Confessions logo

Flies and other bastards

Things that annoy me

By S.R.DaleyPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Flies and other bastards
Photo by Shyam raj vishwakarma on Unsplash

I don’t know what it is about writing that makes the world say every one and evrything needs to annoy me.

I’ve found I need to be at a certain level of concentration to successfully slug out some serious writing. The issue?

In order for me to get to said level of concentration, I need peace and quiet.

Begin writing something, I’ve got a whole paragraph in my head ready to go. I type the first word and my phone rings for the first time all day. There goes that great idea….(side note, I do all my writing on my phone as I don’t have a computer. So my phone rings in my hand)

Other times, I will be part way through an article, or even a chapter in my book. My cat will decide it’s time to start playing with my cables or attempt to open my cupboard door relentlessly. I’ll tell him to stop and even send him away. But he will always come back and continue his pursuit of my cupboard. So I’ll inevitably stop writing, and then he will finally stop.

If you think that’s frustrating. When and if my cat or phone don’t bother me, it will be other things. Thinks like rattling windows, people with extremely loud bikes and 4wds( here in qld, people have the need to make their cars a loud as possible, so loud infact my whole house vibrates when they drive past)

Though the one thing in life that bothers me abouve all other things. Whether it’s while I’m writing, gaming or trying to cook food is flies.

The little bastards just have a way of getting to me. Much like how some people can’t stand the sound of a ticking clock. I can’t stand the sound or sight of a fly.

Now some might think I’m being unfair to the flies. I assure you my hatred is well deserved.

My house could be clean, or even a mess and I’ll have basically the same amount of flies moving through.

One would think, keep the doors and windows closed and you won’t have a fly problem. I am not an open window open door kind of person. Even with all my windows and doors closed, the little pests still manage to get in.

Through the gaps in my window frames, the gapes between and under my front and back doors. Through the floor drain in my bathroom.. even with the use of wet towels they still manage.

So I am at a loss. I don’t think that it is possible to solve the fly issue..

Though it’s not just that they are there. They annoy me while I do anything. I’ll have rid my house of flys and be sitting down to play a game or even write something. Next thing I know I have a blow fly 20cm in front of my face flying in circles. ( I feel like they are taunting me) so I’ll grab my fly swatter and it will vanish until I’ve sat down again and or forgotten about it. Other times when I try to ignore them, they just fly back and fourth in front of my face. Often actually hitting me in the forehead. Anyone who isn’t bothered by flies would thinks it a comedy movie what they do. Most don’t believe it until they see it for themselves.

Then there are the days when I get back from work. The aircon hasn’t been on and having been the last person to leave the house, there is no towel against the front door. So guess what, I’ll have a fly epidemic. Some days I’ll come home to any where from 10 to 600 flies in my house…you might think I’m exaggerating but I promise you that I am not. My kill count for one whole day was 600 something.

Here in qld we have some hardy flies, some can take a whole can of fly spray and still fly way. And some are so big you wonder how they manage to get in.

I can no longer leave an open sauspan on the stove cooking without getting flies in it. Cutting onions while flies land on your hands no thank you. Meat is even worse. So I just don’t cook anymore.

My only reprieve is at night time when I can kill the last that got inside and no more will get in until early in the morning.

Mornings are the worst, waking up to the sound of buzzing in the kitchen, I just know every morning that I have to face atleast 10 flies just while I make coffee.

As writers and creators and maybe just readers, what get in your nerves, what stops you from writing?

Embarrassment
1

About the Creator

S.R.Daley

fiction writer. World creator. Brainstormer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    I don't envy you and I can't imagine that many flies in one place. I'd burn the house down. Lol

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.