Chapters logo

Lost Pieces

Chapter two: The bricks

By Emma JanePublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Photo byHans Isaacson on unsplash

“So, are you meeting mystery guy tonight?”

I couldn’t help but tease her a little bit. Cuddled up in the love seat she is paying more attention to her phone than the Hallmark movie that she picked.

“I think so, he is just so sweet!” her voice goes up two octaves as she talks about him. “He says I remind him of an old friend” her freckled cheeks are blushing as she talks.

“That’s kind of odd.” I have been wondering what type of person this guy is and the more I hear the harder it is getting not to start judging him. Not from any of the details that she tells me. Honestly there isn’t much to go on. She is very important to me and the more she likes him the more protective I have been getting. “I was thinking about meeting Ally at the bricks since it is the first night of summer. Why don’t you invite him along.”

Trinity smiles, she is way too shy to ever really talk about the guy she has been seeing for the past couple of months. They had met in the library and have seen each other almost every day since. Due to her fear of ‘jinxing’ anything she has refused to tell me a name. She said it’s bad luck to talk about a stranger behind their back. I have asked to meet him many times, but she always finds a way to get out of it.

“I think that’s an awesome Idea! You can meet his cute friend too! I must get home and change” She jumps off the chair as if there was a spring under her. Trinity always has a smile on her face even when there were things, she couldn’t control around her.

That being said it made her very bubbly and distant when she couldn’t control everything around her. She often resorted to jumping around and trying to control the small situations around her. In this case that meant her outfit.

The bricks are a place in our neighborhood behind the neighborhood in the woods. It was a big area that had bricks laid out in a circle. Over the years people had added more bricks and a fire pit in the middle of the huge circle.

Supposedly this was part of the old neighborhood that was here before a fire ruined everything. Throughout the woods there are still abandoned houses and some over grown brick roads. I never really went out there. Once I passed the bricks there is always an off feeling that I feel overwhelmed with. As odd as it sounds, I always just took it as a warning and left it at that.

I watched the fire play along the logs while I held my cold beer. My body felt as though it was tingling, and my mind started to feel numb. I looked around for a familiar face, but it was too late. My brain had already started. I saw what looked to be little fairies and pixies flying around. People thought they were bugs and waved their hands around to shew them away. My favorite one sat on my shoulder and held her hands out to get the warmth of the fire. She had to be cold, she wore a little purple dress with matching slippers. Her hair was long and black, and her orange eyes lit up in the fire. I giggled and she made funny faces at me. For as long as I can remember the fairies always followed me. It took a lot of energy to see them though after a couple of hours I usually lose sight of them.

RomanceFantasy

About the Creator

Emma Jane

Hello,I love to write about so many things. I felt as though this would be the best platform for my poems and short stories!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Emma JaneWritten by Emma Jane

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.