Confessions logo

I’m sorry mom.

Things I never told you.

By Rebecca ShikanyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
I’m sorry mom.
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

Hey mom… I am so sorry I wasn’t the “best kid” in the world. I have done a lot of bad things. I have also said the most heartbreaking things to you and other people in my life. I believe that we all say and do “stupid things” when we are young. But what about the things we didn’t say or wish we did say?

I wish I would have told you I loved you more often than I did, or how much I appreciate that you adopted me as a baby. You raised 5 kids who you had adopted and raised them like they were your own. You have done an amazing job as a mother! You continue to inspire me as a new mom and I am so happy I can even now, continue to come to you for advice about things I don’t know. Some days I often look at my two kids and I just wonder “how in the world did you raise 5 kids and do such an astounding job?”

I feel that I have never apologize enough for my actions. I am sorry for the way I would yell at you and for the all times I have acted so ungrateful. I am so sorry I left the house at 17 years old even though I knew it would hurt you. I am sorry for the times I ran away because I had let my depression and my bipolar get the best of me. I am sorry for all the times I have lied to you and for the times I have talked about you poorly to others when I was angry. I am so very sorry… I really, really wish I would have hugged you more offten than I did, and told you everyday how much I love you. I am sorry for not taking the time to finish high school even though you told me that I should. I realize now that I have made a lot of mistakes and that I should have been more attentive to your guidence more often than I was. I see now that you were trying to help me and I do wish that I would have been smart enough at the time to listen. I’m sorry for the many times I had not listened to you even when you were right, and were trying your hardest to assist me the best you could.

I really appreciate how forgiving you have been with me. I will always remember how much you have tried, and continue to try to guide me through my life. I am thankful for you and your advice.

Thank you mom. Thank you for being such a strong courageous woman who never gave up on me. Thank you for always being there to listen to me when I needed it and for always being supportive of me.

When I was a baby you chose me out of the millions of kids who needed a home. You gave me a life that I could not have gotten anywhere else. You always did your best to provided for me, and my brothes and sisters. You have always done your best to make sure we were happy. You held me when I was down and lifted me up to be a better person. You allowed me learn from my own mistakes while trying so hard to guide me down the right path.

As an adult I see all the things you did for me and said to me was not to be mean, rude, or to upset me but to help me. I am happy I ended up where I am now and to have made this beautiful family of mine. I never would have been who I am today with out you!

I hope this gets to you mom and hope you can understand and forgive me for my poor decisions. I could not have asked for a better mom than you!

Family
1

About the Creator

Rebecca Shikany

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.