it more and more.

Another unhealthy seriotyped habbit that I discovered was pointed out by one of my female english teachers, that often people will say to young girls "when you have children." Yes I'm sure males get told this too but... I rember far too many people saying this line to me assuming that I want children, that I want to put a career on hold to produce a mini me of either me or my partner. Have you ever heard the line "when you have children"??? Especially in sex education classes!!! like how about we change the "when" to an "if" or even better "If BOTH parties of the relationship want to produce a child."

As I have gotten older I have seen it even more, why did the word WOMAN become an insult? when we are resourceful smart and powerful? Ladies you know the tone I'm talking about when a man says the word "woman" or even common in the phrase "what women?" - it makes my skin crawl.

Why did the word pussy become a word to describe the feminine annatomy and of someone who is scared? when a woman's "pussy" is naturaly strong and brave enough to birth a living breathing human?

Its amazing how much we don't notice, its amzing how the women standing next to me skip over these things, its amazing how well society has shapped us into not seeing things for the way they are.

Its time we stand together.

Humanity

About the Creator

Rose

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    RoseWritten by Rose

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.