Chapters logo

Divided City

A Ten-minute Play

By LynnMaree Published 7 days ago 4 min read
Divided City
Photo by Dominik Lange on Unsplash

Characters

ETHAN KIM (Detective) Korean. Handsome, good looking, Athletic, muscular, and fit. 30s. (His wife is black)

LUCAS TUCKER (Detective, DENNIS MORROW’S ex-partner) White. handsome, good looking, and Athletic 30s. (His wife is black)

NATASHA PAYNE (Prosecutor) Black. Good looking. 30s

DENNIS MORROW (conflicted ex-racist cop) White. Good looking, strong, muscular, athletic. 30’s

DIVIDED CITY

(SCENE: New Orleans Federal Bureau of Investigation.)

(AT RISE: ETHAN is sitting down at his desk detective badge hanging from his neck. He’s playing with his pen. LUCAS walks in. Who’s wearing a Black stripe shirt, with black jeans and black and white shoes. Sits across from Ethan.

ETHAN

Lucas. It’s been a while since I heard from you. Are you okay man?

LUCAS

I must talk to you about something.

ETHAN

Okay. Talk then.

(LUCAS fighting anger clinching his fists)

LUCAS

Dennis. Shot my wife. While she was coming from the nursing home visiting our parents with my son LJ

ETHAN

Are you okay? How’s LJ. What happened?

LUCAS

You already know that Dennis is a racist scumbag. He shot my wife. The doctor said she’s in critical condition. I can’t lose her man. I just can’t. My son was in the backseat. (beat). My son is only 9 years old. I’ll give you all the information I’ve got to put him behind bars. I just want the bastard off the streets.

ETHAN

(Pauses)

Okay. I’ll investigate him. Before we move on, are you sure you, okay?

LUCAS

I will be. I just need to see Dennis behind bars.

ETHAN

I do have a question. There’s a case I am looking at and it might be connected to Dennis. It’s attempted murder that happened 4 years ago.

LUCAS

I know who you’re talking about. Mrs. Matthews.

ETHAN

The judge’s wife, right?

LUCAS

That’s right. When it comes to interracial marriages, one of the reasons I decided to become a federal investigator. Dennis was very vocal about it. It almost seems like he was conflicted. Internal affairs found out about everything.

ETHAN

I see. What happened.

LUCAS

Remember the senator. Well former Senator Jameson. His wife (Beat) ex-wife was having affair with Dennis.

(ETHAN’s eyes grows big)

ETHAN

Say what now?

LUCAS

(LUCAS drinks water before continuing)

The chief of police and Dennis were having an affair, so when Internal affairs found out, that’s when the affair came to light. She turned in her badge. As for Dennis he was fired but never investigated.

ETHAN

He must have been pissed off.

LUCAS

Hn. You think? The new Chief of Police who replaced her, is black. A black man well educated is a threat to pretty boy, Dennis. I honestly not shocked though.

ETHAN

(Looks through a lengthy case file on Dennis Morrow)

It seems like he been busy. He was involved in a shooting of two little girls and their father, they were in the pool swimming, while his wife was cooking and taking care of their newborn son, and when a woman name Betty Lenski, said she some suspecting people at the pool. Dennis was the one to respond to the call.

LUCAS

Yeah. She is known to call the police for small things.

ETHAN

You said you was his partner, but you left to become an FBI. Why? Did something happen?

LUCAS

I have (pause) a wife and son; I love very much. I was not about to stay partnering with a racist jackass.

ETHAN

Something got me thinking.

LUCAS

What’s that?

ETHAN

I’m looking at his case file. Something has caught my eye. Has Dennis met your wife before?

LUCAS

Yeah. She had brought me lunch when I forgot to eat. Why?

ETHAN

Could it be that he shot her, not because she was black, but because he probably was jealous of you.

LUCAS

Are you saying he shot my wife, cause of Jealousy!

(LUCAS clinches his fists again trying to suppress his anger)

ETHAN

Hey man. Calm down. I think that is a possibility. We won’t know until we find out.

LUCAS

I know I can’t investigate him and as much as I want to put 6 bullets in his skull, I’ll let you handle this, Han.

ETHAN

Thank you. How about you bring Reece when she gets better and LJ, to the house for thanksgiving? Marie will be cooking. Honestly, how are you holding up?

LUCAS

Okay I will. Honestly, I am barely holding up. I am angry and sad. I have my son LJ. I just miss her man. I just need her get better.

(Clinches his fists crying)

ETHAN

I promise you. You will get justice.

(ETHAN gets a message on his phone about Dennis)

LUCAS

Everything is, okay?

ETHAN

Dennis has been picked up so he’s on the way to the station.

LUCAS

I better leave then. Seeing his face might make me kill him, but I have a wife and son to think about, but do me one favor, go after him with oil and gasoline. Well not literally. You know what I mean. Just get him.

ETHAN

How about you stay it’s a big risk but just stay, I’ll let Natasha know you’re here.

Thank You So Much For Reading. <3.

Please read. The rest of my stuff.

MysteryPlayFictionCliffhanger

About the Creator

LynnMaree

I'm a writer. I write fanfiction, screenplays, and novels. I also watch anime and also listen to K-Pop. I also write for hire. I'm a writer. Currently working on my novella.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    LynnMaree Written by LynnMaree

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.