Confessions logo

Elise's promises

a girl with promises she has to fulfil

By Zainab khanPublished 6 days ago 9 min read

My whole life revolves around fulfilling promises. My only family was my younger sister, Alice. We both grew up in an orphanage, but before you feel sorry for us, I want to tell you that our life there was actually great. Especially for me—I was the most popular kid among all the other children. Bullies were afraid of me, and anyone in danger would come to me because I was very brave. Let's not forget my passion for fashion. I used to make clothes for my friends' toys and often for the smaller kids, finding peace in that.

As time passed, Alice and I grew even closer, especially after we learned about her medical condition, which made her weaker as she grew older. She came to rely on me for guidance and protection, and I felt a deep sense of fulfillment in being there for her. Our bond was unbreakable, forged through years of shared experiences and unspoken promises.

Our lives were going great until one day, when I was told that our mother had come to meet us after abandoning me and my sister for years. After all this time, all she had to say was how beautiful my younger sister had grown. I also learned that she had become a successful model with a very rich lifestyle. I couldn't shake the feeling that she was up to no good.

My intuition told me that her sudden reappearance had an ulterior motive. As I observed her interactions, I noticed subtle signs that she was more interested in Alice's newfound fame and wealth than in rekindling a genuine relationship. This realization left a doubt in my mind, and I became more determined than ever to protect Alice from potential harm.

My protective instincts kicked in, and I started to dig deeper into our mother's past. What I discovered only strengthened my resolve to keep Alice safe. Our mother had a history of manipulative behavior and a string of "adoptive daughters," none of whom could be traced now. It alarmed me that she suddenly reappeared, interested in us, after we spent our entire childhood in an orphanage. It became clear that she was a person who used others for her gain, and I feared that Alice, with her kind heart and trusting nature, would become her next victim.

Despite the inner turmoil, I decided to confront our mother directly. I needed to know her true intentions. During our conversation, she tried to justify her past actions and claimed that she had changed. But I saw through her facade. Her words lacked sincerity, and her eyes betrayed a cold, calculating glint. Yet, she seemed very interested in taking Alice to her home in Los Angeles, claiming she could make Alice a star. Alice loved the idea, and although I wasn’t convinced, I had never seen her so excited about something. So, I gave in and agreed to live with our mom.

As soon as we pulled up to her house, our jaws dropped—it was nothing less than a mansion. I suddenly felt a wave of rage thinking about all the years Alice and I spent in an orphanage while our mother lived in luxury. With Alice's treatments and my admission to a prestigious fashion college, we struggled to keep food on the table with my two jobs.

I knew I had to take matters into my own hands. I vowed to stand by Alice's side and ensure that she wouldn't be hurt by our mother's schemes. I channeled my energy into supporting Alice's career and well-being, becoming not only her sibling but also her guardian and advisor. At first, everything seemed perfect, but as Alice gained more fame, our mom started making her overwork and became greedy with her income. She insisted Alice work more, and Alice began starving herself to maintain her figure for beauty gigs to please our mother. I kept my cool until one day Alice passed out during a shoot. She was rushed to the hospital, where doctors told us she was exhausted and hadn't eaten in days. When mom learned of her condition, she dropped her innocent act, showing her true colors and abandoning her "daughters" without a second thought. Alice blamed herself for letting everyone down. She tried to be strong for me, but I could tell she was heartbroken.

Through it all, I never lost sight of my passion for fashion. It remained my sanctuary, a creative outlet where I could express myself and find solace amidst the chaos. I continued to design and create, infusing my work with the same determination and love that I poured into protecting Alice. We moved from Los Angeles back to our city and took a small apartment. Alice and I took small jobs, but I knew she wasn't happy. I vowed to be by my little sister’s side and help her pursue her career. After some years, I managed to pull some strings and helped her contact big directors who loved working with her. Slowly, Alice became stronger and started working hard to achieve her goals. I loved seeing my younger sister grow into a good person.

We never had our mother by our side; we faced everything alone. There were times in life when I needed a mother to guide me, support me, and take care of me, but our mother cared more about her own career than her daughters' lives. This taught me to be strong—for myself and for my sister. I made sure that my sister never felt alone, unloved, or lesser. I vowed to myself that no matter what, I would help my sister follow her passion. I promised myself to always be by Alice’s side in her highs as well as her lows.

In the end, Elise's promise—the god's promise—became my guiding principle. It was a reminder of the importance of loyalty, courage, and unwavering dedication to those we love. And as long as I had Alice by my side, I knew that no challenge was insurmountable and no threat too great to overcome. Together, we would face whatever hurdles the future held, united by the Your story has a strong foundation and compelling characters. To make it more engaging, I'll suggest a few revisions to enhance the flow, clarity, and emotional impact. Here's a revised version:

---

**Elise's Promise, The God's Promise**

My whole life revolves around fulfilling promises. My only family was my younger sister, Alice. We both grew up in an orphanage, but before you feel sorry for us, I want to tell you that our life there was actually great. Especially for me—I was the most popular kid among all the other children. Bullies were afraid of me, and anyone in danger would come to me because I was very brave. Let's not forget my passion for fashion. I used to make clothes for my friends' toys and often for the smaller kids, finding peace in that.

As time passed, Alice and I grew even closer, especially after we learned about her medical condition, which made her weaker as she grew older. She came to rely on me for guidance and protection, and I felt a deep sense of fulfillment in being there for her. Our bond was unbreakable, forged through years of shared experiences and unspoken promises.

Our lives were going great until one day, when I was told that our mother had come to meet us after abandoning me and my sister for years. After all this time, all she had to say was how beautiful my younger sister had grown. I also learned that she had become a successful model with a very rich lifestyle. I couldn't shake the feeling that she was up to no good.

My intuition told me that her sudden reappearance had an ulterior motive. As I observed her interactions, I noticed subtle signs that she was more interested in Alice's newfound fame and wealth than in rekindling a genuine relationship. This realization left a doubt in my mind, and I became more determined than ever to protect Alice from potential harm.

My protective instincts kicked in, and I started to dig deeper into our mother's past. What I discovered only strengthened my resolve to keep Alice safe. Our mother had a history of manipulative behavior and a string of "adoptive daughters," none of whom could be traced now. It alarmed me that she suddenly reappeared, interested in us, after we spent our entire childhood in an orphanage. It became clear that she was a person who used others for her gain, and I feared that Alice, with her kind heart and trusting nature, would become her next victim.

Despite the inner turmoil, I decided to confront our mother directly. I needed to know her true intentions. During our conversation, she tried to justify her past actions and claimed that she had changed. But I saw through her facade. Her words lacked sincerity, and her eyes betrayed a cold, calculating glint. Yet, she seemed very interested in taking Alice to her home in Los Angeles, claiming she could make Alice a star. Alice loved the idea, and although I wasn’t convinced, I had never seen her so excited about something. So, I gave in and agreed to live with our mom.

As soon as we pulled up to her house, our jaws dropped—it was nothing less than a mansion. I suddenly felt a wave of rage thinking about all the years Alice and I spent in an orphanage while our mother lived in luxury. With Alice's treatments and my admission to a prestigious fashion college, we struggled to keep food on the table with my two jobs.

I knew I had to take matters into my own hands. I vowed to stand by Alice's side and ensure that she wouldn't be hurt by our mother's schemes. I channeled my energy into supporting Alice's career and well-being, becoming not only her sibling but also her guardian and advisor. At first, everything seemed perfect, but as Alice gained more fame, our mom started making her overwork and became greedy with her income. She insisted Alice work more, and Alice began starving herself to maintain her figure for beauty gigs to please our mother. I kept my cool until one day Alice passed out during a shoot. She was rushed to the hospital, where doctors told us she was exhausted and hadn't eaten in days. When mom learned of her condition, she dropped her innocent act, showing her true colors and abandoning her "daughters" without a second thought. Alice blamed herself for letting everyone down. She tried to be strong for me, but I could tell she was heartbroken.

Through it all, I never lost sight of my passion for fashion. It remained my sanctuary, a creative outlet where I could express myself and find solace amidst the chaos. I continued to design and create, infusing my work with the same determination and love that I poured into protecting Alice. We moved from Los Angeles back to our city and took a small apartment. Alice and I took small jobs, but I knew she wasn't happy. I vowed to be by my little sister’s side and help her pursue her career. After some years, I managed to pull some strings and helped her contact big directors who loved working with her. Slowly, Alice became stronger and started working hard to achieve her goals. I loved seeing my younger sister grow into a good person.

We never had our mother by our side; we faced everything alone. There were times in life when I needed a mother to guide me, support me, and take care of me, but our mother cared more about her own career than her daughters' lives. This taught me to be strong—for myself and for my sister. I made sure that my sister never felt alone, unloved, or lesser. I vowed to myself that no matter what, I would help my sister follow her passion. I promised myself to always be by Alice’s side in her highs as well as her lows.

In the end, Elise's promise—the god's promise—became my guiding principle. It was a reminder of the importance of loyalty, courage, and unwavering dedication to those we love. And as long as I had Alice by my side, I knew that no challenge was insurmountable and no threat too great to overcome. Together, we would face whatever hurdles the future held, united by the strength of our bond and the promises we kept.

Family

About the Creator

Zainab khan

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ZKWritten by Zainab khan

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.