Confessions logo

Desperately Employed

Part 1: Mcdenny's

By Little too Much Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Welcome to the first installment of desperately employed. Where I, you guessed it, tell you about the major failures of my job history. This is going to be a funny but wild ride about how my job history has changed my life for the better and the worst.

Fast food is one of the most stressful jobs in the history of jobs. From The king of burgers to Taco Bello these kinds of jobs treat their employees like dirt between your toes. These jobs are questionable at best. For the sake of not getting sued. I will change the name of where I worked but I will make it pretty obvious what the place actually is.

I decided to work at Mcdenny's because that right, I needed a job desperately. It was a pretty basic way to get hired. You would come in for a interview and they would tell you how much you would get paid. Mcdenny's is one of the easiest jobs to get. Literally. They told me what I had to wear for a uniform and I was happy to receive a measly 7.75 an hour. Good times.

My first day of training was pretty trashy. I came in and they began to teach me how to use a very easy system. The next 2 days I was trained the entire front end of the restaurant. Everyone was pretty uninterested about the job, even the trainers. Yes you heard that right three whole days of training. They let me know I would catch on fast. The first few weeks were a blur but pretty much what I could have excepted from this Job. My first $300 dollar check for 2 full weeks of work made me happy at that time but yes you guessed it, that's where the crap storm started.

I never understood why Mcdenny's had a sexual harassments intolerance policy in place. No one ever followed it. Just imagine managers wanting to sleep with crew members in the men's restroom while you were bagging English muffins for your customers. Quite the talk around the kitchen. Everyone knew about it except for the general manager, who was never there past 5pm Monday through Friday. There was also so much sexual harassments in there that at one point someone threatened to call headquarters. Which they probably should have.

Then there were the insane managers. If they weren't to busy power tripping, you might see them eating in the back to ride the clock or yelling at some employee for messing up another order. In reality most customers change their orders last minute and you would have to yell at the top of your lungs to the kitchen staff. Not to mention the fact that the sandwich makers had to make 50 chicken sandwiches in less than 5 minutes. They were stressed out and probably haven't seen a break since 10 am when they got there.

That was not the crappiest situation I have ever seen. People's sandwiches were dropped on the floor and used as long as it didn't land bare on the floor, sandwiches would sit for a long time and still get served, cold fries would be reheated in oil and given to customers, and the ice cream machine barely got cleaned. Just imagine customers throwing things like hot coffee, sandwiches, chairs, shakes, and even hands at an employee just for getting the order wrong.

After all the arguing with managers, the low pay, and darn homelessness from low wages I decided to leave and sell ice cream. That job was insane too and I cannot wait to share it with it with you in my next installment. Thanks for tuning in and I will catch you at the most questionable ice-cream shop in town. Tata for now dear readers.

Workplace
Like

About the Creator

Little too Much

Little to much lives in creative city with way too much inspiration. She spends her days drinking way too much coffee and singing way to loudly. She spends her free falling in love with just about everything.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.