Cleats logo

This ordinary

This ordinary

By Jeffrey TharpPublished about a year ago 4 min read

'Exams! The teacher shouted from the podium. This ordinary sentence in the classroom is like a thunderbolt, a stone aroused thousands of waves, triggered a fierce discussion among the students.

"I didn't know there was an exam!" "How can I take the test without memorizing the book?" Yes, I originally also thought that there is no exam, the words and phrases are not memorized well, how can this test ah! Outside the sky was dark and dark, and dark clouds were gathering mercilessly over the great sun, our nurturer. My heart is as dark as the clouds outside, and I keep asking myself: Why not memorize the words after learning them?

'Be quiet! The teacher shouted, "Today is a temporary decision to unify the test of English, you do well." I will post the results among the parents." I regretted it even more: why do you want to be lazy and not memorize words?

From the white paper handed down by the teacher, I seem to have seen the score on the paper. The score on the paper is like the life on the book of life and death determines our life and death, I seem to see the score on the paper again, with a red pen written zero points.

I began to do the exam paper, the single choice and the judgment question can not defeat me, more easily filled in. But when I turned to the back, the words "writing part" made me despair. Oh, no. I don't know any words, so how do I fill in the blanks? Sure enough, I can hardly fill in the words behind, and finally fill in a few answers even without guessing. The clouds in the sky are more and more gloomy, the black pressure into a piece, as if it is collapsing, the sun's light is completely covered, the teacher had to turn on the lights.

The rain was falling harder and harder. In the sky, the dark clouds between lightning and thunder, like the scream of the banshee, like the soul's howl, very creepy. In addition to regret and fear, I blamed myself more. Why didn't I study hard? I know that I did not do well and let my teacher and mother down.

The rain stopped and the sun's rays pierced the clouds. In the end, I only got 65 points. The failure of this exam made me understand that I need to work hard in study, and I need to complete all the requirements of the teacher, even need to do what the teacher did not require, in order to get good grades. Lazy, coping attitude can never succeed, can only regret in the heart. The renewed conviction in my heart pierced the dark clouds in my heart, like the rising sun every day. This sun is the hope, is the effort, is I yearn for a better future.

I still remember that exam vividly.

A drop of water is small, but the power of ten million drops or even a billion drops is something we cannot underestimate. Stone "wear" for human beings, it is easy to do it, but who is willing to turn into the power of a drop of water to achieve this phenomenon, which tells us to learn to accumulate, accumulate seemingly small power, the future will be turned into a huge energy.

Accumulation is not an overnight thing, it is like fine needlework, to be slowly sewn up one stitch at a time. Some students may hate the exam, before the exam can only desperately review, but you have to understand that the exam is a test of the knowledge accumulated at ordinary times, if there is no long-term accumulation, the light of "cramming", is fundamentally unable to solve the problem, even if it is successful, it is also temporary luck. This is enough to prove the importance of accumulation. Accumulation can sum up life experiences and sublimate them into higher understandings, thus helping to learn life more smoothly.

So, how to accumulate

First of all, we should not underestimate our own small forces. The first Emperor of Qin did not realize that an uprising led by two peasants could overthrow his hegemony; And now an ant can build a nest and break a river bank. The aggregation of small forces is powerful, terrible. It is only when we look at these seemingly small things that we learn to accumulate the small but correct and important experiences in life, which add up to enough to wear away the stone.

Secondly, we should have a perseverance. A man without perseverance cannot accomplish this difficult task. The reason why Yu Gong can move mountains is inseparable from his unwavering faith and perseverance. Only that one full of perseverance, can day and night the small drop of water to the stone, if a drop of water halfway, can not achieve "stone through". This shows the importance of perseverance.

However, as long as we do not underestimate the small power and have a perseverance, can we accumulate power? We also need to know how to accumulate the right experience for ourselves. If you don't mind putting the wrong. As experience accumulates, it will evolve into bad habits that are hard to change and will harm your life. Therefore, we also need a pair of discerning eyes, choose the right experience to accumulate, in order to become a great tool.

In short, the reason why small water droplets can wear stones is the accumulation of small forces. In the course of our usual life, we must learn to have a perseverance and a pair of wise eyes, accumulate small power, let it continue to sublimate, change into a huge energy, in order to "drip water wears stone".

interview

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JTWritten by Jeffrey Tharp

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.