Confessions logo

Five reasons why I hate money

Who knew that pieces of paper could cause so much trouble ?

By Christina EpperlyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Five reasons why I hate money
Photo by Jp Valery on Unsplash

I'm just going to come right out and say it. I HATE money. Yes, I know it's an essential part of our society, but it has become obvious to me in recent years that money is a large source of negativity. It causes huge amounts of stress and can lead to some devastating choices. It is hard to meet someone who does not stress over money and that includes people who have a lot of it. From what I have personally observed money can have a negative impact on a person's life no matter how much or how little of it they have. I know it is unrealistic to want money to not exist, but I still hate it and here are five reasons why.

Money prevents you from doing what you truly love- Sometimes your passion doesn't pay the bills other times the things you are longing to experience are not in your budget. In either case money acts as a stop sign on the road to achieve your goals. For many people if money was not a consideration, they would have many more check marks on their bucket lists.

Money keeps you in bad situations - How many people do you know that are working in a job that they are unhappy with but can't seem to leave? Maybe it's because they worry that they wouldn’t be able to make money doing anything else. Perhaps you know someone who is stuck in an unhappy living situation because they don't have the finances to leave? Money can be a big reason that people are afraid to make positive life changes. The fear of not having a steady income or someone else to support us financially can keep us in situations where we are unhappy or in some extreme cases even in danger.

Money breaks people apart - Money be it the lack there of or more then someone knows what to do with can cause the closest of friends and even family to break apart. Money has been known to destroy relationships or at the very least cause arguments. People have been known to break off contact with each other over those green pieces of paper. The importance our culture places or money has the power to destroy our relationships with some of the people we love most. If you stop to think about it, that is really messed up. It seems like it is so easy to place money before relationships in today’s word and that is a sad reality.

Money Is a reason for some of our worst behavior – There is no denying it, money has been a motive behind some of the worst acts that humans have committed. Theft, betrayal, and even causing harm to others. It breaks my heart to think about how the love of money has ruined so many lives. If we as a culture did not obsess over money the way we do, it seems very possible to me that we would be living in a much more peaceful world.

It's a large source of stress - Think of all the time we spend stressing over money. Trying to make more of it or trying to manage what we have. There is also the stress of trying to decide how to spend it. The list goes on and on. Plus, how can we forget about the stress that comes when unexpected expenses like medical bills show up. I know I'm not alone when I say that money is one of the biggest sources of stress in my life.

There you have it my five reasons I hate money! Do you hate money or Do you love it?

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Christina Epperly

Hello There ! I'm a blogger, writer and bucket lister! My bucket list has over 300 items on it. I am big believer in enjoying the little things in life. I also love collecting toys.

John 3:16

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.