Chapters logo

Caught

Chapter 10: Almost There

By Michelle HillPublished 4 months ago 5 min read
Like

Chapter 10: Almost there

We made it to the private airfield with no problems. Jade found a route that took a mix of back roads and highways. We did change cars mid way though. We had to. Just to make sure my brother's spies weren't following us.

There was a few close calls but, good thing Jade is a good driver. I wouldn't trust anyone else right now.

Haley. Her mother. She must have been paid off. That's' the only explation. My brother's way of bringing people to his cause. No doubt he must have painted me in a dark light.

But the question is, how did he know? Has he been following me? I haven't been home in thirty years. Just how? Not even my own family knew. I honeslty have no idea how Jade found me. But then again he was always good at finding people. He had a knack for it. When we used to train together he would always find the hidden object or person no matter what.

It's rare that I see Jade sleep. Once we got on the plane he went straight to the back sat down and closed his eyes. I smiled. He really needed the rest. Haley was still silent but I could tell she was hurt. She picked a seat and sat down. Wanting to give her the space she needed I took a seat in the back.

Down side of having a private plane, not many places to hide. We were in for a long flight no doubt about that. The pilot did say we would have to make a stop in Maine. Of course to make sure everything was working smoothly. I nodded to him and his co-pilot. Be a good chance to get something to eat too. We didn't have a chance to grab anything. I knew the plane would be a little bare.

Of course we could have filled it up with some food and drinks before we took off. But we're kind of on the run ya know? I mean Haley's mom is a spy for my brother so food was the last thing on our minds. Jade needs blood, and so do I. Good thing we have an outpost in Maine. We have one every where just in case we had to make a haste getaway.

Right before take off I sent out a text to the outpost, followed by a text to one of our supply houses for trips like these. In a matter of seconds I get the confirmation texts. Getting to Maine wasn't going to take long. I have no doubt everything we need will be there once we landed.

Getting back into a life that I used to have is going to be a little hard. The last thirty years I enjoyed doing things for myself. It felt so liberating. I didn't have to answer to anyone. I didn't have to hold alliance meetings. I didn't have to worry if people were happy. I was able to be me. I was able to be independent for once.

But enough of that. I need to focus on the future. I need to claim the throne. I need to be who I was born to be. Now I bet you've been wondering throughout this story how did I end up being the heir to a vampire kingdom. That my friends is going to be another story once I get everything settled.

The plane ride to Maine was okay, short, but enough to take a quick look at the lakes, mountains, hills, cities, and towns down below. It was just late afternoon when we landed in Maine. Once the jet was at a complete stop I stood up and looked behind me. Jade was still fast asleep, and so was Haley. I smiled, the both have been through a lot. I get it. I didn't want to wake them up.

I exited the plane and talked to the two pilots they said would take a few hours to get everything in order. I nodded and thanked them for their services. I look back at the jet and whispered a protection spell. I wasn't going to stray too far. The people with our supplies was in the hanger. Hopefully with everything I needed.

I passed a few people and they gave me a small bow. Everything we have had been built for over three hundred years. Yet, we're still building. We're hiding in plain sight of course. The only way to be unseen and seen.

I let out a sigh looking around the small airfield, the sun just setting over the horizon. I already know the next stop after this. London. Good old London, I need to go back one day. Spend a few days handling business, then the rest of my time just relaxing.

I make my way to the hanger and smile at the few people there. They bow and I do the same. They explain they were able to get everything I needed for the rest of flight. I nod and take a careful look at the items. I say a small spell under my breath to enhance my eyes. I just have to make sure there was nothing that my brother could have tampered with.

I didn't see anything, but I still wanted to be on my guard. I tell them everything looks great and I thanked them. They bowed again and I do the same. I stay for a moment watching them as they started to pack everything up so they can load it on to the jet.

I walk away and look at the jet. I smile briefly seeing Haley standing at the bottom of the steps. No doubt she wanted some fresh air before the long journey.

As I come close to her she smiles, "I woke up and I didn't see you. Where are we?"

"We stopped in Maine to get some supplies. We left in such a hurry that we didn't really stock up on some food, drinks, and what Jade and I need. I think I remembered what you like, but also I just picked common snacks and meals." I explained to her.

She nodded and wrapped her arms around my waist, "I can't wait to see the world with you." She whispered. I smile and wrapped my arms around her small frame.

"We're almost home."

Fiction
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Hill

I'm 35 and taking each day one at a time. Writing is my passion and I'm also a huge movie buff. Music is another way I escape reality for a while. I live in VA, and I have traveled a bit. I hope to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.