Confessions logo

How It Feels To Be ‘Jack Of All Trades, But Master Of None.’

Written for all my multi-talented friends.

By Anushka ChavanPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

“Jack of all trades, master of none” is a figure of speech used in reference to a person who has dabbled in many skills, rather than gaining expertise by focusing on one.- From Wikipedia.

Recently, I watched an anime named ‘Hyouka.’ Info is down below.

Hyouka is a 2001 Japanese mystery novel written by Honobu Yonezawa. It is the first volume of the Classic Literature Club series. Five additional volumes have been published between 2002 and 2016. A manga adaptation drawn by Taskohna began serialization in the March 2012 issue of Kadokawa Shoten’s Shōnen Ace.- Source from Wikipedia.

This anime moves around a group of high school students named Oreki, Chitanda, Mayaka, and Satoshi. The writer explained each character beautifully. I highly recommend this anime.

SPOILER ALERT!!

Satoshi is the epitome of Extroverts. He loves trying different things and is very open to new experiences. He is the true definition of ‘jack of all trades, but master of none.’ He is also called a database, as he knows about a lot of ‘useless’ stuff. He is good at a lot of activities like cooking, quiz, mystery, etc. But he is not the best at any.

I love how he accepts himself and changes into a better person. When I re-watched it again, I realized we both are somewhat the same.

You might say, “but isn’t it good to be good at any stuff?” Yes, it’s true in some situations, but it has disadvantages too.

You don’t know what you truly love.

You might wonder what’s the best career path for you? Or which is your favorite clue in school? For me, IT’S HARD TO ANSWER. I always struggled to answer questions like, “What career path have you chosen?” I love many things but if you tell me to choose one I can’t.

But we still have an advantage here. Most professions like doctors, chemists, lawyers, engineers work in ‘T’ formate. In simple terms, in such professions, you need to master a single skill, For multi-talented people ‘V’ formate is the best. In this, you can learn a variety of skills and maybe master one. Unfortunately, there are not many professions for multi-talented people. ( I think in future multi-talented people will be in great demand)

Commitment can be a problem.

“Oh I love writing, I will become a writer in the future…” “Oh I’m in LOVEEE with pilates, I want to be a fitness coach….” That me in a nutshell. I can easily get bored with anything. I was a kid who always tried different ideas and you would see them in different clubs and people. I was a weirdo. That’s the reason why my friends always asked me for new hobbies. A commitment was a big issue for me growing up.

I have tried to be consistent, but it’s hard. For people like this, don’t stop learning. It might get burdensome for the people around you but DON’T STOP LEARNING. I honestly don’t know, how to be consistent and committed myself. All I can say is, all the best.

There is some kind of obsession with winning.

One more similarity between satoshi and me is the fact that we both always want to win. No matter how much effort I have to put into something I cannot win. In my final year of school, I studied like hell. I would wake up early in the morning or study till late at night. I have never been this sincere about anything in my whole life. But my smart and intelligent friends have always beat me. She is naturally intelligent academically. Even in our final exam, she beat me with a good margin. We both studied equally hard but she won.

I’m not jealous but rather happy with my results. But I always wonder why my hard work is useless in front of a naturally talented person? It might sound harsh but no matter how hard we try, we will never be able to erase the difference between us. The distance might get reduced, but it would never be equal.

So simply don’t try to compete with others. Improve yourself. Compete with r past self.

Final thoughts.

It’s okay to be confused sometimes. You don’t need to be committed to anything. You can enjoy life trying weird stuff and still be yourself. You don’t need to win every competition. Always remember, embrace yourself no matter what. That’s the only key to a happy life.

Thank you for reading my blog. Hope it was helpful.

Teenage years
Like

About the Creator

Anushka Chavan

"Document, don't create."



Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.