Confessions logo

Comfort in Reading

Where I find my comfort

By Ada ZubaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Comfort in Reading
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Growing up, the thought of reading bored me. My two older sisters would have their nose in a book while I tried to entertain myself. The idea of reading even a 25 page book made my stomach churn. Then, I discovered Harry Potter, I watched the first movie when I was about 9 years old. Afterwards both my sisters agreed that the book was far better. I could not believe this until I picked up the book and read it in a week for me that was a very short time period. I was hooked I found myself reading the next, the next until I was looking for more to read.

Now, I have a hard time pick up a book to read simply because there are too many options and too many questions such as “will I like this style or writing?” or “what if the plot is horrible?” Or “is this something I want to read?” So I end up re-reading Harry Potter every Christmas. I knew I had to branch out somehow and read a recommended book. All the book recommendations my friends were giving were only okay. That’s when I noticed that Reese Witherspoon had her own approval of what books to read. I was following her on instagram and I came across a book I thought would be a good read. It was a thriller novel by Ruth Ware titled “The Lying Game” and I was hooked on reading it. I started following Reese’s book club on instagram and since then I have been reading her recommendations, I still have not been let down especially the mystery thrillers she’s been posting about. I started listening to audiobooks on my home from work and enjoying them, sometimes to the point where I miss my exit to go home. For example, right now I am listening to a book titled “The last Thing he Told me” and it is so good. I can’t get enough of it.

Even though exploring new books can be fun and exciting. There is a level of comfort in knowing where the story will go. For example when I read Harry Potter each time I know what will happen, and I do not worry about certain characters for the duration of the book. It somehow takes away the anxiety of reading. Yet, while re-reading a series or book every time I find elements which I did not notice before like plot holes for examples or small indications of foreshadowing. I loved reading the Percy Jackson series as well yet I have not gone back to read them again and some books are great like that. Now, with Disney releasing a television series I might want to read it to compare. I did the same thing when the first chronicles of Narnia was released in theatres. There is a lot of changes that happen between the movies and books. Rather than rewatching the movies I would rather re-read the books. Somehow I feel the same emotions every time I read the book, and those same emotions are not present when watching the movies. I used to have classical music playing in the background while reading, so every time I am reading Harry Potter I somehow end up thinking about Hans Zimmerman. Every time I’m listening to any movie soundtrack I am taken back to reading Harry Potter for the first time.

Move out of your comfort zone you can only grow when you are branching out

Which is true. It can be comfortable reading the same thing over and over again, but you never truly grow or learn anything new.

Bad habits
1

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.