Confessions logo

I think my husband makes a better wife than me

Traditional roles of the household...

By Kelly HornePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
I think my husband makes a better wife than me
Photo by Vladislav Muslakov on Unsplash

Full confession here.

I do think my husband makes a better wife than I do.

I know that can sound extremely sexist, but hear me out. I grew up in a home where my mother was in charge of laundry. She did most of the cooking, but shocker, dad did some too and he was the one to help teach mom her way around the kitchen. She did most of the house cleaning. Dad handled most of the chores outside. They helped each other, but they stuck by most of the traditional roles of what the wife does and what the husband does.

So when I got married, I obviously thought my husband and I would keep things along the same lines. Problems arose quickly though, as we both had ideas of what chores should be done and when.

A perfect example of this is Hubby was brought up in a home that constantly had laundry going. There is never truly that feeling of accomplishment of being done. There also is never that feeling of being stuck at home on a weekend day because of the chores needing to be completed. I get it. I actually like it better, but in my childhood home growing up, laundry was for Saturdays. Not Sundays, as doing house chores on that day were a direct slap in the face to God and not to be done. Also, not for weekdays because between full time jobs and helping us kids with homework, and then making supper, cleaning it up and making sure we were clean and ready for our day the next day, there was no time for extra chores.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

So you can see how the differences in how we were raised effected what we thought our household should do and so we head butted on our ideas of what chores should be accomplished and when.

Let’s add in the interesting fact that my husband is 100% OCD for sure and now we have the added pressure of chores needing to be done “correctly”.

I never do chores correctly. A perfect example; I folded towels wrong. I had to be “taught” the correct way.

I am reading over this as I type, and I do not want anyone getting the wrong idea that this man is in anyway abusive. I know there are horror stories of women who have been abused for something as simple as a towel being folded incorrectly. That is NOT what I am saying here at all.

No. Instead, by husband did so in a quiet and reassuring way that it was not “wrong” the way I was folding, but it would look better if we did the fold in the middle and then the 3 way fold.

He is right. It looks more like the hotels have the towels folded. I was just folding more like a blanket… I think. You know. Corner meets corner and then corner meets corner again.

By Denny Müller on Unsplash

I also make the bed wrong. I am still unsure how I do so. I think it has something to do with the fact that I DON’T get on the bed to fan out the top sheet and cover to make sure it lays, “just right”. You know who does do this? My picky husband.

Dishes are a territory that we share. Only because we have a dishwasher. I would be interested to know how I could mess that one up too. ;)

Laundry, mostly his territory. I am getting better at spotting the full dryer and the full hamper and addressing the issue. I can be a little oblivious at times though… I promise it is not on purpose.

No, instead, all his efficiency makes me feel inefficient. I know he does not mean for it to be this way. You know you have officially switched roles when it is me who does something and I wait around for praise from him for doing it correctly. Haven’t there been commercials or memes on social media about the man finally doing a chore and then wanting an Academy Award for getting it right? I know how that feels.

By Giorgio Trovato on Unsplash

Luckily, when it comes to cuddles, helping with homework (minus history or geography because once again, Hubby excels in both) helping with a broken heart, this mama wins!

By Jordan Whitt on Unsplash

Not that it is a contest. It is not. I would lose every time.

So instead I brag on him. Yes, he still aggravates me like no other. He is still the typical man in every way. Just his OCD makes him a better cleaner and housekeeper than me, and I have learned to embrace it and try to work around it so I am still his helpmate. Just not in the traditional way.

And no ladies… he is NOT available. He is 100% taken for life!

I even offered to switch inside chores with him for outside chores. He works at Park Maintenance so the man has to be sick of mowing during the summer months right?

Nope. Turns out I don’t mow “right” either…

This is when I wish we had comments available because I cannot be the only woman who feels this way because she has a great husband. I hope at least…

Embarrassment
1

About the Creator

Kelly Horne

Married. Loving mother to my daughter and son. Full time employee of local government office as an Admin Asst. Currently in process of obtaining my Master's Degree in Library Science.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.