Confessions logo

How Could You?

An Open Letter to Mother

By Lillianna NightveilPublished 2 years ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
1
How Could You?
Photo by Kate Hliznitsova on Unsplash

Dear Mother,

I'm sure it may be difficult to understand what I'm going to tell you. Believe me, it's even harder from this side. So, I'll just come out and say it.

When I left that day, I wasn't trying to hurt anyone. I had a lot on my mind, and for the majority of my life, I've had little context as well as a lack of vocabulary to truly explain exactly what I was feeling. But, how could you know, if I didn't even know myself.

Anyway, I was taught that I must be the rock for all to lean against. Unfortunately, rocks do have the tendency to weaken and crumble over time.

I'm sorry that it has to come like this, but I needed to spend some time exploring who and what I truly am. The majority of my life has been a lie since I had to hide how I felt toward others, be it in a platonic or sexual way, as I discovered myself to be rather attracted to my eighth grade English teacher. Yet, nothing was going to come of that due to various factors, such as my being more on the quiet and shy side.

Anyway, the fact that I had graduated high school at all was a miracle in and of itself, since I spent the entire three years masquerading as someone I'm not.

Either way, I'm now finding comfort in who I truly am, and enjoy being able to show the world my true self.

Family
1

About the Creator

Lillianna Nightveil

I am a parent to four children; a perfectionist who finds it very difficult to finish any project without many revisions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.