Chapters logo

Smartystan

Growing

By Skyler SaundersPublished 8 days ago 4 min read
Smartystan
Photo by Chintan Jani on Unsplash

For the couple who found themselves sitting on the edge of the bed, the atmosphere seemed to oscillate between heated and cool.

“I know you just lost twenty million today, babe,” Chanda tried to comfort Go.

His face darkened and he turned to her.

“It’s really not that. I’ve lost twice that much and was able to recoup it in a few days.”

“What is it, then?”

“It’s the fact that we’re growing apart….”

“What?!”

“You, myself. We’re unraveling. The money is always going to be there no matter what. I mean I should say as long as I keep hustling. But our love affair seems to be ending.”

Chanda looked distraught. She didn’t know where this was coming from at all.

“No, we’re one. We’re supposed to be together. That’s our solemn trust in one another.”

“Do you think that trust is wavering somewhat?” he asked.

“Of course not! We’re better than we’ve ever been. The skate shop is taking off in ways I never expected. I’m glad to be the manager. I chip in, too,” she said, cozying up to him and flashing a smile. He shrugged her off. She stood.

“What’s your problem? You just said you didn’t care about the money. All of a sudden we hit a low point and now you’re talking about breaking up? What the hell?”

“I didn’t say we should end our relationship, I’m just saying I need time to figure everything out from here,” Go declared.

Chanda walked around the room like a lioness prepared to dine on a water buffalo.

“So, you’re saying that whatever mood you’re in, it’s not because of me?”

“No, it’s not.”

It’s not the money, it’s not me…tell me, babe, what is it?”

“It’s my folks, my mom in particular. She’s a tiger mom.”

“I’m aware. She never liked me.”

“That notwithstanding, she wants me to do something ‘real.’ She doesn’t want me to be trading crypto or anything. She definitely doesn’t want me to be the owner of a skateboard shop.”

“What does she want?”

“Does it matter? This is my life to live. I usually make millions every day. You’re in it. I have all that I want. My mom wants me to be an accountant or physicist or something. Jesus! She probably wants me to be a doctor. To hell with that!”

“We can work on all of this,” Chanda said. “We just have to convince––”

“Convince?! There’s no convincing that woman. She’s completely dedicated to shaping my life. I’m her only boy and she is not going to fail in guiding my life like she did my older sisters. They’re both surgeons but they never fail to state to my mother how miserable they are to be doing such highly honorable work.”

“You don’t want that.”

“No, I don’t.”

The hot mood of the spacious room seemed to raise the temperature a bit. Go had adjusted it to an ideal seventy-two degrees Fahrenheit. But they remained heated in this discussion.

“I know…I can talk to her and tell her how passionate you are about your endeavors. She thinks you’re a failure because you’re not doing what she wants you to do. All she has to know is that you’re happy with your life in work and romance and that you’re going to continue living it. That’s all.”

Go sighed. “I wish it was that simple. I can only say that she is someone I love dearly, but for her to guide and control my life is just something that irks me to no end. It’s like a pernicious disease that grows and grows and eventually takes over the host. She is still very special to me and I love her, but I do not love the fact that she wants to rule my life. I will not abide by it.”

Chanda laughed.

“What’s funny?” Go asked incredulously.

“You’re taking all of this too seriously.”

“I just ought to, it’s my mother and my life.”

“I mean, like I said, I can mention to her that you have everything in order and that you live a joyous existence.”

“No, that would be the worst thing you could possibly do. You better let me do all of the talking when we see her next. She likes you…from a distance. I’ve noticed she’s very curt with you.”

“I’ve noticed as well.”

“So, I think it would be wise to not allow her to be the queen in both of our lives. And I don’t mean the matriarch of the family but the bloody queen with the iron fist with no room for a velvet glove.”

A pause washed over the room. The couple sat there in silence and found ways to enjoy their solitude, cut off from the world, cut off from Go’s mother.

It lasted a good three minutes before Chanda opened her mouth.

“I’d say you do it, then,” she commanded.

“Do what?”

“Contact her. Connect with her. Call her for Christsakes.”

“I would rather see her face to face.”

“Even better.”

“But you can’t go with me.”

“I wasn’t planning on going. That’s between you and your mother. There should be no interference on my part. I think once you two can see each other as adults instead of the parent child dynamic, you should be able to achieve the amount of respect that should always exist between you both.”

Go smiled for the first time in a long time. Yes, the money loss remained a blow but he knew better. With his mom, this would be rocky territory. He saw his sisters get drilled into their heads the need to be in the medical field. Go decided against this career opting for a way to get ultra high net worth status and still indulge in his other pursuits.

“Do you think your partners at Delaseer are going to be thrilled when they learn that their best CTO is going to have to back away from the board?” Chanda asked.

“I do, that’s why I’m going to see my mother right now.”

Chanda leaned back and clapped as she laughed. Go leaned over and kissed her neck.

Young AdultScience FictionSaga

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

I’ve been writing since I was five-years-old. I didn’t have a wide audience until I was nine. If you enjoy my work feel free to like but also never hesitate to share. Thank you for your patronage. Take care.

S.S.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Skyler SaundersWritten by Skyler Saunders

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.