Chapters logo

Lost Pieces

Chapter one

By Emma JanePublished 11 months ago 4 min read
Photo by Michael Olsen on Upsplash

Running in the dark with excitement, love, and joy! Looking over, there he was, enjoying the night air with me. Out here, there are no worries about whom we are engaged to or what happens when we outlive them. Out here he is staring at me the way he tries his hardest to look at her and here I am just enjoying being able to speak freely.

Just like that, we are at our destination. In front of us, there is Annabelle with a smile playing on her lips. She runs to both of us and kisses him with all her heart. The way I could only dream of.

“Sutton, wake up!”

I am up and back to reality; what kind of dream was that? I feel lost and ripped out of something, as if I were picked up and put into another reality. My chest aches like I was pulled away and thrown back into reality. For a moment, my head feels as though it is readjusting to being awake.

“Did you dream of them again?” Trinity asked, sitting on her bed with her reddish blond curls pushed to the right side of her freckly check. Her green tank top lighting up her hazel eyes. She looked so eager to hear about the next part of my dream.

These very realistic dreams have been going on for three months now. It was getting to the point that certain towns in my dreams felt so real that I could probably draw a map and even sketch the inside of homes I had been in. They didn’t really have a timeline, but all went along with the others as though I was seeing each one for a reason. I was curious though, why this one?

All the other ones seemed as though we had a romantic relationship, not too physical however the love, I felt, lasted days after the dream. The love and sincerity radiated off me. The feeling consumed me and left a smile on my face each time I felt closer to the people in my dreams. This one, though broke my heart in a way I never have felt before.

I slowly sit up and tell her everything from the small moment I can remember. I explain as much detail as possible. I tell her about the tall, perfectly cut bushes we ran through. The smell of the moist air being inhaled and how the cold air felt refreshing as we ran freely. The way my chest felt full from all of the adventure. I could still feel the harsh embrace from the corset.

I told her how my feet felt as though they were being slightly pinched, and I felt as though he was going slower, knowing that I was in a little pain. I explained the way the girl looked as though she could be her twin; how I felt happy to be seeing her and how the man stood there with her and how she kissed him. The mystery man was still holding my hand in his. When Annabell kissed him, he squeezed my hand as if he was saying that I’m not to think a single lonely thought.

When I was done, she stared at me with her eyes wider than before. Lying on the bed; propping her head up slightly and looking at the ceiling as if she were having a Nancy Drew moment and putting all the evidence together in her head. “So, they just kissed with him holding your hand?” she asked, confused.

I nodded slowly while I walked to the closet to pick out my outfit.

“That didn’t feel awkward to you at all”

I stood there for a moment with my lavender long-sleeved blouse. “No, it felt" I had to pause for a minute trying to describe the feeling. "Like we were in it together, like I said he squeezed my hand while he kissed her.”

She follows me into the bathroom as I hop into the shower.

“Did you at least get his name this time?” I was grateful for a friend that was so into this situation instead of questioning my sanity.

“No.” I say taking a deep disappointed sigh but the woman’s name popped into my head “I do somehow know the girl's name is Annabelle.”

“I just want to know why you have had such detailed awesome dreams for the past months.”

“I don’t know, but it’s almost like my mystery dude is with me! I know that sounds stupid but every time I’m about to have one of my episodes; he comes to mind just randomly. The urge is still there, but I’m a lot calmer. Almost like he has some kind of mind control.”

We both are silent while I finish my morning routine. I loved that Trinity was always at my house in the morning. My parents worked odd hours and traveled often. Trinity was always with me making sure I do not eat alone and just really is that close family member I don’t really have.

I do have an aunt that lives a few houses down, but she speaks in riddles. Her nurse lives with her and has been with her since I can remember. My mother said that she went through a lot when she was younger before she was adopted.

No one has ever gone into the details if I ask too many questions, they usually end up staring into the distance almost as if they are reliving it too. It looks extremely painful, so I have stopped asking.

I like to visit her home. She loves fresh sunflowers and dancing to piano music; Aunt Violet even taught me how to play. When I walk into her home, I feel whole, and my mind is calm. I had never had that feeling anywhere else before I started having these dreams. There is just a feel to it like it is a place I belong. Maybe it's because she isn’t much older than me. Even though she speaks as though she is older than my parents.

Part 1Magical RealismFantasy

About the Creator

Emma Jane

Hello,I love to write about so many things. I felt as though this would be the best platform for my poems and short stories!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Emma JaneWritten by Emma Jane

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.