Confessions logo

Finding Peace through Pen: How Writing Helped Me Cope with a Traffic Karen Encounter

I share my personal experience of encountering a "Traffic Karen" and the emotional turmoil that followed.

By Zuleika BoekhoudtPublished 12 months ago 6 min read
Top Story - May 2023
53
Finding Peace through Pen: How Writing Helped Me Cope with a Traffic Karen Encounter
Photo by Collins Lesulie on Unsplash

Writing to Help with My Encounter with Traffic Karen

As I sit here, reliving my experience, I can't help but think, "Should I really post this online? Would anyone care about my struggle as a Black woman living in a predominantly white country, and an even more predominantly white state?"

Yet, I don't know how to express myself and calm my nerves. Perhaps I'll just post this and label it fiction. But it's too real to label it as such. With my son playing in the background and tears brimming in my eyes, my nerves are shot, and my throat is tight.

I can't say I've never experienced bigotry before. But in my many decades on this planet, I've thought about the consequences of my (lack of) actions with my confrontation with Traffic Karen.

Is it acceptable for someone who isn't an authority figure, such as a police officer, firefighter, or first responder, to come out and be condescending and rude and teach you how you should behave because you're not from "their country"?

Before I continue with how I'm feeling, it would be best to get to the facts. After picking up my son from daycare, I'm less than 50 meters away from my apartment. It's a very lovely, eco-friendly neighborhood with young families.

I'm on a T-junction, reaching the head of the T. However, on the left side of the road because there's a parked car I'm riding in the right lane. As I'm approaching the end of the street, another car turns into the lane that I'm on, and we're staring head to head.

Of course, the white car has the right of way. But seeing that I couldn't reverse properly because I would hit the parked car, I motioned with my hand, asking if I could go. Seeing that I was a few meters from the end of the street, the woman did not move and stayed on her path. Neither did I. Yeah, two wrongs don't make a right. I called my fiancé, telling him I would be late because someone was blocking me and I couldn't reverse. He's still on the line, and after a few minutes, I opted to do what my fiancé asked me to do: to lower my window and ask her to reverse a bit. "Could you go back a bit, I can't reverse."

The other woman shook her head no. I was annoyed, and I didn't want to reverse and take my chances of hitting the parked car. Submitting an accident report is a pain where the sun doesn't shine. Also, to note, I'm halfway on a large concrete speed bump. I was like, "God, give me patience." So, trying to reverse, another car parks behind the parked car, and people start stepping out, a woman with two young children.

So, to avoid anything, I asked again, "Could you reverse a bit? You would still be on your lane, and I can maneuver to go on the right lane." But nothing. The woman opted instead to get out of her car and confront me, which, personally, I find imbecilic. But I believe some non-POC women don't have the same experience as POC women to know that's not a smart move.

Then another question popped in my head. Would she do this if I were a man or a Black man? Probably not, but you never know what gets into people's heads.

Here's where I made a mistake. I rolled down my window.

It's a blur, but the things that stuck out were, "Don't you know I have the right of way? I have to explain to you the traffic rules around here. We do things differently here."

If you're an immigrant and have experienced a diatribe from a non-minority, you could probably guess what I was feeling at that moment.

To top it all off, I was extremely stressed from work and also dealing with the everyday struggles like my health and finances. All of these issues came to a head, and I found myself increasing my volume. While I realize this may not have been the best approach, as someone from a Latino background, we tend to speak with passion and intensity. Nevertheless, I acknowledge that it was not the right move on my part.

As things escalated, I suggested that it would have all been over if she had just reversed a bit. Unfortunately, instead of de-escalating the situation, the woman's response only fueled my frustration. She told me that I needed to calm down and that they do things differently in this country. Instead of calming down, I became even more triggered by her bigotry.

In hindsight, I'm not proud of the thought that crossed my mind: "She's going to learn I'm the right one on the wrong day." Violence was not the answer in this situation. And fortunately, my son's gibberish distracted me and prevented me from acting on those thoughts. I rolled up my window and realized that I had far more to lose than this woman with a traffic cop hat.

If I had gotten out of my car and physically confronted her, the consequences would have been endless. What kind of role model would I have been for my son if I had shown him that fighting bigotry with violence was acceptable? What would my actions have done to my professional career? I'm too old to be fighting on these streets.

Despite my efforts to calm down, the woman continued to talk for what felt like hours. She eventually reversed her car, and I headed home, where my fiance was still on the phone waiting for me. I was shaking, and my nerves were shot. When I finally got inside, I unloaded a series of curses. The colloquial phrase, shoulda, coulda, woulda crossed my mind. I should have told her off. I could have just reversed my car. I would have rammed her car if I didn't have so much to lose.

In the grand scheme of things, nothing major happened. I didn't get shot and the police were not called. It's unfortunate that these were the two things that popped into my head as things to be grateful for, but it speaks to the times we live in. I can't help but think about the experiences of Black women and other POC women who have to swallow a lot of crap to avoid being labeled as angry or belligerent.

I'm frustrated with myself for letting this small, ignorant person ruin my good mood and for potentially reinforcing the stereotype of the angry Black woman. However, I'm grateful that I have writing as a positive outlet to process my emotions and clear my head. If this ever happens again — to be honest, it will — I wouldn't act out of character but politely put a prejudiced female dog in its place with my eloquent vocabulary. And perhaps my experience would be inspiration for a new book. I just have to concentrate on the positive.

Humanity
53

About the Creator

Zuleika Boekhoudt

I'm Zuleika, a multi-passionate writer and blogger with a flair for crafting engaging romance stories. I enjoy blogging about anime, beauty, and sharing my passion for combat sports.

  • Pinterest
  • Twitter
  • Wattpad

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Mahnoor Siddiqui11 months ago

    so good to see this.

  • shae meer11 months ago

    Well written

  • Faisal Bilal11 months ago

    https://vocal.media/confessions/echoes-of-lost-souls

  • Hack Daemon11 months ago

    Are you a victim of Cheating spouse and you don't know what to do or you don't know the next step to take Spyversewizard the solution to all cheating spouse problems, I'm a living testimony of his great job he helped catch my cheating partner by hacking into his phone and gave me access to it remotely, with that I was able to see all his secret messages with his secret lovers and he couldn't deny any of it because I have a genuine proofs. All this is possible with the help of Spyversewizard a professional and honest Hacker if you find your self in this kind of situation don't hesitate to contact him via this link Email:[email protected] Telegram: +17162464767

  • Sinenjabulo Mgade11 months ago

    nyc

  • Sera11 months ago

    Wow. You did well to keep your cool.

  • I appreciate all the comments and congratulations. It was an unpleasant moment that I was able to spin into something positive with this post. Thank you.

  • Omg! I'm so sorry you had to go through that 🥺 Anyway, congratulations on your Top Story! I've subscribed!

  • Zuleika, you conveyed your thoughts very well. They just said that in this day and age that there are still people who think that people of color are not of this country. That really gets to me. But you handle the situation as best as you could and you were a good role model for your son. Congratulations on the top story.

  • JBaz12 months ago

    I will not add my insight, you don’t need it. Your actions were not wrong, it is sad when rational thought and kindness take a leave of absence. I am so glad this turned out and didn’t end up another statistic. Please know I truly believe there are more kind people in the world. Unfortunately It’s the irrational ones who stand out. Congratulations on Top Story and thank you for sharing.

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Kudos for taking the high road for many reasons, but first and foremost, in my humble opinion, is the one you already mentioned: You son was in the car. Well done, and congratulations on the Top Story!

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    I am so angry for you. If I would’ve been there, I would’ve said something to her. I can out-Karen any of these Karens. I’m great at embarrassing them with a soft voice and a smile. As a biracial girl growing up in a white town in rural America, I learned to beat them at their own games. I know it was hard for you to not lose your composure in front of your child, but really that woman should be ashamed.

  • L.C. Schäfer12 months ago

    What a stupid bloody woman! I'm seething just reading this 🤬🤬🤬🤬

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    I was feeling angry for you just reading this!! 😩

  • Oof, that sounds rough! Sorry you had to go through that. But I am glad you made the decisions you did, and I truly believe writing is an excellent outlet to get those negative emotions out. Hopefully it helps and is therapeutic, and technically, by acting how you did, you won. You didn't get out of your car and you kept things calm. That's an excellent role model to your child.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.