Confessions logo

Excessive Salivation

(No) Regrets

By Denise CantyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Excessive Salivation

Excessive Salivation is an "abnormally abundant flow of saliva".

I believe that it was the mayonnaise on the sandwich that started it. It was instant nausea with a “Juicy Mouth”.

Then it was too much spit in my mouth.

It was too much spit to hold in my mouth.

I had to spit.

I did spit.

The embarrassment is “where and when I spit”.

I just described the reasons for what happened in the white van that I took to the YWCA that day. It was a hot summer day, and I was with my sister and about 8 or 9 others.

As I sat in the back of the van, I was not able to stop eating the ham and cheese sandwich that was in my lunch bag at the time. I recall that I was reluctant to take a bite. I remember the hesitancy because this was the start of the “excessive salivation”.

As the ride began, I looked out of the window and reflected on the beautiful surroundings. I always loved ny birthplace, Richmond, VA with its slower pace and friendly people. It is a place that encourages my tendency to feel calm.

As the ride continued, I suddenly noticed that my mouth started filling up with spit. I was horrified! My mouth was juicy with spit. In hindsight, perhaps the ride in the van made me car sick, because I had so much spit in my mouth!

I could not hold it in so I spit in the back of the van, thinking no one would see it.

A few minutes later, I spit again in the van and it was a lot!!!

As we arrived at the “Y”, Gemma, the counselor came to the back of the van and noticed the spit when she opened the back door of the van. It was a lot of spit in the van.

I panicked when I saw the figure of Gemma approach me, a tall, skinny lady with a serious attitude that always seems to say, “I’m the boss, don’t mess with me!”

Gemma gulped. She glanced at her own reflection in the van window. She was an incredible, brave, and “no nonsense” person. We saw her as a mean bully, but she was helpful. Once, she had even jumped into a river and saved a disabled person.

But not even an incredible person who had once jumped into a river and saved a disabled person, was prepared for all that spit in the van that day. Gemma was horrified! She asked me AND my sister to clean up the spit.

My sister had nothing to do with spitting in the van, but she was guilty by being associated with me.

My sister was so mad at me! I never said she did any spitting, and we do not know why the “Y” expected my sister to clean up my spit.

It suddenly got hot in the van because we were stopped, and I felt like spitting again. I started sweating profusely!

As I stepped outside and Gemma came closer, I could see the rotten glint in her eye.

Gemma glared with all the wrath of an angry mob. She said, in hushed tones, "I can believe how nasty you are, and I want you to clean up this mess!"

I was even more shocked, and still fiddling with the tiny sandwich. "Gemma, I'm sorry," I replied.

My sister flatly said, “I didn’t spit and I’m not cleaning up no mess”. That did not sit well with my sister. She was terribly upset that she did nothing, but she got in trouble too.

My sister and I looked at each other with concerned feelings, like two sad, condemned girls taking an immensely satisfying ride to the YWCA, which had jazz music playing in the background and two hilarious girls singing to the beat.

My sister and I regarded Gemma's mad face and angry eyes. Gemma looked irritable, her emotions showing how bothered she was with us.

I just cleaned up the spit myself but that was not the end. Gemma called our mother and complained about both me and my sister.

MY SISTER WAS SO MAD!

I WAS SO EMBARASSED!

Fast forward to the birth of my first child. I again experienced excessive salivation during pregnancy. This time I was not embarrassed, I realized that my spitting problem could have been hormonally based.

There is more. My sister is still mad, and she tells anyone and everyone about how I got her in trouble for spitting in the van.

I am still embarrassed because having to spit is awkward.

Embarrassment
3

About the Creator

Denise Canty

Author, Coach, Program Manager, mother, wife, Aries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.