Confessions logo

Embracing Uncertainty: A Journey of Hospitality and Friendship

Stepping Out of Comfort Zones to Discover Unexpected Bonds

By Chinyerem AriolePublished 12 months ago 6 min read
Like

I remember when I was in SS3, two corps members came to do their primary assignment (PPA) at my school, and I had a crush on one of them. Four days before their Passing Out Parade (POP), I approached Bumi and confessed my feelings for her. She was shocked but gave me her number. I called her the following year when I started university, and this is what happened.

I introduced myself as Akan, her best biology student, and she was overjoyed. "I've been expecting your call for over a year now," she said. I explained that my dad had just gotten me a phone when I gained admission into the university. She asked where I was, and I replied, "UYO." She then asked if I could come to Lagos, and I said yes.

She sent me money for transportation, and that was my first time visiting Lagos. I had no idea what to expect, but I was excited. My friends thought I was joking until I entered the bus, and they realized I was serious. They stood there, surprised, as I left.

I arrived in Lagos that night, and Bumi called me to let me know that a driver would pick me up. I asked where the driver was taking me, and she said she was waiting for me at a hotel. However, when I arrived at the location, it didn't look like a hotel. It seemed more like a family house—a large duplex. I approached the door, and someone asked if I was Akan. I confirmed, and he took my bag, showing me inside. I started feeling scared at that moment.

As I entered the house, I saw many people. I asked where Auntie Bumi was, and the guy informed me that she was on her way. I was a young and handsome boy who hadn't experienced much hardship, so I was quite taken aback by the beauty of the girl I was staring at. Bumi finally arrived, and she hugged me, introducing me to her family. "Hello, everyone," she said. "This is the student I told you all about. He was very intelligent in class and always made me laugh. Meet my dad, mom, three sisters, and brother. I was happy when he called me because I wanted to see him again." I greeted everyone politely.

After some questions and answers with her parents, I started entertaining the whole house with stories. However, I noticed that Buki, Bumi's youngest sister, seemed particularly amused. She kept laughing and falling on my body. In my mind, I thought, "Perhaps this could turn into a threesome with the beautiful sisters." But I didn't dwell on the thought for long.

Bumi called me aside and said she would show me where I could sleep. I was still trying to understand what was happening in the house. How could they allow their daughter to bring a man into the house? Did she tell them anything? Did they think I was incapable of having sex because I looked young?

After taking a bath, I joined everyone for dinner. I felt increasingly uncomfortable, wondering if something strange was going on. What if these people wanted to harm me? I didn't even know them. I started panicking internally, regretting my decision to come. However, I pretended to have stomach pain to excuse myself from eating, but Buki laughed it off and convinced me to eat. She even used her spoon to eat from my plate, telling me not to worry because they were all friendly. I felt scared by her reasoning.

Reluctantly, I ate the food and then informed them that I was tired and needed to sleep. I went to my room, took out my phone, and called my friend. Two numbers were off, and the other number didn't go through either. I felt a sense of isolation and unease. Doubts and fears crept into my mind, making me question my decision to come to Lagos. What if this was all a setup? What if something terrible was about to happen?

I sat on the bed, contemplating whether I should make a run for it and find a way back home. Just as I was about to reach a decision, there was a knock on the door. Startled, I quickly put my phone away and opened the door to find Bumi standing there with a worried expression on her face.

"Is everything okay?" I asked, trying to hide my apprehension.

Bumi took a deep breath and said, "Akan, I understand that this must all be overwhelming for you. But I promise you, my family means no harm. We are just excited to have you here and wanted to show our appreciation for your intelligence and humor."

Her words reassured me slightly, but the lingering doubts still remained. I decided to confront my fears and share my concerns with her.

"Bumi, I have to be honest with you. I feel uncomfortable and unsure about all of this. I don't know your family, and I don't know what to expect. Can you please explain to me what's going on?"

Bumi nodded understandingly and invited me to sit down. She began to explain the situation to me.

"Akan, my family is very close-knit, and we have a tradition of welcoming guests with open arms. When I invited you to come to Lagos, I didn't want it to be just a casual meeting. I wanted you to experience our hospitality and get to know my family."

She continued, "My parents were excited to meet the student I often spoke highly of. They wanted to show their appreciation for your academic achievements and the positive impact you had on me during your time at the school. That's why they welcomed you into our home."

As Bumi spoke, her sincerity and genuine care for me became apparent. I started to understand that my initial apprehensions were based on my own insecurities and unfamiliarity with such a warm and welcoming environment.

"I apologize for jumping to conclusions and feeling so uneasy," I said, genuinely regretful. "I appreciate your explanation, and I'm grateful for your family's hospitality. It means a lot to me."

Bumi smiled and reassured me, "No need to apologize, Akan. I understand how it must have felt for you. But trust me, we are just a loving and welcoming family. We want you to feel comfortable and enjoy your time here."

With Bumi's reassurance, my fears gradually dissipated. Over the next few days, I got to know her family better, and they treated me like one of their own. We shared meals, stories, and laughter, creating memories that would last a lifetime.

As my visit came to an end, I realized that the bond I had formed with Bumi and her family was something special. It was a reminder that sometimes stepping out of our comfort zone and embracing unfamiliar situations can lead to beautiful connections and experiences.

On the day of my departure, Bumi's parents expressed their gratitude once again for my presence and wished me success in my future endeavors. Buki, who had initially made me feel uneasy, hugged me tightly and whispered, "You're a cool brother. Come back soon."

Bumi and I exchanged heartfelt goodbyes, promising to keep in touch and cherish the memories we had created together. And as I left their home and embarked on my journey back to Uyo, I carried with me not only the memories but also a newfound appreciation for the warmth and kindness that can exist within unfamiliar surroundings.

Years later, whenever I reminisce about my time in Lagos, I remember the lessons I learned and the friends I made. The experience taught me that sometimes, in the face of uncertainty, it's worth taking a leap of faith, as it can lead to unexpected adventures and lifelong connections that shape our lives in ways we never imagined.

Friendship
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.