Confessions logo

Changing Of The Guard

Some Examples Of How My Life Has Changed

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
7

Introduction

The song “Changing of the Guard” from Bob Dylan’s “Street Legal” came on and I started thinking about how things change in our lives sometimes for good, sometimes not so good, sometimes our choice, sometimes not our choice.

So this is just going to be a list of things that have changed in my life, many of which may be just me getting older and changing the way I view things.

The Long Lie In

I would often, especially on Sundays, only get up in the afternoon having spent the morning drinking coffee, reading papers and eating toast in bed.

I don’t know if it’s age or just a change in lifestyle, but I don’t buy papers anymore and feel that I need to get up and get out and get fresh air every day of the week. During the week I work and at weekends I sometimes write. I find walking stimulates my mind and keeps me reasonably fit, so no more long lie-ins for me. Sometimes I get up later, and I am writing this at 1:30 am so chances are I will be up a bit later tomorrow, but it is a Bank Holiday so I don’t need to be up for work.

No Car

My last car went to the scrap heap about fifteen years back. I did hire cars but that has become ridiculously expensive with so many caveats if anything happens that I have given up with cars, though still have a current driving license.

I now either use public transport, buses or trains, because it is far simpler and more relaxing for the places I want to go.

My other option is walking, which I do on a daily basis and it does keep me fit, and I am only about forty minutes from town, so, for me walking is a very viable option.

Watching Stuff On The TV

I remember when we had two channels, that grew to four and five then we got video recorders, DVD players and recorders and I have still got a large DVD collection, but I seldom watch any and am slowly giving them away to charity shops, but even charity shops don't want them as everyone is streaming everything now.

I have a Tivo recorder but I watch so much on catch-up via BBC iPlayer, Amazon Prime, Netflix and more because I am too lazy to go through the hassle of pulling out the DVD putting it in the player, sitting through the anti-piracy warnings, before I can actually play it when quite often the film is available on a streaming platform and I can get it at the touch of a button (well several buttons actually) but it means I can select programs or films to watch without moving from my chair.

Work

In the last say thirty years I have had about ten jobs, all vaguely IT and finance related, two of those ended in redundancy, one unexpected, one engineered by me, and I ended up unexpectedly in my current position which is probably the best job I have ever had. People ask if I want to move but I work in an incredibly supportive environment, with some brilliant people, and some of the best managers I have ever worked with, so I am very happy where I am. Last year I even wrote a Vocal Story about it that you can read here:

Conclusion

These are just some random ways in which my life has changed over the years.

SecretsWorkplaceHumanityBad habits
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    You know what, apart from this being about how your life has changed, I found it to be very inspiring as well!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    An enjoyable read, learning more about you :) Thank you for sharing!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    interesting look into "Mike" thanks for sharing.

  • Julia Schulzabout a year ago

    Nice piece, Mike. (I take short walks through the cemetery up the street to see trees, pray, and reflect. I also like to keep things simple but am non-tech..so I still watch DVDs and play CDs...even still have VCR tapes. :) I have a car but prefer trains and buses for long trips..You meet interesting people that way! )

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Very enjoyable piece!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.