Chapters logo

I Never Thought I Would Be Excited About This Again

The universe never ceases to amaze me.

By sara burdickPublished 3 months ago 5 min read
Like
I Never Thought I Would Be Excited About This Again
Photo by Erda Estremera on Unsplash

Over the summer, I spoke with my sister about how I was considering looking for a remote job. Partly, so I am not wandering in space, and partly for more financial stability.

I am in the process of relocating completely to Colombia and buying land. Which can be expensive, plus the costs of buying a place, and I am solely dependent on the algorithm to make money.

Which works when I have no obligations or responsibilities. Yet, if I buy a place and have animals, I will have commitments and responsibilities.

Last week I arrived in Medellin, where I am staying with a friend. We began talking about work, our activities, and my plans. As she knows, I usually have no plans, but I came in with many plans this time.

She knew I wanted to live here and buy land, and then I said I was considering looking for a remote job for stability since I would be taking on a lot soon.

She said I have a friend who is hiring, and she sent me the info. He told her how he usually hires here in Colombia, and she explained that I lived in Colombia and was looking for a job.

We got in contact, and I had an interview. I am now waiting to see if he offers me the job.

At first, when I thought about it, I was anxious when I thought it would be full-time and I would have a schedule. I thought, now I do whatever I want, go where I want, and have no set schedule.

Then I thought about it, and I am not sure that not having a schedule is a good thing, and some days I wish for a schedule. I am good at self-discipline and can work, but some days, it takes me hours to write a story or two, and I procrastinate, scroll online, and feel aimless.

Then, when I spoke with the guy hiring and the group he works with, I was set; if he offered me the job, I would accept. The thought of having a routine excites me, not only because it would be financial stability but also because I would have a purpose to get up and not feel like I am aimlessly wandering around.

I explained to him that I am actively searching for property and plan to make my home here. Having a routine will help me get closer to my goals because the stress of instability will no longer be in my mind.

Even though I have goals, they will never happen if I do not take action and eliminate the doubt.

As soon as I decided yes, I wanted a full-time job; I then met a woman who had property for sale and will take on Friday to see the property. It’s not as remote as I would like, but having a closer connection to the city will be a good transition, especially with buying furniture and setting up space to accept tourists.

But who knows, I have just started the looking process.

I have already begun speaking to someone about getting a lawyer and applying for a long-term visa, and it was once I decided to accept that I need stability in my life.

All the pieces are beginning to come together.

I did not come here knowing I would have a job interview, and now I am praying that I get it. I thought I would come for a few weeks, float, and look for land.

Instead, what I got was that I was secretly praying for financial stability to allow me to purchase a home without the stress of wondering if I would make enough money to live — knowing that I would put all my energy into something that is a gamble.

Buying land is not to flip it and make money but to create a home where I can live full-time. To create a space where my friends and family can visit me and build a house.

No matter how much we talk about not needing money, survival is required to live a less stressful life. I do not need a lot of money, but enough to eat.

The job will not make me a millionaire, which is not my desire.

So, as much as I have been dreaming about buying land and finding stability in my life, as soon as I said yes and was open to the idea of a job, it is as if everything has aligned to make it possible.

The one big dream I have did need other working parts. One is stability, and I need a stable work environment. Not one that I wake up every day and wonder what am I going to do today.

Writing does pay my bills, and I will not stop doing what I am doing, but I have to be realistic. I can still write a few hours a day, but I will have to get organized, and without the stress of having to earn a full-time living from it, it will be less stressful and more fun.

Anyway, I never thought I would be sitting here wishing to get hired, but here I am, excited to start a new chapter, as I know it will open more doors, and it is one step closer to my ultimate goal of living abroad and creating a home.

After that, who knows?

If I do not get it, then it was not meant to be, but of course, I will be a bit sad, as the company is small and growing. Helping others and being part of a team are the things I miss about my nursing career, and this would be my first nonnurse job.

The universe is fantastic, which, to me, is proof once you begin to see the possibilities, your dream will start to materialize right before your eyes.

It is interesting. I will continue to follow the breadcrumbs as they appear. Saying yes is just as important as saying no.

XOXO

S

Follow me here on YouTube.

AutobiographyTravelMemoir
Like

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.