Confessions logo

I Am Beautiful The Way I Am? Be

The Way You Are is perfect!!!

By Charlotte MerryPublished about a month ago 3 min read
1
I Am Beautiful The Way I Am? Be
Photo by Bekah Allmark on Unsplash

I Am Beautiful The Way I Am, Be The Way You are!

Amid pause to collect thoughts, in the presence of mirrors that have seen our tears, smiles, and the rest, a truth speaks—perhaps in hushed tones—to convey that we are filled with such beauty. The process of writing this letter to you, who in the battle with your thoughts might not hear the answer in the echo of Non understood, is not just about self-awareness but a message as well. Here, amidst the uniting forces of both the fragility and the strength in our communities, we begin to discover our own unadorned path toward accepting the beauty that has always been ours.

My Journey to Self-Acceptance

I had the same experience as majority individuals: my mirror became a battlefield rather than a mirror where I can see myself vividly. It echoed them to me, not flaws, but each a quiet depiction of my battles with self-worth. It wasn't until a cascade of moments, both significant and mundane, led me to a simple yet earth-shattering realization: I used to be under the spell of glasses which were hectic because of social standards and self-doubt. That was the day I removed my lenses. I began to really see who I was. Although, this revelations didn’t come easily or quickly, it took its shape like the silhouette of a day as I learned to quiet the outer noise and listen to my own voice—it was a voice that spoke of my inherent worth and unique beauty.

Conclusion: We Are All Beautiful

This is what makes our world colourful; diversity is its flavor which makes our life interesting. And while beauty, according to history, has been defined in the most limiting manner, narrowing its definition to fit into a small number of criteria, still beauty is a universal attribute. I have crossed paths with so many different kinds of individuals in the last few years of my life but they taught me an invaluable lesson of appreciation for diversity. Such experiences further proving my point that beauty is not monolithic or to be found in a one-size-fits-all package, it is as diverse as the merits and souls of this world. Adapting ourselves within and among our societies by being inclusive and sympathetic is a measure to improve our world.

The Significance of Society and Mass Media

Unfortunately, the society’s story with the media through the years leads to a filtered and widely accepted notion of beauty. It's a story that has been a battleground for everyone differently, against everyone the same, and a few have ignored or even run away from it.But change is afoot. Beauty business is gradually realizing that diversity is a right thing to do, therefore, no longer being afraid to put it front and center. However, the trip doesn’t finish outside the changes only. The actual change comes from within—once we become born again and start to judge, confute, and replace the standards that have been imposed on us.

Steps Towards Self-Love

The way to get self-love, and acceptance is as differing as the person who is following this track. It starts with small steps: confronting the fact of the negative self-talk, face it, and replace it with kindness and compassion. It is about embracing a happy person through the characteristics that make you stand out, admiring your virtues, and being kind to yourself even in your difficult times. A positive surround, employing self-care routines to care for mind and body and fully digging yourself into this phase of life are all vital to creating for yourself a strong feeling of self-love.

HumanityTeenage yearsSecretsEmbarrassmentBad habits
1

About the Creator

Charlotte Merry

Passionate storyteller 📝 |

Lover of all things local 🏙️ |

Bringing community news to life, one headline at a time 🌟

| Your go-to source for the latest happenings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.