Confessions logo

A Double Life Unveiled: My Confession of Gambling Addiction and Embezzlement

Confession Series #04

By Padhmavathi RajendranPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
A Double Life Unveiled: My Confession of Gambling Addiction and Embezzlement
Photo by Sam Manns on Unsplash

I am writing this confession because I have been living a lie for far too long. I am not the person that my colleagues and friends believe me to be. I have been leading a double life and I can no longer keep up the facade.

It all started when I was struggling financially. I had just graduated from college and I was drowning in student loan debt. I was desperate for a way out and that's when I stumbled upon the world of online gambling. At first, it was just a way for me to make a quick buck, but it quickly became an addiction.

I was spending all of my free time and money on gambling, and I was losing more than I was winning. I knew that I needed to stop, but I couldn't. The thrill of the gamble was too much to resist.

As my addiction worsened, I started to steal company funds to feed my habit. I would take small amounts at first, but as my addiction grew, so did the amount that I was stealing. I knew that what I was doing was wrong, but I couldn't stop myself.

I started to become paranoid, thinking that my colleagues and superiors were on to me. I would constantly look over my shoulder and I would jump at the slightest noise. I knew that it was only a matter of time before I was caught, but I couldn't bring myself to stop.

And then, one day, my worst fear came true. I was confronted by my superiors and they presented me with evidence of my embezzlement. I was in shock and I didn't know what to do. I knew that I had been caught and that there was no way to deny my actions.

In that moment, I realized the full extent of the damage that I had caused. I had not only betrayed the trust of my colleagues and superiors, but I had also damaged the company's reputation and finances. I was filled with shame and remorse, and I knew that I could never make things right.

I know that my actions have consequences and that I will have to face them. I am prepared to accept whatever punishment is deemed fit for my crimes. I just hope that in some small way, this confession can serve as a reminder that no matter how much you think you can get away with, in the end, the truth will always come out.

I know that I cannot undo the harm that I have caused but I want to apologize to my colleagues, my superiors and the company for my actions. I regret my actions and I am willing to make amends in any way possible.

I also want to apologize to my family and friends. They have been nothing but supportive and loving towards me throughout my entire life, and I have let them down. I know that my actions have affected them deeply and I am truly sorry. I have been lying to them about my addiction and stealing, and I know that they deserve better.

I am also aware that my actions have affected not only the company but also the people who depend on it for their livelihoods. I am deeply remorseful for the pain and suffering that my actions have caused, and I will do everything in my power to make amends.

I want to make it clear that this confession is not an attempt to avoid responsibility for my actions. I accept full responsibility for what I have done and I am willing to face the consequences. I hope that my confession will serve as a reminder that addiction can lead to terrible actions and that it's important to reach out for help before it's too late.

I am willing to undergo therapy and seek professional help for my addiction. I will also work with the company to repay the funds that I have stolen, and I will make sure that such a thing will never happen again.

I hope that this confession will serve as a warning to others and that they will think twice before making the same mistakes that I did.

FriendshipSecretsFamilyEmbarrassment
Like

About the Creator

Padhmavathi Rajendran

I'm a Fictional Story Writer with 6+ years of experience in Journalism and Story Writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.