Chapters logo

THE CHURCH GATHERING

August Sunday At Mount Holy

By Frankie Berry WisePublished 9 months ago 21 min read
1
THE CHURCH GATHERING
Photo by Adeyemi Emmanuel Abebayo on Unsplash

My brother, June Bug, dressed in his only blue suit, was ready for church. He sat patiently, staring at his image in the mirror, while I combed his hair.

I insisted that he remain in his room, while I go to my room and to dressed. Our mother, Shug, didn’t want June Bug to see her or me naked, so I made sure I closed my bedroom door. Even though June Bug had the mind of a child, his body was mature. I was putting on my stockings when I caught June Bug peeping in my door. I called out to my mother, Shug, who was frying chicken and baking biscuits in the kitchen. Shug came hurrying with a large fork, which she was using to turn the chicken. Shug pointed the fork at June Bug and told him not to peep at his sister. After scolding June Bug, Shug took him to sit at the kitchen table. She gave him a buttered biscuit to eat. As always, butter dripped on June Bug’s blue suit, and as usual, Shug tried to wipe the greasy stain off with a dishcloth, only to make it worse.

After I finished dressed in my blue skirt, white blouse, and white pumps, I went into the kitchen to help Shug with the cooking but, she was finished and had put the greasy food into two brown paper bags.

With the food and everyone ready, we sat at the kitchen table and waited for Rev. and Mrs. Hurley to arrive and drive us to church.

Rev Horace hunk the horn on his brown station wagon as soon as he and Mrs. Horace drove in the yard. Shug and I hurried out of our seats, but June Bug remained seated. Shug took the bags of food off the table, being careful not to get grease on her white suit. She told me to take my brother out to the Station Wagon. I took June Bug by his hand to lead him out to the car, but he would not budge. I tried again but June Bug still would not budge. It was as if he had glued himself to the bottom of his chair. June Bug could be very stubborn and strong when he did not want to cooperate, and neither Shug nor I could make him. Shug gave the brown bags, saturated with chicken fat, to me. She told me to take the food out to the Hurley’s’ car and tell Rev. Hurley to come inside to help her with June Bug. Before I left, Shug reminded me to say good morning to the Hurleys and not get grease on my clothes.

Shug waiting in the kitchen with June Bug while I, carrying the greasy brown bags of food, went outside to greet the Hurleys.

Rev. Hurley and Mrs. Pearl had all the car windows down as they impatiently waited in the simmering August heat. I wanted to turn and run back into the house, but with thoughts of my mother’s wrath, I dared not to. Rev. Hurley looked like a teddy bear stuffed into a too-small black suit. He loosened his red tie and unbuttoned the top button on his washed too many times white shirt. Rev. Hurley did not want to be late for church. It was the first Sunday in August. Mount Holy would be filled to its capacity with adults and children and the tables in the basement would be covered with platters of food.

Mrs. Pearl’s overpowering perfume began to attract bumblebees. They flew in and out of the car windows as they whirled around Mrs. Pearl’s straw hat, decorated with artificial flowers, trying to suck nectar from the flowers. Frantically, Mrs. Pearl waved her hands and arms to fan the bees away. Rev. Hurley nor Mrs. Hurley noticed that I was standing near the car.

“The McAdoos always keep us waiting because of that idiot June Bug! That food in the back seat is going to spoil and won't be fit to eat. I should let them walk and have them kicked out of the church. Rev. Hurley said, loudly.

“Don’t be so pious Horace and let your big mouth get you in trouble, Horace. You could be kicked out of my daddy's church, too.” Pearl said continuing to swat at bees.

“Stop saying my name after every sentence. “What do you mean about me being kicked out of my church?”

“Parishioners are beginning to talk. If they decide to change preachers and can convince the board members, then that means you will be out! The only reason they've kept you this long is because of their dedication to my daddy. Otherwise, you would have been gone.”

“After your father died,” Rev Hurley said, raising his voice, “and as your husband, I became the head of the household, and I have taken care of you, your spinster twin sisters, and your sissy brother, Tyrone, ever since! What’s wrong with you anyway? You’ve been bitching all morning. I should have shaved this morning,” Rev Hurley continued, looking in his rear-view mirror and quickly changing the conversation when he caught me standing near the car listening.

“Were you listening to me and my wife’s conversation?”

“No sir!”

“Where is your mama and your brother? It’s hot out here!”

“They’re in the house. June Bug won't come out.”

“That’s no reason for you to stand out here eavesdropping? Go in the house and help your mama!” Rev says.

“She sent me to get you.”

Without saying another word, Rev Hurley forced his derrière out from under his steering wheel. He took off his hat and set it on his black robe, which lay across his seat, and hurried into the house to help Shug. Mrs. Pearl told me to put Shug’s food on the rear seat with her potato salad and coconut cake, and for me to get in the car. The word food reminded me of what Shug told me to not do. It was too late. I had squeezed the greasy chicken and biscuits bags against my white blouse, leaving a large grease stain.

Mrs. Pearl and I waited in the car until Rev. Hurley, Shug, and June Bug came out to the car.

Rev. Hurley opened the car door and pushed the uncooperating June Bug into the back seat. Reluctantly, June Bug sat between me and Shug but continued to scream while he kicked the back of Hurley’s seat. With five sweaty people, in a station wagon that smelled like flatulence, we finally arrived at Mount Holey Baptist Church, just in time to hear the choir singing their last song, and just before Rev. Hurley was to give his sermon. He parked the car near the entrance to the pastoral study and quickly got out of the car and reached for his robe and hat. They had disappeared. Everyone except June Bug began to search for Rev. Hurley’s belongings until Shug spotted them on the floorboard under June Bug’s big feet. Shug retrieved the wrinkled robe and squashed hat and gave them to the irate minister. He put on his robe, slammed the car door shut, his hat in his hand, and leaving everyone else sitting in the car, he hurried into the church.

Shug and Pearl took their food into the dining room through the basement door. As usual, I led June Bug up the steps, through the front door, and into the crowded church. We had to walk all the way to the front pews before finding enough space for me, him, and my mother to sit.

Shug and Pearl came to sit with the congregation. Shug sat with June Bug and me. Across the aisle, Pearl sat with her daughter, Alspice.

“Look behind you,” Shug said, whispering into my ear, “sitting in the fourth pew behind us.”

“Why?”

“It’s that boy Johnny Overtree who is always walking you home from school.”

I turned around and looked. “Why is Johnny here?”

“It’s eating day. It’s the only time some people will come to church.”

“Like Alspice?” Pookie asked.

“Pearl says Alspice is sickly and can’t attend church every Sunday.”

“She doesn’t look sickly to me. She just looks overfed. Maybe she doesn’t want to hear her daddy preaching what he doesn't practice.”

“How can you talk so negatively about a man called to preach by God?” Shug asked, as her voice raised and lowered.

“I forgot,” I sarcastically answered, “Rev. Hurley was plowing in the cotton field early, early one morning when he….”

“Stop talking that way! I’m going to get Rev. Hurley to minister to you.”

“Like he ministered to Martha and now she has his baby?”

“That’s not true!”

“I know one truth.”

“And what truth is that?”

“You shouldn’t let Rev. Hurley chastise June Bug.”

“Rev Hurley is only following the Bible. He said you shouldn't spare the rod. Even for a dumb child- like your brother.”

“My brother is not a child! He’s a twenty-one-year-old man!” I said, angrily, forgetting about Johnny sitting behind me. “And if he’s so dumb, how can he know better?”

“Hush!” Shug said, changing the subject. “Sisters Priscilla and Portia and Brother Tyrone are starting the prayer service.”

It was the first time I wished the long-winded Featherstones would pray and pray forever. I wanted Johnny to get so bored and hot that he would leave before I was called to do a solo. But, today, Rev. Hurley's thoughts were on the tantalizing food that was waiting downstairs. Rev. Hoarse walked up to the podium, looking ruffled, and stopped Brother Tyrone in the middle of his inspirational prayer.

“Thanks, Brother Tyrone, for those inspiring words. You may be seated.”

“I haven’t finished!”

“It’s too hot for these young babies. We're going to move things along today.” Rev. Horace said, as Tyrone reluctantly took his seat.

“Now we'll have a solo by Miss Pookie McAdoo. Afterward, I'll give a short sermon,” Rev. Horace said, beckoning for me to come forward, “Miss McAdoo let us hear your lovely voice.”

I was so nervous my half-size-too-small shoes seemed even smaller. Shug gave me a push to help her begin what, as I walked, seemed like a very long journey to the podium. I was hoping that when I faced the audience, Johnny would be gone. But there he sat. I had sung many solos in front of the Mount Holy congregation, but today was different. The man I hoped would become my boyfriend was sitting in the audience.

Accompanied by Brother Raymond on the drums and Sister Gustie Johnson on the piano, I closed my eyes and began to sing. My voice trembled for a few minutes, but it got stronger and stronger. The parishioners began to shout amen and praises to the Lord. Some members got the Holy Ghost and began dancing in the aisles. I became comfortable and opened my eyes and looked at Johnny.

Johnny wiped the sweat from his forehead with his blue Bill’s Hardware cap. The grey wool suit he wore was too hot for a sultry August day. My Staring at Johnny got Mrs. Pearl’s attention. Curious to see who had my undivided attention, Mrs. Pearl looked directly back at Johnny. The brim of her large hat hit Mrs. Lula Goodson’s granddaughter, Pauline, in the eye. Little Pauline began to cry. June Bug began to cry. My toes began to cry, and my song began to get longer and longer. The whole congregation began to shout, cry, and look at Johnny, forcing him to jump up from his seat and flee outside. While everyone was in a frenzy, I slipped out the side door to find Johnny.

Johnny pressed his back against the church's brick wall. With his handkerchief, he wiped the sweat from his face. Slowly, I walked toward him. When Johnny saw me approaching, he tried to put his handkerchief into his pocket, but it fell on the ground. I picked up the dirty handkerchief with two of my fingers and gave it back to him. He took the stained cloth and put it in his pocket.

“I am surprised to see you,”. "How did you get here?

“I walked. You have a beautiful voice.” Johnny said, looking down at the ground, “You should get a job singing at Bettie’s Blues Barn?”

“If you're going to tease me, I'm going back into the church.”

“I’m not teasing.”

“My mother would kill me!”

“You’re not old enough to make some decisions on your own? How old are you anyway?”

Before I could answer, I heard June Bug screaming. He was hungry, tired, and wanted to go home. “I better go back inside. June Bug is acting up.”

“Bring your brother out here. I’ll help you with him.”

“If you stay and eat….”

“They don’t want me eating their food.”

“Why?”

“I’m not a member of your church.”

“You’re welcome to the food we brought.”

“What did you bring?”

“We have fried chicken and biscuits.”

“I love fried chicken and biscuits!”

“My mother can fry some of the best chicken. Wait right here. I’ll go and get June Bug.”

Before I could, Rev. Hurley and June Bug appeared at the door. He beckons for me to come and get my brother.

With Johnny’s help, we got June Bug from the angry minister and returned to finish his sermon. Johnny and I walked June Bug across the churchyard to a bench under a large sycamore tree where the three of us sat.

The tranquility did not last long when the sermon finally came to an end and everyone carrying their plate of food to eat came outside. Pearl held Rev. Hurley’s and her plate while he placed two folding chairs under the weeping willow where they sat and began to eat.

Pearl’s twin sisters, Priscilla and Portia, and her brother, Tyrone, detested their brother-in-law, Horace. They were beginning to think that Rev. Horace Hurley was having too much power over the church and especially over Pearl. They wanted Horace ousted from Mount Holy and hopefully out of Pearl's life. Pearl was forced into marrying the raggedy, dirty hired hand when their widower father, Rev. Tyrone Featherstone, caught Pearl and Horace in a compromising position in the barn.

Coming home one evening, after ministering to a sick friend, Rev. Tyrone checks the barn to see that Joe his mule is safe in his stall when he catches sixteen-year-old Pearl and Horace having sex on top of a bale of hay. That was the last straw!

When Pearl saw her daddy, she pushed Horace away. With her panties in her hand, she ran and hid in old Joe’s stall. Horace had just enough time to pull his overalls up and button one strap across his shoulder before Rev. Tyrone found a broken pitchfork handle and began to beat the scared Horace. The young Horace was no match for the enraged smaller and older preacher who was nicknamed “midget.” Rev. Featherstone beat Horace across his back and head until he lay unconscious on the ground. The little preacher dragged the bloody-faced Horace, by his feet, out of the barn and left him lying face down in some chicken manure while he ran home to get his shotgun to kill Horace but changed his mind. He did not want to leave his motherless children without a father if he went to prison.

Rev. Tyrone left his shotgun in the closet. He told the twins to start supper. The girls went into the kitchen to cook the food. Rev. Featherstone went into his bedroom to check on his son Tyrone, Jr. Pearl was left hiding in the barn.

The sisters were worried because it started to storm, lightning lit the dark sky, the rain fell heavily on the tin roof and Pearl was still not in the house.

Portia looked out the kitchen window toward the barn and over the fields, but she could not see Pearl or Horace. Rev. Featherstone continued to walk back and forth from the kitchen to where baby Tyrone was sleeping. The twins knew their father was worried about Pearl, too.

Portia hurried away from the window and went back to the stove and stirred a pot of pinto beans while Priscilla set the table.

“That’s a bad storm,” Priscilla said, whispering.

“Worse!” Portia said, also whispering.

“Do you think Pearl is all right?” Priscilla asks.

“I hope so,” Priscilla answered.

“Girls, stop whispering and get the food on the table,” Rev. Featherstone said, bringing Tyrone, Jr. to the kitchen table and seating him in his highchair.

The Featherstones were eating their supper when Pearl came running through the kitchen door. She knew sooner or later she would have to face her father and take her whipping. Also, she was famished.

When the twins saw Pearl, looking wetter than a wet hen, they stopped eating. Baby Tyrone continued to kick his feet under the table and draw circles in his plate of food. Tyrone, Sr. dropped the cornbread he was taking a bite from into his plate of pinto beans and ham. He rubbed his greasy hands across the legs of his best black preaching and visiting suit. With his eyes still bloodshot from anger, he looked at Pearl and over at his very used black leather strap hanging on the wall. He pushed his chair away from the table and stood. He took his chair with him when he went to retrieve his strap. He sat in his chair. Pearl knew what to do.

Leaving her muddy footprints behind, Pearl walked over to her waiting father. She took a deep breath, tightened the muscles in her butt, and lay across her father’s bony lap. Rev. Tyrone placed his left hand on the back of Pearl’s head. Her long braids touched the floor. Rev. Tyrone looked at Portia and then at Priscilla who was waiting for Pearl’s whipping to be over. Portia’s mouth was filled with ham when Rev. Tyrone called her name. She took a chance on choking and swallowed the tough meat rather than let her father think she was being disrespectful.

“Portia.”

“Yes sir?” Portia answered, with a lump of ham stuck in her throat and tears in her eyes.

“Priscilla.”

“Yes sir?” Priscilla answered.

“I want you girls to remember this whipping I’m going to give Pearl. If you do, you’ll never repeat her mistake!”

Rev. Featherstone raised his strap high above his head, but before he could bring the strap down on Pearl’s backside, Horace, looking like a rabid dog, ran into the house. From the top of his head to his shoes, he was soaked with rainwater. His face looked like he had been struck by lightning, and he smelled of chicken manure. Dumbfounded, Rev. Featherstone pushed Pearl off his lap and lowered the strap to his side. Pearl crawled across the kitchen floor and hid under the table.

Horace ran over to Rev. Featherstone and knelt at his feet. He told Rev. Featherstone that he had awakened on the wet ground and believed that he had been struck by lightning, but God saved him. Horace begged Rev. Featherstone to let him marry Pearl and spread the gospel. Pearl did not get a whipping. She and Horace got married. They became the parents of a daughter, Alspice. After Rev. Featherstone died, Horace inherited Mount Holy.

Besides Rev. and Mrs. Hurley, many of the other parishioners, including Alspice, searched for a shady spot in the churchyard to sit and eat. When Alspice saw Johnny, June Bug, and me sitting on the bench, she decided to join us. Johnny gave Alspice his seat because there was not enough room for the four of us. Allspice wore a black skirt that was too short for her large hips. The top two buttons on her red silk blouse were unbuttoned, exposing the cleavage of her voluptuous breast. Johnny could not take his eyes off Alspice’s bosom. Even June Bug could not stop looking. He even tried to put his hand down Alspice’s blouse.

“June Bug,” Alspice cried. Grabbing his hand and pushing it away, “You’re a bad boy!”

“Johnny, let you, me and June Bug go and get something to eat,” I said to defuse the situation.

“Johnny, Pookie is talking to you,” Alspice said, seductively.

“I’m sorry Pookie,” taking his eyes off Alspice’s, breast “What were you saying?”

“I said, let’s go and get something to eat before it’s all gone?”

“You don’t have to,” Alspice said.

“Here comes your mama with two plates.”

Shug gave me a plate of food and a slice of Mrs. Pearl’s coconut cake. She set the other plate, piled high with Mrs. Pearl’s potato salad, which he loves, in June Bug’s lap. Because of his decaying teeth, June Bug needed soft food and no sweets. June Bug dug his hand into the mound of potato salad. The mayonnaise, eggs, pickles, and potatoes oozed between his fingers. June Bug offered his hand full of food to Johnny.

“No thank you, June Bug!” Johnny said, moving away.

“I’ll get Johnny a plate,” Shug said.

“Johnny," Alspice asked, "Did you bring food today?”

“Did you?” I snapped at Alspice.

“My mama did!” Allspice snapped back. She pointed her finger at my plate and then at June Bug’s hands covered with potato salad. “That’s my mama’s coconut cake on your plate and her potato salad all over your stupid brother’s hand!”

Don’t call my brother stupid, and how do you know it’s your mother’s food?” I asked.

“You think I don’t recognize my own mama’s food?”

“Please! Please! I’m not hungry,” Johnny responded.

“Johnny, you can have some of my chicken and biscuits,” My mother, Shug, said, trying to defuse the tension between me and the Hurley’s’ daughter—the same people who were giving us a ride home.

“No ma’am. I must be going,” Johnny said, as he began to walk away.

When Johnny began to walk away, June Bug began to scream and throw his potato salad at Alspice. The food splattered all over her face and clothes. Allspice quickly jumped from her seat and gave her plate to Johnny. She tried to clean the food off her face and blouse with her hands. Shug, Johnny, and I watched in horror as the oil from the mayonnaise stained Alspice’s blouse. Allspice angrily screamed for her father. She screamed so loud that a crowd of parishioners began to gather around the commotion. Rev. Horace and Mrs. Pearl came running to their daughter’s cries for help.

“Allspice, what happened?” Rev Hurley asked.

“That idiot did it,” Alspice cried, pointing her finger so close to June Bug’s face that he became cross-eyed. “He ruined my expensive blouse with potato salad!”

“Shug,” Rev. Hurley said, handing his empty paper plate to Pearl and removing his belt, “this boy has got to learn some manners and with God's help I'll….”

I threw my plate of food onto the ground before Rev. Hurley could finish his sentence. Shocking everyone, I made sure I stumped my feet on Mrs. Pearl’s coconut cake. When Mrs. Pearl saw what I had done, she almost fainted. June Bug was elated and jumped up and down laughing while he threw the rest of his potato salad and his plate at the spectators.

“Rev Hurley!” I shouted. With my hands on my hips, I stared directly into his eyes, “My brother is not an idiot or a boy! He’s a man! And I want to let you know, right here on this holy ground.” I continued, “If there is a heaven, June Bug will get there before you; and if you ever put your hands on my brother again, I will whip your….”

“Pookie,” My mother screamed, “Watch your tongue!”

“You, a Christian woman, Shug, going to let your stupid son and high-school dropout daughter insult my husband and daughter?” Pearl challenged.

“As a Christian woman, it is time I stood up for my children.” Shug responded, pointing her finger at Pearl, Rev. Hurley, and Alspice, “Let this be the last time you, your fat ass husband, or your hussy daughter insult my Pookie or June Bug."

“Amen came from an on-looker.”

“My husband is a man of God,” Pearl said, shocked by Shug’s aggression. “And if you feel that way, you can walk home!”

“Fine,” Shug said.

“Pearl, you shouldn’t have talked about Shug and her children,” Portia said. “Pookie did what you should have done. Stand up to that husband of yours!”

“Portia is right,” Priscilla said, defending her sister.

“You two old spinster twins,” Rev Hurley shouted, “stay out of me and my wife’s business!”

“Don’t you be rude to my sisters,” Tyrone shouted. He pushed his way through the crowd to confront Horace. Tyrone pointed his manicured fingernails in Horace’s face.

“After Daddy died, you took over the farm, our house, and the church! We want them all back!”

“I bet daddy is turning over in his grave,” Portia said, "And won't rest until Pearl and we get rid of you, Horace!”

“If your daddy is turning over in his grave, it’s because he has four girls,” Rev. Hurley responded, with a smirk on his face and bringing a hush among the onlookers.

“You skirt chaser!” Portia said.

“What are you implying about my daddy?” “Ask Tyrone.”

Rev. Hurley suggested. “Tyrone, what is Horace saying,” Priscilla asked.

“Does my daddy have a fourth daughter?”

“Horace is just lying,” Tyrone said, cowering away from the subject.

Tyrone is not ready to tell his old-fashioned twin sisters about his and Pearl’s secret. They are much too religious and judgmental.

“Horace, leave Tyrone alone!” Pearl said, scraping food off her dress with a plastic fork. “Forget what I said about you walking home. Horace didn’t mean what he said, either. We’ve been friends too long to let a little argument come between us.”

“A little argument,” Rev Horace said, pointing at Shug. “That woman and her dumb children are not getting back in my car! Not until they apologize to me and you in front of this congregation!”

“What about me?” Allspice cried. "They should apologize to me, too!”

“You’re right,” Rev. Hurley said, acknowledging his daughter's wish. “Not until they apologize to me, my wife, and my daughter.”

“Hell will freeze!” I said boldly.

“You better wash that girl’s mouth out with soap!” Rev. Hurley said as he and Alspice stepped on and over the paper plates and food lying on the ground as they walked to get in the station wagon, leaving Pearl to try to mend her friendship with Shug.

“Pearl, come on. We're going home!”

“Go home with your husband,” Shug said to the hesitant Pearl.

“Tyrone, will you take Shug and her kids home?” Pearl asked.

“Don’t worry, Pearl,” Tyrone said.

“We’ll see that they get home safely.”

“Be ready to apologize!” Rev. Hurley shouted as he drove away with his family.

“When hell freezes over!” I silently repeated as I looked around for Johnny. He was nowhere in sight.

When the circus was over, the audience quickly dispersed and went home, except for Alma and her husband, Jack, the McAdoos, and the Featherstones.

“We better go,” Tyrone said, as he ran his fingers through his long process hair. He mumbled some curse words when he saw food stains on his white linen suit. June Bug had a stomachache and toothache because, during all the bickering, June Bug ate most of the cake that had fallen on the ground.

I began to wonder what happened to the coward Johnny when I saw him driving up in his boss Mr. Bill’s truck. Johnny was our hero! Now, we would not have to ride home with Brother Tyrone and his holier-than-thou sisters. From the look on Shug’s face, she was also glad to see Johnny. Shug really didn’t want to ride with the boring Featherstones either. Johnny announced to Brother Tyrone that he would drive us home. It was good news to Brother Tyrone. He did not want the unruly June Bug riding in his clean, polished pink Cadillac.

Johnny helped Shug and June Bug into the cab of the truck. There was not enough room for the four of us inside the small truck. I would have to ride in the back. I was so embarrassed when Johnny helped me, wearing a skirt, climb into the cab of the truck so I could sit on the floor. But there was no alternative. Shug was not going to let me walk and no way would she let Johnny return for me. Anyway, it was getting dusk, and I was afraid of ghosts. Too many funerals had taken place inside the church and members were buried in the churchyard cemetery.

It seemed like an eternity before Johnny arrived at my house. He helped Shug get the sleepy June Bug into the house, leaving me waiting for Johnny to help me off the truck. Finally, I decided to climb down on my own and not risk Johnny getting a look up my skirt.

“I was coming back to help you,” Johnny said. “June Bug wouldn't let Shug put him in his bed, but he let me. I think he sees me as a friend.”

“I’m glad you came back to get us.”

“You didn’t think I had deserted you, did you?”

“Well….”

Before I could answer, Shug came to the door.

“Johnny,” Shug called, “thanks for your help.”

“You’re welcome, Miss Shug,” Johnny answered, glad to be in

Shug’s favor. “Mrs. Macadoo, can I come by sometime to see Pookie and maybe take her to a movie?

“If it is alright with Pookie,” Shug said. before disappearing from the door.

“Is it alright with you.?”

“It’s alright with me.”

“What about next Saturday evening?”

“O.K.”

“See you then.”

“Bye,” I said, with my heart pounding with joy.

Memoir
1

About the Creator

Frankie Berry Wise

Frankie Wise, a resident of Tuskegee, AL, is a professional homemaker, an award-winning cook, a part-time actress, a serious writer, and a passionate animal rights activist. Born and raised in Franklin, GA, she resides in Tuskegee, Alabama.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER9 months ago

    Like a hot summer storm... full of heat and passion!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.