Confessions logo

Dear, Lone Wolf

A Love Letter

By Savannah DaringflowerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by Jermaine Ulinwa from Pexels

Dear Lone Wolf,

I know that being alone can be empowering as hell,

but other days it can be hell.

Maybe you've always been independent,

or maybe you've always craved it.

I know that taking on your life alone,

is never an easy thing to do.

I feel the way you hide your tears,

with the water already flowing down the showerhead.

I admire the way you're able to hold yourself together,

so that others can safely fall.

I adore the way you fight for the ones you love,

with the strength,

you've gained fighting your own battles.

I see the way you look into your lover's eyes,

and despite how you feel,

you smile anyway,

making sure they feel safe.

I adore the way you are able to lead,

because you've been leading yourself all along.

I admire that you've been through hell and back,

but never use this as an excuse to fall back,

but as inspiration to never get knocked back.

I feel the way you observe others,

as if you were experiencing life through them,

knowing at any given moment,

when they need you,

you give them all of you.

I adore that although you don't speak often,

the words you do say,

could move mountains,

because in you,

there is a depth,

that you've learned to swim in,

and there's no way in hell you'd let anyone drown.

I love the way you're able to stand alone,

because, well, at one point, you had no other choice,

but to survive.

I adore, that you are the one in the corner of the room,

talking to the strangest of strangers.

It's the way you understand them,

and even when you don't,

you stay for hours...until you do.

I adore that you can think for yourself,

and that you're brave enough to make decisions on your own.

I am inspired by the way you handle your emotions,

without the help of others.

I love the way you guide,

because you've been guiding yourself all along.

I want you to know,

that on the days you feel alone,

it is safe for you to love,

and be loved.

I know this because I'm a lone wolf myself.

I may not know your story,

but I know mine,

and that's enough for me to understand a small part of yours.

I see you,

like you so deeply see others.

I see you,

when nobody else does.

And I'm here,

to thank you.

Thank you for inspiring me,

to step out of my comfort zone,

and reminding me that being alone,

doesn't have to mean being lonely.

Thank you for being that friend who's always there,

who didn't follow the crowd,

but stayed back to help me when I fell behind.

Thank you for standing up for me,

and for teaching me how to stand on my own.

Thank you for giving me just enough,

so that I could establish my own independence.

The kind of independence that empowers,

inspires, and helps the world to evolve,

and to transform.

Thank you for always staying true to yourself,

so that others could safely remove their masks,

and be all that they could be.

Thank you for being the one in relationships,

to establish healthy boundaries,

because all this time you've been alone,

you've dedicated to reading all about what makes love,

true love.

Thank you for setting the bar high,

for what it means to be a Hero.

And remember, you may be one person in this world,

but somewhere out there, you are a Hero to,

at least one person in the world...

Humanity
1

About the Creator

Savannah Daringflower

I write stories that trigger daydreams and everything fun in between...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.