Confessions logo

Dear Monday

A Letter

By Alicia LeneaPublished 6 months ago 3 min read
Like
Dear Monday
Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

Dear Monday,

I hope this letter finds you amidst the hustle and bustle of the week's beginning. It's taken me a while to gather my thoughts, but I believe it's time we had an honest conversation about our relationship. I can no longer ignore the gnawing feeling in the pit of my stomach every time I realize you're just around the corner. It is too hard to handle much longer and I can not hold back what I have been feeling. I am sorry Monday, but things have to change.

Our journey has been, to put it mildly, a rollercoaster of emotions. We've weathered countless storms together, but lately, I can't shake the feeling that our connection has become more of a burden than a partnership. I've tried, really tried, to make things work between us. I've experimented with different strategies – the power of positive thinking, elaborate morning routines, and even meditation – but the truth is, the Monday blues have persisted, casting a shadow over the beginning of each week. I dread the morning light when all I want is to hear the birds chirp in the morning air, but they no longer chirp on your day. They scream at me to awake from under the warm fuzzy blankets.

It's not that I harbor any ill will towards you, Monday. I recognize that you're just a day like any other, a mere twenty-four hours in the grand scheme of time. Yet, you carry with you the weight of expectations and responsibilities that have become increasingly difficult for me to bear. It's like clockwork; as the weekend fades away, a sense of impending doom sets in, and I find myself grappling with the transition from relaxation to the demands of the workweek. Sometimes it is just too much and it is becoming a problem.

I've reached a crossroads, Monday, and it's time to acknowledge that our dynamic isn't bringing out the best in either of us. I've felt the strain of your expectations and the pressure to kickstart the week on a high note. While some may see you as a fresh start, I can't help but feel you're a stern taskmaster, demanding more than I can give. The constant struggle to meet those demands has taken a toll on my well-being, and I can't continue down this path. The pain a sorrow of the Monday blues are taking a toll on everything in my life.

This is not a decision I take lightly, Monday. I've spent sleepless nights contemplating our future, weighing the pros and cons of our relationship. In the end, I've come to the conclusion that it's in both our interests to part ways, at least in the sense of redefining our connection. I'm not proposing a complete severance; that would be impossible. Instead, I'm suggesting a more amicable relationship, one that allows me the freedom to approach you with a lighter heart and a more open mind.

I want to express my gratitude, Monday. Despite the challenges, you've taught me resilience, the importance of facing challenges head-on, and the strength that comes from adhering to routine. As we go our separate ways – or rather, as I learn to approach you differently – I hope to carry these lessons with me. I'm not saying goodbye forever; I'm saying goodbye to the weight of expectations that have burdened our relationship.

Here's to hoping that our paths cross again with a newfound sense of harmony, but for now it is time to say goodbye, Monday and it will be awhile before we speak again. May your weeks be filled with productivity and positivity, and may I learn to embrace you with a refreshed perspective. For now, I would love to say that it isn’t me, it’s you, but until I have a newfound understanding of your existence, it is you.

Farewell for now, Monday.

Humanity
Like

About the Creator

Alicia Lenea

Hey guys, I am the small town girl that moved to NYC to follow her dreams to be a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.