Confessions logo

A Creative Procrastinator

I wanna do many things yet I don't want to do them.

By tracydtnPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
A Creative Procrastinator
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

The origin story for my creative struggles.

I recently had another cry which happens on a fortnightly basis because that's how I am as a person. I'm not the most creative person you would meet but I'm someone that likes doing new things but without commiting for the long run. I have a plethora of things that I want to do and yet they don't happen.

I've done this and tried that but never really committed to things because I lack the consistency and motivation.

A list of things I've attempted within the past two years.

  • Writing/Blogging
  • Podcasting
  • Scrapbooking
  • Playing around with Canva
  • Tiktok videos

It's not the most comprehensive list but I would like to say it's been fun attempting these things. I tend to have creative bursts and its the usual stopping and starting.

Writing

One of the only consistent creative outlets I've continued doing. I had a good run on medium back in 2019. It is a fun way to write out what I know and someone might enjoy it. This was done successfully because no one knew I wrote and I had fun with what I wanted to write.

I eventually stopped because of good ol' 2020 and attempted writing on Vocal. My Animal Crossing piece was my first ever written piece that got on the home page and someone tipped me (bless them). I am slowly getting out of my shell again and want to share what I have to the world.

Podcast

Like everyone and their mother, I started a podcast during lockdown. Is it the most entertaining one out there, no but I had fun doing it. I call it my pet project that I eventually want to get back to. 'Musings with Trace', another way for me to vocalise my thoughts into the void of the internet.

Although, I check back with the stats from time to time and there's an occasional play once in a while. Shoutout to that person because it makes me realise I could go back to it.

Time to use my mic that I bought for it thats collecting dust on my desk...

Scrapbooking

My 100 dollar sticker collection that I bought out of pure joy. It's one of my childhood things that I have always wanted to do. I have always loved stickers and to utilise pretty stickers through scrapbook makes my inner child happy. It combines bullet journaling and my free spirit to do it when I want to without a strict structure to follow.

My scrapbooking stuff is tucked away but looking at my stickers makes me happy.

Canva + Tiktok

These two are lumped together as they're skills that I want to learn myself and put under my portfolio. Also, being a communications major where people expect you to be 4 people in one... It's more creative fun when I try these apps and I want that to continue to be that way.

By Keila Hötzel on Unsplash

I'm in my 20's where I'm as lost as the next person. I graduated in the middle of 2020 and now at the tailend of my post-graduate degree where I need to face reality as such to enter the workforce.

My decisions in my life aren't the greatest and I know I'm not alone with that idea.

I'm trying to love myself in a way that it allows me to post whatever I want with no pressure. It was how I managed to do Medium back in 2019 because none of my friends knew about it. I haven't improved much if I have to honest but it's taught me a lot about how I respond to the world. I want to hide away in my own room of comfort and don't want anything to do with in life. You can call me out being lazy but sometimes that's just how it is...

Things happen for a reason.

I'm not having a hard counter of having a schedule but I want to share. I think with how I work, it will be a process of learning and knowing that someone out there cheering me on.

I will try to find a balance one day and stop relying on my creative bursts to try the things that I love doing.

Off to stare at my uncompleted paint by numbers canvas that I bought in June 2020 during lockdown.

Bad habits
1

About the Creator

tracydtn

A 20 something-year-old taking life day by day writing her thoughts out loud.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.