Confessions logo

Discover How You Can Be the Richest Person in the World

Chronicles of a hospice nurse: Life lessons learned the hard way

By Olya AmanPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Photo from the author

I am an artist that combines human unfulfilled dreams, last painful regrets, and agonizing pleadings into the greatest masterpiece this world had ever seen.

I am a hospice nurse. I witness the end-of-life every day. I'm an expert in emotional and physical pain elimination. Physical pain is taken care of with the help of drugs; emotional-with the help of letters, I offer my patients to write. I come home after work and reveal my daily impressions to my diary. It helps me understand the meaning of life and our place in it.

Life most foul

Martin, a patient on a deathbed, is very weak. He has only a day or two left. Enough time to respond to a question, "Martin, you are dying. Who do you care about? What message do you want to send to those whom you love? This is a pen and a paper. I promise to deliver your letter."

Martin laughs convulsively, shaking all over. Tears are streaming down his cheeks. All that emotion is tearing him apart. I can see the pain crippling down his throat.

A skill of commanding love is the only and the biggest blessing in life. To gain it proved to be a Herculean task for me, much harder than to become a millionaire many times over.

It is a beautiful experience: a handsome elderly man, with thin lips that forgot how to smile, and grey eyes that didn't remember how to show pity or compassion. This person is transformed into the naïve boy he once was. The boy that used to believe in love and remember how that feeling could rejuvenate and heal. The boy that was generous in a way where he did not want it returned. He used to let himself forget what he had done for others, and because of that he never missed love.

Instruments of self-destruction

Martin responds with emotion, "Nothing. Listen! Nothing came easy for me in this life. Everything I had I needed to fight for. Gnaw out like a mad dog, breaking the teeth and trying to chew through all obstacles on my way - human or material. I didn't care. And you know what? I buried my claws deeper in the human flesh rather than other things and I enjoyed it."

Martin is overtaken by his memories. They haunted him for a long time and now he lets them out, freeing his mind and soul from their oppressing presence. He continues with passion, "But… Ha… everything I thought worth fighting for was irrelevant. The mere fog that is fading away at the sight of a brighter ray of the sun, running in fear of nonexistence. It is all… the houses I had, the cars I cared so much about, the jewels I traded for the pleasure of possessing another beautiful face, sensual body, and empty eyes - all of it was nothingness and left me when I went broke."

There were many wars where Martin was marching with the flag of success, recognition, and money. Those were of no true importance. Nothing was left. An emotional lack was reining in his life. The understanding of this truth is torturing and rejuvenating at the same time. His following words prove it:

"Now I know, a skill of commanding love is the only and the biggest blessing in life. To gain it proved to be a Herculean task for me, much harder than to become a millionaire many times over. I had this skill when I was a kid. I lost it when I put money first on my scale of priorities."

A moment of meaningful silence

Martin sobs, hiding his face in his hands. A moment of meaningful silence. I love this shared minute of wisdom. I never interfere. I let him experience this ocean of new feelings, wave after wave until his lungs can take this emotional fragrance and inhale it greedily, viciously.

Martin continues to open his heart to me and to himself, "I've lost everybody who cared about me. Everybody who I thought would be ever-present in my life by some weird universal law and with no effort on my side. Am I the only one who makes such a mistake? I traded Alive for Soulless. They needed me, my love, my attention, and my time. The most valuable things I never shared with my family. Then I thought it was too late."

Martin was a traveler in a desert. His life was a sandy plain with mirages of abundance and each of them turned out to be another sandstorm that swept away one by one everything real in his life.

They say tears are not words, and words are not tears. Now, sitting by Martin's bedside, I can tell that tears and words are inseparable. Every word he utters is a drop of regret, love, passion, and compassion, "No. The truth is - I was too proud to ask for forgiveness, too arrogant to make the first move. And now I am alone. They would have been beside me right now if I had been with and for them before. No one will miss me. No one! I have nothing to write on this paper because there is no one you can deliver it to."

Martin dictates. I write. Now there are no tears to accompany his words. He was obsessed with such a common sickness of possession. He thought luxury could substitute for the warmth of loving humans. Every new object he obtained was draining his soul, making his heart numb - tough like a stone. He lost connection with his wife and son many years ago. I addressed his letter to his now grown-up son.

How you can feel like the richest person in the world

Many people strive for the material advantages of this world with more love of display than good, kind inclinations. When a person reaches his nadir, his impasse - there is no time for playing the 'Pride in Prejudice'. To lead the idle life of bare-faced money hunting may be good when you're young and healthy. But what are you going to take with you when time is up?

Money may literally vanish into thin air and you will be left only with people you've managed to cherish, and memories you've managed to create. Only the things that are burnt into your memory will accompany you on your last stroll in life. Memories that heighten your wisdom in the 'Good-Deeds' department will strike a reliving note. And quite the opposite happens if you can only remember a scorching hankering for riches and swallowing people up in an eager rush for it.

What can you do?

Schedule a 'confessor' time in your day. Protected from prying eyes by the leafy screen or comfy walls, pay a deserved homage to your thoughts about life and death. Negative the idea of selfishness completely during this time. You'll feel that ultimately we all love the same things: kind relations, dear caring friends, and innocent creatures.

Don't let yourself live in a mental fog made of false life values. Do you perceive the terrible gravity of such existence? Do not be tongue-tied when you talk to yourself and bow pretenses out of your life with an impatient "Tchah!"

The words of kindness and love should occur throughout your self-conversation with the regularity of a leitmotif, and in the nick of time, you will feel yourself the richest person in the world.

Humanity

About the Creator

Olya Aman

My pen is the finest instrument of amazement, entertainment, motivation and enjoyment, chasing each other across pages.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Olya AmanWritten by Olya Aman

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.