Chapters logo

The Fowl Project

Entry 001 – The Letter

By KelPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
4
The Fowl Project
Photo by Joanna Kosinska on Unsplash

Dear Tom,

It's been quite a while since our last conversation, and I sincerely hope that you and your family are in good health. As for myself, well, things have taken a rather challenging turn lately, but I believe there are more pressing matters at hand, and my time is running short. Please forgive the shaky handwriting, but rest assured, it's me.

Do you recall our childhood days, when we used to engage in thrilling games of Cops and Robbers? You always played the role of the unwavering cop, and I looked up to my big brother with great admiration. I must ask you to summon that courage and strength once more, Tom. I am truly sorry to burden you with this request. By the time this letter finds its way to you, I may no longer be among the living. The individuals I've been involved with have decided that the confidential information I possess must not see the light of day.

Enclosed within this letter is a USB drive, containing a trove of confidential files, for which I had obtained special clearance. These files pertain to cases in which I've had direct involvement. I implore you to make these files public; time is not on my side, and I won't have the opportunity to do so myself before they reach me.

As I write these words, I am acutely aware of the gravity of the situation. The information I carry is of utmost importance and has far-reaching consequences. My life is no longer mine to control, but I believe in the power of truth and justice. It is for this reason that I am reaching out to you, my steadfast brother, to take on this arduous task.

You were always the protector, the one who stood up for what was right in our childhood games. Now, I ask that you stand up for what is right in reality. These files, Tom, they reveal a web of deceit, corruption, and injustice that runs deep within our society. The people deserve to know the truth, and it is only with your bravery and determination that we can bring these dark secrets to light.

I know this is a tremendous burden to place on your shoulders, and for that, I apologize. However, I trust in your unwavering dedication to justice and your love for the truth. You have the strength to carry this torch and ensure that the information I've gathered is made public. It's a heavy responsibility, but one that I believe you are more than capable of handling.

Remember, Tom, that our bond as brothers has always been one of trust and unwavering support. I have no one else to turn to in this dire situation. I believe in your ability to do what is right, and in doing so, you will honour not only our childhood memories but also the values we hold dear.

Time is of the essence, and I fear that my days are numbered. Please, act swiftly, and take the necessary steps to expose the truth within those files. The future of justice and accountability depends on it.

Yours sincerely,

Anna x

P.S. I wish there was a way to explain more, but the risks are too great. You are my last hope, Tom. Thank you for being the person I've always admired.

This is part one of a series where I plan to create a universe of monsters, aliens, and phenomena. If you like the series please let me know, this is a very experimental idea of mine, I feel like I need to “test the waters first” to see if this is something people will enjoy.

MysteryHorrorDystopian
4

About the Creator

Kel

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Love your opening chapter!!! Mysterious and compelling!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Call Me Les7 months ago

    Love it! What a fab way to tell a story. It's like peeking into a diary!

  • C.S LEWIS7 months ago

    this is so nice you can join my friends and read what i have prepared for you

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.