Confessions logo

Hello Vocal!

a friendly introduction

By Jazzy Published 10 months ago 3 min read
11
My husband and I on our wedding day!

I am here, Vocal, sharing my thoughts and innermost feelings, and finally introducing myself. I tend to be an oversharer, which isn't surprising. So without further delay, let me say, howdy, I'm Jazzy. I'm in my mid-twenties and have a little girl, Cassian. She is wild and loud, just like me. I was young when I had her, so we are both kids, except I have a credit card. She loves to do math and play Go Fish. I graduated from Texas Tech with a bachelor's in Nursing science and have been practicing as a registered nurse for the last four years. Besides writing, I love to play tennis and eat; I LOVE to eat.

We also have a cat named Pancake that accidentally came into our lives. He is a species-confused animal, sometimes acting like a dog and other times like a baby human. He is weirdly affectionate and loves to cuddle. Pancake also has this affinity for water; he tries to take showers with me or even hop in the bath with my little one.

I also recently acquired a husband, a problematic challenge to be sure. We were married on 4/20 after many years of missed opportunities and broken hearts. His name is Andersson, and we met in high school. We dated each other's friends and eventually attempted to date each other twice before figuring out the timing needed to be better. Eventually, we found each other again, and like a fly to a flame, I was drawn in. He is originally from Brazil, and I think how lucky I am, a girl from Arizona, to have met my soul mate, who came from so far away. How many decisions we weren't privy to that had to happen so we may eventually find our ways to one another? So here I am now; I am even more lucky to have my best friend be my husband and navigate marriage and the world together. He's already learned the golden rule, "Wife is always right."

I have always been a writer. I wrote in diaries and journals, in the margins of books, and on the back of worksheets. I am obsessed with words and sentence structures and how words tend to be mightier than the sword. Words can move people to tears and tear others apart. I have seen the power of words in my life, and I have always wanted to wield that energy. My first book of poetry is on Amazon, "If You're Not Changing Your Dying," and my first children's book will be out soon as well. I started investing in writing this past year, so I am on Vocal+ and attempting to take my writing more seriously.

I have seen the community on Vocal and am floored at the support. I am new, and I have a few friends here; at least, that's how it feels. I write for myself, but when I receive a comment or like, it motivates me and makes me feel as if I am less alone in my writing journey. I love reading what everyone writes; it's so inspiring as well. The skill and personality that comes from the writing make me feel like I'm having coffee with friends and discussing our ideas—some creators on here post multiple times a day! That type of content creation is spectacular. I always knew I needed to be more consistent with my writing, especially if I wanted to publish my novel one day. However, I was never quite motivated enough. The Vocal platform was the push I needed.

I want to thank every person who takes the time to read my writing. Every word someone reads of mine feels like baring my soul. I love to read what you all create, and I am excited to see what Vocal has in store for us all.

HumanityFriendshipFamily
11

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Spencer Hawken10 months ago

    I enjoy the fact that it seems the only separation between you and your child is the credit card. Thank you for sharing a different and interesting read.

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    I love that you wrote this. It’s so nice to get to know more about the writers I enjoy. Cassian is a great name for a girl, and I’m a fan of Pancake for a pet name. I’ve never known a cat to like being around water, though! He really must not know he’s a cat. Your story about your husband is so inspiring to me.

  • Judey Kalchik 10 months ago

    A wonderful introduction- snippets of your life and your motivation to write. Congratulations on the book and the one that’s coming. I greatly admire the effort and determination that went into making them manifest!

  • This was really nice and love the oversharing! I am like that too. It's a really nice thought how you and your husband didn't get to end up together but it eventually worked out. Like it HAD to happen. I also like the idea of many little things having to happen to eventually allow you two to end up together. Isn't that just the way?

  • Leslie Writes10 months ago

    It’s good to know you, Jazzy. I love this part: “ The skill and personality that comes from the writing make me feel like I'm having coffee with friends and discussing our ideas” - so true ☕️ 💖

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    What a cute photo of you two!! 😍😍. This was fun to read! 😁

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    Love this. It’s been a pleasure to read your work.

  • ❤️😉💯

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.