Confessions logo

Flash from the past

.

By Marissa DeShieldsPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Flash from the past
Photo by David Clode on Unsplash

“What the hell is that!” is the first thing that I say after I see all of these things posted on my wall dammit Jennifer, messy pictures that I thought were long forgotten are thrown in my face once again to where I have to face them I’m about to be the laughingstock of school freshman year I made some mistakes And I was not popular. I had braces no sense of style terrible acne and I was 30 pounds overweight I thought I had good friends but when summer came before the sophomore year and I lost the weight I got my braces taken off and I finally figured out a good face regimen, I was tractive and I wasn’t the only person that noticed that boys at school. Sorry to come up to me and the girls. I start to become popular but I never let Jennifer go. She’s been my best friend since we were in kindergarten that was never going to change even when people told me that I should just let her go and that they didn’t understand why I was riding with her. I didn’t care about any of that. All I cared about was that we stayed friends Everything was fine until Gracie came with her eyes and the color of the sky before the storm and her long wavy chocolate brown hair greasy was my first girlfriend. It is still my first girlfriend or even dating for a year. She and Jennifer just do not get along and she’s another person that doesn’t see why I’m still friends with her. She doesn’t bring it up anymore but I know that she still questions it every once in a while, especially when they start fighting about something, so as I am scrolling down Instagram, I see Jennifer posted throwback Tuesday of back when Lizzie and I were best friends, and the only thing that mattered was us. I see pictures of me the old me all over my wall. We’ve always had each other‘s passwords, and I never thought anything of it, but now I know that it was a grave mistake either people choose to forget or they don’t remember who I was before I became who I am now and I’ve always tried to keep it that way that’s all ruined. I have 3000 followers on Instagram we have a school population of about 5000 so more than half the school is on it First thing I do is try to delete them but even when I try all she does is repost them that’s if this is enough. I need to call Jennifer the phone rang at 3 to 4 Times before she answers Jen. What the hell why would you post those pictures?

if these people are your real friends, it shouldn’t matter, right? it shouldn’t matter what you used to look like or that you’re friends with me!

everybody knows that I’m friends with you Jen I don’t know why you would have to bring up those old pictures that were the last thing that I needed and oh my God Gracies gonna see!

who cares if Gracie sees Lizzie that’s the point you’re so worried about what everybody else thinks that you’re not even remembering the person that you used to be. The old Lizzie was fearless she didn't care about what the popular people had to say.

Whatever please just take the pictures down

and take them down yourself I thought maybe if I showed you who you used to be you would remember but you’re just trying to bury everything and bury who you used to be

Before I could reply she hung up I got distracted because I saw a text message come across the top of my screen from Gracie.

so what are the old pictures? Not your most flattering side

you know what Gracie that’s the last thing that I needed to hear right now and regardless of whatever those old pictures may not be the cutest but those were me well I’m just saying babe, so am I, and if you don’t like the person that I used to be then you probably aren’t gonna like the person that I’m going to become or in our senior year of high school maybe it’s time to call it quits are you seriously breaking up with me? yeah I am I just don’t think it’s gonna work out, so I take down the pictures and send Jenna a text apologizing for being upset with her, and then I get ready to go to sleep. I know that they were up for hours so a lot of people of already seen them so there’s nothing that I can do about it schools the next day, and I hear a lot of people whispering, but then I see Ashley walk up to me. She has beautiful caramel color, skin, hazel eyes, and curly hair. Do you know what Lizzie I saw those old pictures and that was brave I surgeon explain to her about Jennifer and how she posted them and after I explained everything I think her for saying something to me and she looked me right in the eye and said you know what, I used to think you were cute even back then and I know that you and Gracie just broke up because she was talking about it all in the choir this morning but after you’ve had some time to heal, maybe you can give me a call she smiled at me and walked away And the last thing that I remembered is that I should probably change my password? I thought it with a smile.

Embarrassment
Like

About the Creator

Marissa DeShields

Just a woman with a lot of words to say. Thank you for all of the support even if it’s a read it means so much to me so I hope you have a great day.😊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.