Chapters logo

Lost pieces

Chapter three: new friends

By Emma JanePublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Photo by Zoltan Tasi on Unsplash

“There you are” Trinity smiles and widens her eyes almost to warn me that I seem off again and just like that they have disappeared.

I still feel slight pressure on my shoulder, but I can no longer see the creature enjoying the fire. Behind her there he was! The man of my dreams (Literally) he looked at me with curiosity as he grinned, he held out his hand and I felt myself speak. “Ternian?”

A look of relief plays on his face as he reaches out for my hand, and as he takes a deep breath the fairies are back but this time, I swear I can slightly hear the little one on my shoulder. I jolt and with that movement she falls off. I catch her in my hand and swear I hear the tiniest little “thank you!!” I look at Ternian, watch the little one fly back up to my shoulder then smile and slightly nod at me almost to say yes, I see her too.

I have to look shocked because Trinity does an awkward chuckle “see I told you Sutton is a little different but in the best way possible” Trinity usually loves it when I know things before, they are explained but in this case she seems even more nervous. As if her odd friend who was just seen giggling to herself was embarrassing her.

I can’t really blame her for that. I know that this is a big step for her to bring someone she cares about around. Trinity often told me that I am the only one who loves her just the way she is. She never tried to date and seemed to be happy single. Now as I watch her nervously tuck an auburn curl behind her ear as she moves her eyes back and forth between us. I am starting to worry that she might not like us around each other. I can tell she is worried I will scare him away.

Again, I wouldn’t blame her for these thoughts. I am very unpredictable just on everything. Somedays I am fine and others I can only focus on the hallucinations around me.

We both break our gaze from each other. She grabs his hand and looks at the fire while rambling on about all the joys she has had this school year. We both nod and giggle when needed but I can feel his questions and knew that we have to be feeling the same thing. There were so many things I needed to know. Why are you in all my dreams? How do I know your name? Why is it I feel as though you are speaking to me?

I just have so many questions I feel as though I can explode, and I knew that even though he was a lot calmer there was still curiosity there.

I look at Trinity and know why I must be very careful with how I approach this. Every dream I have ever had has been told in the best detail to this girl. I don’t know how to explain her first crush is also the one in my dreams.

I can’t help but have a surge of relief flood through me. I am not alone, at least he can see my little friends too! I think back to what Trinity said about his friend I wondered what he was like. Maybe there is yet another person like me.

I try to stand there and listen to Trinity talk about her summer wish list. It was getting hard to concentrate though. Ternian looks at my drink and asks if I could use a refill. No words will come out looking at him is even difficult as though I’m looking into the fire. Why is it so hard to speak! All I can do is nod.

“So, this is where the cool people are” says a deep voice behind us. He hands Ternian another beer, that he in then passes to me. We both chuckled at the perfect timing.

He then turns to look at me. There is the same look of curiosity on his face he looks at my shoulder and the fairy giggles.

She quickly flies up to my ear “his name is Kade” she says then flew back down goes to his shoulder. Personally, I would like to know why my friend goes to him so easily.

He reaches out to shake my hand “hello Sutton” his smile shows that he knows no one has said my name.

RomanceFantasy

About the Creator

Emma Jane

Hello,I love to write about so many things. I felt as though this would be the best platform for my poems and short stories!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Emma JaneWritten by Emma Jane

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.