Confessions logo

A Day

Had by me

By Emrys Everette Published 3 years ago 3 min read
A Day
Photo by Valentin Salja on Unsplash

As the title suggests in no obscure manner, I had quite a day. Unfortunately for some looking for something bright, or positive it was not what I would categorize as a good day. Between interactions I had, and the ones I really could've used today it did lead to quite the breakdown in the shower after work. However I have had some fruit and hydrated and I'm ready to share if y'all are ready for a quick vent.

It started with me waking up from a stress dream about trying to cash a check I so desperately needed in my account that I can only barely recall at this point, and nature's intense call. Forced out of my sleep and to the toilet in a rush. I'll spare the details, though its important to know the next thirty minutes did not leave me with a comfortable start to this particular day.

A good friend of mine, in search of work had her first day on with my current place of employment and I was hoping that would alleviate some of the stress from my workload. Knowing I had someone on my team that I can easily communicate with. Knowing there was someone competent enough to handle mildly complex tasks unlike a rather large portion of the other co-workers I babysit on a regular business day. Now I know ragging on someone you work with and blaming them for one's stress is common and often blown out of proportion if not just a complete misconception of the truth behind the situation(s) can be common. However, there aren't many words quite as true as saying most of the people who work alongside me have made me realize that the 2006 comedy Idiocracy may not be far off from our future. They have genuinely caused me to worry for our future as a society.

I'm aware we have all had to deal with the consequences of Covid in one form or another. The vaccine has caused me more stress than you could imagine. My place of employment has made room for these pop-up Vaccination Locations and the customers need more attention than ever. Now circling back to my lovely colleagues, they add so much unnecessary stress to my rather small plate. Trying to make sure the work they leave incomplete gets done has left me not being able to finish any of my requirements as a manager. I'm constantly exhausted having to micro-manage associates and other managers just to get anything done. I'm very much over fighting my peers because they've gone mad with power thinking I have no authority over them when all I'm doing is trying to make our jobs easier. Though I suppose from their prospective, having the few (like myself) do all the heavy lifting is easiest.

Speaking of doing all the heavy lifting, I have my father up my ass for scaring my uncles with sobering yet hollow threats of evicting them. To be fair they deserve it. They constantly done nothing but deal out abuse to the few that have tried to love them. With out spilling their beans so to speak, I will tell you they have done terrible things with their time here. Offering no sign of remorse or reform. So they have recently emotionally attacked my sister (in the case you were curious I am the eldest of four) with no repercussion or apology, and everyone else other than my younger sibling publicly accepting them I don't feel I have any choice but to speak up.

In reaction to that and just before putting this hot mess together I wrote to my father, explaining my position on the whole thing. I also gained some insight into what I'm feeling in general while trying to compose my thoughts. I realized both my uncles have been just horrible not just to those around us but they've brought that pain into our home and spread it. I don't believe they deserve peace and I'm tired of acting like they deserve any good grace from me. I'm drawing my line and I've publicly announced my metaphorical war against these buffoons in hopes they learn and grow in the face of my wrath.

Family

About the Creator

Emrys Everette

You want to know about me? Well shoot, here's the short version. I'm gay, I'm 22, wildly imaginative and curious as can be. I can get short with folks, I'm typically sweet as can be. I don't honestly know what you'll want to know.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Emrys Everette Written by Emrys Everette

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.