Confessions logo

Breaking Generational Cycles

One curse at a time

By Martisha MontemayorPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Happy Feet

We can never choose who our parents are, or our siblings. In the youth of our lives, we are so ungrateful. I do not mean to keep forgiving toxic relatives. No, your mental health is very important. What I am saying is we can choose how we parent. If we had parents who maybe weren't the best parents. We have control over how often we see our siblings. I am preaching that if you came from nothing you still have the time to do anything. When I was a little girl I learned right away I did not want to be like my older brothers. I do not want to worry my mother I never did. I figured she was probably too busy worrying about the boys anyway. I learned a few do's and dont's from my mother. For example, I enjoy one glass of wine before bed, or even two if it's been a hard day. That is enough for me. From my father, I learned I do not want to be absent. I want to be a parent they can count on to be there. Life has not been a smooth ride for me. I did learn a lot though. I learned so much about my own strength and my own gusto to keep pushing forward regardless of what is ahead of me or not. It's just so vague everything I am saying. I know bear with me. If you are depressed or sad or even just young and lost right now. I wanted to tell you it's okay. I remember wishing so hard for a new family, for a mother who was there all the time. For brothers who loved and respected their little sister. I would wish until my eyes were so watery for a father that wanted his daughter. Then I became a mom. As a parent from the outside looking in it is so hard to navigate through life. Then on top of that to have to raise children. I feel so much empathy now for my folks, I didn't know they were just trying to do the best they could with what they had. I do admit maybe they could have done better but then who would I be today? As for my brothers, they could have been nicer to me. I guarantee though now more than anything if I called one of them up to say some guy felt me up at a bar, that guy would get a beating. When we are young everything seems like the end of the world. Especially if you're in your early twenties. That's the hardest you're just figuring out who you are, what you like what you don't like. It seems like everyone has an opinion of you and what you should be doing. I'm here to tell you to do what you would rather be doing because at the end of the day it's just you and yourself. When you do get older you start to notice your mom getting older too and you almost lose sight of what is important, our lives our families our moms. Life is hard it never gets easier but we can be kind to our parents and our siblings. Take what resonated with you, if nothing did at all. Learn this phrase and live by it. I promise it will save you a whole lot of stress and anxiety " it is what it is, and it ain't what it ain't ".

Family
Like

About the Creator

Martisha Montemayor

I write because it is a passion for me. When I was a little girl I used writing as a way to express myself, poetry writing is my favorite. My main focuses are fiction, love poems a lot of heartbroken work. Writing for me is therapeutic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.