Confessions logo

An obedient Son

Story of a happy family

By Amita ShettyPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
1
An obedient Son
Photo by Adele Morris on Unsplash

My mom was shocked when she realised that she got pregnant for the 2nd time. I do not remember my reaction after becoming an elder sister .My brother & I never got along as kids. I was the sweet , kind ,honest ,cherished first born & he was a nuisance ,got into the worst fights in school ,always running away from studies ,trying to boss me,embarrass me in front of my friends.

We continued our teenage life hating each other .I always tried to outshine him in front of my parents.I was the good looking one,with better grades & more friends. I still cannot forget the times when my brother would get hold of my phone & write long messages to my boyfriend on how much i hated being with him & how we should break up as our relationship is not working anymore .I remember seeing my boyfriend bagging on my door asking for an explanation for braking up with him on WhatsApp rather than doing it in person .My boyfriend calmed down when he realised that i was not the one sending him the "lets break up text message " but it was my younger brother.Trust me that was the time when i really wanted to kill my brother with my own hands

On the other hand my brother was standing behind my half sleepy,half awake parents (who could not believe the emotional drama that they had to witness in the middle of the night)& laughing at me.

That night i cried myself to sleep & prayed to God that "if he really exist he should make my brother disappear & take him to a place from where he never comes back "

By Ben Collins on Unsplash

My parents loved both of us equally,Of course i feel my dad loved me more and my mom loved him more than me .Life was going on peacefully until years later we lost our mom due to cancer .My parents loved each other a lot ,looks like dad could not take the pressure and collapsed one day when he was out on his morning walks.

My brother & I ran to the hospital horrified .The doctors informed us ,due a damage in the brain nerve Dad's is completely paralyzed on the left hand side .The news broke us.

By Harry cao on Unsplash

I had just started working at that time & my brother was in college .My younger brother took the decision of taking care of my father,left college .My brother gave bath to my father , fed him food ,took care of my father,read him the newspaper every morning .My father's condition did improve for several years with regular physiotherapy , exercise,care & support .However, in the later years it started deteriorating again.

Meanwhile I got married.My brother continued to take care of my father like how we take care of a small baby & one day my father passed away peacefully in his sleep.

The house which once housed a family of 4 was now inhabited by one person .My brother got a job.He was single for several years. He met his future wife at work .They got married and had 2 beautiful children.

By loly galina on Unsplash

I sometimes wonder what if my younger brother was not there ,like maybe if i was the only child ,would I be in a position to take care of my father the way he did ?Putting his life on hold for several years & committing to one goal of taking care of the loved one .Maybe or maybe not.

I am so glad & thankful for my wonderful little brother whom as a child i considered to be the monster from hell turned out to be the light of our lives.

Family
1

About the Creator

Amita Shetty

i am a creative writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.