Confessions logo

9/11

Felt beyond borders of american soil.

By Ahana MitraPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
2
Just utter darkness.

Has Anyone forgotten that morning when everything came crashing down? 4 planes got hijacked, 2 buildings came crashing down, innumerable killed! The only thing constant was chaos and trouble. I guess these are the only 2 things that never really goes away.

In Fury's words, "Trouble, Ms. Romanoff. Trouble is constant." I guess having the Avengers would have been a great relief that day. However, this wasn't a staged play where IronMan would have swooped in to save the day. It was all too real. And it all happened in the land of dreams, the greatest country in the planet- USA.

If you still haven't guessed as to what I am talking about; well it's September 11, 2001 or better called 9/11. This year we completed its 22nd anniversary. What better opportunity can be there to share my experience with it than this!

This is actually an ironic situation because I was born exactly 20 days after this incident. You read it right. My mother was very pregnant back then. I can only imagine how she had received the news that day.

You might wonder how this makes me a suitable person to come and share my experience. I wasn't even born. Even if I was, I would have been too small to remember any of it. Well I don't know first hand what happened that day. However, that is not the day I wanna talk about.

The day that became the highlight of my life was the day we all read in the newspaper that Bin Laden had been killed in a mission carried out by the NAVY Seal team under the Obama administration. I was never really fond of newspapers back then. All I was fond of was Tom and Jerry. Quite natural, don't you think. I was just a kid back then.

That morning as I woke up and was getting ready to sit with my homework, my mom came into the room. With a smile on her face she told me that today is a special day. I was really confused. I wondered why. She continued saying that finally, Osama Bin Laden is dead. I had no clue as to who he was. But what really confused me was , why would someone's death be such good news!

I relayed my concern to her. She said that he was a very bad man who did some really bad things and he had got what he deserved. As correct as her explanation was, it still did not make any sense to me back then. So, I went and asked my dad about it. He too said the same things that you would say to a young kid.

It was almost 5 years later that I got to know what exactly had happened. And trust me, it gave me chills. I was shaken to my very bones. How can someone be so cruel? Honestly, I did not know.

However, it was the day I had gotten introduced to the very concept of "just killing". I used to think all deaths are bad, all killings are wrong. However, when one manages to kill more than 2000 people, he deserves a worse fate than a gunshot. I had realized sometimes to survive you gotta do what you gotta do. That's it.

No wonder my mother was so happy that day. Afterall, she felt a bit safer than before. I guess I did too. Even though I did not know the severity of it, I still knew that what had happened, happened for good.

It's been 22 years which is my age as well. I still sometimes think of all those people who volunteered their lives just so they can save a few who were stuck in those buildings. All those firefighters, policemen, and countless others. Their conviction baffles me even now. How can someone be so dedicated at what they do that they did not think twice before rushing into those buildings! I guess we'll never know what went through their minds. However, what I do know is that this day changed everything all around the world. It didn't matter how much you loved or hated someone, how much you knew or did not know someone. All we could pray for was for their safety and security.

Ps. I am not an American. I am from India. Today, I thought I should write down my thoughts because some incidents impact everyone irrespective of their place of residence, age or presence.

SecretsTeenage yearsHumanityChildhood
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Good work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.