Confessions logo

A Funny Confession

That One Time I added Tobasco to Wendy's Chili and Won 2nd Place at a Chili Cookoff

By Ben LamPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
A Funny Confession
Photo by Joseph Sharp on Unsplash

Okay, I have a confession to make. The year I won the chili cook off at the local fair, I didn't actually make my chili from scratch. Instead, I took a little shortcut that turned out to be the secret to my success.

Let me back up a bit. I've always loved a good bowl of chili. Growing up, my mom used to make it on cold winter nights, and I always looked forward to the spicy, hearty meal. So when I heard about the chili cook off at the fair, I knew I had to enter.

The thing is, I'm not exactly a great cook. I can follow a recipe, sure, but I've never been one to experiment in the kitchen. So when I started planning my chili recipe, I was feeling a bit overwhelmed.

That's when I remembered something a friend had told me: apparently, Wendy's chili was a popular ingredient in the competition. I was skeptical at first, but the more I thought about it, the more it made sense. Wendy's chili was already a delicious base, and it would save me a ton of time and effort.

On the day of the cook off, I swung by the Wendy's drive-thru and picked up a few cups of chili. The guy working the window gave me a weird look when I told him what I was planning to do, but I just shrugged it off. I knew what I was doing.

Back at home, I dumped the chili into a pot and started adding my own ingredients. I added a can of black beans, some diced tomatoes, and a few spices. But the real magic happened when I pulled out my secret weapon: a bottle of Tabasco.

I had always been a fan of the hot sauce, but I had never used it in chili before. I added a generous amount to my Wendy's chili and gave it a good stir, tasting as I went. And before I knew it, I had a delicious, spicy concoction that was sure to impress the judges.

At the cook off, I was feeling pretty nervous. There were a lot of great-looking chilis on display, and I wasn't sure if my shortcut would pay off. But as the judges made their way around the table, I started to feel more confident.

When they got to my chili, I held my breath. They took a spoonful each and tasted it, nodding their heads in approval. One of them even let out a little "mmm" sound. I was elated.

After they had tried all the chilis, the judges announced the winners. I was shocked when they called my name for second place. I couldn't believe it. All that work, and all I had done was add Tabasco to Wendy's chili.

Some people might say that I cheated, but I don't see it that way. I mean, it's not like I used someone else's recipe or tampered with anyone else's chili. I just added a little something extra to my own chili, using a base that happened to come from Wendy's.

The truth is, I'm not sorry I took the shortcut. It worked out pretty darn well for me, if I do say so myself. And who knows? Maybe next year I'll switch it up and try a different fast food joint for my base. The possibilities are endless.

But for now, I'm just going to bask in my glory as a chili cook off winner. Who knew that all it took was a little Wendy's chili and some Tabasco to make my dreams come true?

Secrets
Like

About the Creator

Ben Lam

I craft tales that transport you to fantastical worlds, where the impossible becomes reality. Let me take you on an unforgettable journey.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.