Confessions logo

Forever

Forever in my arms, even when death does us part.

By Burnt BaguettesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Forever
Photo by Taylor Kopel on Unsplash

Forever in my arms, even when death does us part.

I have shared many memories with my dog.

His name is chance. Chance like chance the rapper. But I always thought we named him that because there was a chance that he would run away.

This is what today’s story is about.

Him running away.

I have had this dog for the majority of my life. I got him when I was 4 years old. He was a puppy.

And it's been so long since then. But he still acts like a puppy.

He has trouble getting up because that's just old age. But he is still a sweet dog and I love him a lot.

It really saddens me that I will have to say goodbye soon to my beloved pet.

He loves cats. I have 9 cats and he loves them all. Sure they hit him because he likes to stomp. But he loves them.

Chance is a samoyed. He's pretty big. He was a show dog in his prime and brought home more ribbons than I could ever.

I remember when I was young and I had this barbie car. My twin sister and I would drive around in it.

One day my dog ran away. Like we let him out and he was just going to the bathroom. And right as my sister and I pull out of the driveway in our slow barbie car.

He just takes off running as fast as he can.

We didn't have to walk him ever because he would run away so much.

We were pulling up. Sure the car didn't even go faster than someone walking, but it was still very fun to ride when it worked.

The battery died and then the plug stopped working and instead of going back to target and getting a new one we just got rid of it altogether.

We were getting too old for it anyway.

So chance knows how to look both ways when he crosses the street, but usually, he didn't cross the street.

So he turned and ran down the block. It was like mid-day and there was no one out. So he was not stopping for anyone.

My mom was just laughing at my sister and me in the car, she knew we could not catch him even if we tried.

We didn't know that, so we continued on our way. We made the car go as fast as we could make it go and we had some music blasting from the horrible radio in the car.

It was like one of those chase scenes, but we were going so slow it couldn't even count as that.

Chance eventually stopped and just looked at our loud car in confusion.

So we did technically catch him.

He came running back to us and we made it home.

With the dog in the barbie car with us. Those were the good times.

I love chance with all my heart.

He was the first pet I had that was mine. It’s my job to feed him and walk him, even though sometimes I don't do it.

I am not a bad pet owner I swear. I just have a lot of things to do and my mom feeds all the animals at like 5 in the morning.

But I really love chance and I am going to be crying my eyes out for the longest time when he passes.

But that's just life and I have shared so many memories with this dog. I love him so much and I hope he lived out these next few years in harmony and peace.

Thank you chance.

Childhood
Like

About the Creator

Burnt Baguettes

I like to write sad, dystopian lesbian love stories. That is all you really need in life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.