Confessions logo

Dear Mom

The things I can't tell you

By Ember GrayPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Mom,

I’m terrified.

Your breast cancer diagnosis has taken the air out of my lungs. Hot tears hug my eyes all day, waiting for me to burst into a puddle of despair. My chest is tight and full of static. I’m scared to lose you, but even worse, I’m terrified to see you go through this.

I’m terrified because I can’t help. Your treatment will leave you tired and sick, feeling weak and at times, defeated. My strong, brave mother. I’m so scared to see you hit a low I’ve never seen you in.

Stage 4 cancer doesn’t care that you are the best mom any kid could dream of. It doesn’t care that I need you, even at 27 years old. It doesn’t care that all of my friends, my brothers’ friends, consider you a second mom.

I’m emotionally fragile, anyone who knows me can see that. But you have always embraced me as I am and my imperfect imbalance. You let me grow and express my anger. You have always been patient and loving as I learned (and still learn) who I am and what I’m meant to do in this world.

I can go to you about anything; from complaining that my dog threw up in my bed, to moving back home when my marriage ended.

We celebrate everything; from me going back to therapy and finally finding the right medications, to you finding the perfect can opener.

I know I can always count on you to pick up the phone and listen to anything I have to say. I know I can show up unannounced and you will welcome me with a smile.

I’m only as strong as I am because I have watched you be strong. I’m only as funny as I am because I grew up listening to your jokes and laughter. I’m only as kind and caring as I am because you have always radiated kindness and care in everything you do. Nearly everything good that I am, I have learned from you.

I’m also guilty.

I feel so much guilt mom.

I wake up so often, wishing I didn’t. I spend so much of my time fighting my own mind, trying to quiet the noise that tells me I want to die. I cry myself to sleep so many nights knowing I can’t do it because my heart is telling me I need to stay for you.

I’m guilty of wanting to die, while you are fighting to stay alive.

You are a bright, dazzling example of someone who lives life with the intention to leave the world a better place. Anyone who meets you feels warmth in their heart. Forever a genuine, loving woman who wants to help everyone you can. I fear I will lose you, and I can’t stop wishing I could trade my life for yours.

I’m conflicted and angry.

How can I dream of dying, when I fear you might?

You have helped me in trying to understand my depression. You have supported me in my journey to find a therapist, talk to a psychiatrist, and try medications to help tame my own mind. We shared a scared relief learning I may have Borderline Personality Disorder, finally giving a name to the emptiness I feel inside. You have always been there to help. Now, I feel like I am failing you.

I wrote this letter to confess these things. I feel terrified, guilty, and undeserving.

Anything else in the world I know I could come to you and say, but this feels so impossible to admit.

I promise I will start living my life like you do. I will try my best to see the positive side of life, even when my brain is screaming there’s only darkness.

I love you mom. We will get through this.

Love,

Ember

Childhood
Like

About the Creator

Ember Gray

Just a twentysomething Midwest girl with a story to tell.

Find me on Twitter at @embergray

Book featuring a collection of these poems and short stories coming out in August!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.