Chapters logo

Caught

Chapter 9: Family Drama

By Michelle HillPublished 5 months ago 5 min read
Like

Chapter 9: Family Drama

I can hear Haley yelling.

Jade and I exchanged looks. I told him what happened last night and he was ready to hunt Jacob down and erase him from the Earth. I told him it wasn't worth the hunt. Jacob was just a waste of time, just a man who never left high school.

Last night Haley and I didn't talk much after Jacob left. She was reliving something she didn't want to. I couldn't blame her. He was a trigger for her. I do remember Haley saying she didn't really get along with one of her sisters. I think the one she's yelling at is the one that told Jacob she was in town.

"So, how mad is she?" Jade asked and we both flinched when we heard some crash inside the house.

Jade looks at me and I gave him a weak smile and a shrug. I couldn't help but think that I should NEVER get on Haley's bad side. I leaned against the car, crossed my arms and waited. I learned to have a lot of patience throughout the years, especially growing up with younger sisters.

Jade leaned against the car as well and put his hands in his pockets. I know he wants to get home to his wife and kids. Oh his kids! I never asked!

"Hey, how's Magnus and Clary? I got caught up and never asked, I apologize." I said sincerely.

He smiled and looked at me, "They're good. Magnus starts training next year, and Clary is finally focusing on her studies. They fight like no tomorrow. The beauty of having a castle though is they both get a wing to themselves." He finished with a shake of his head.

"How soon does Clary start training?"

He raised his eyebrow, "As much as I don't want her too," he started with a small sigh. "She starts a week after Magnus. Just because they're twins doesn't mean they can start at the same time. Magnus finished his studies, so he moves forward. Clary wanted to do the opposite but I wouldn't allow it."

"Is it because you're being an overprotective father since she's your daughter?" I asked and of course he gave a glare. I uncrossed my arms and raised them up slightly. "Hey, I'm just stating the obvious. My father did the same with my sisters. But I guess you could have had her do both. One week training, one week studying?"

Jade grew silent, I turn away from him and look back at Haley's house. I hear more shouting. If I wanted to, I could listen in. But I don't. This is something Haley can handle on her own. The way she slapped Jacob last night I knew she would be able to hold her own when it came to it. Maybe I should train her? It wouldn't hurt. She does like to workout. Sometimes a different routine can help.

For someone so short she does have a spark about her. I couldn't help but smile.

"We need to get going." Jade said turning around facing the house. I nodded looking at my watch. The family plane will leave once we get there, but I know Jade wants to get back home. We couldn't wait any longer.

"Haley, we need to go." I say softly knowing it will reach her. Our connection is growing stronger every day.

Just then the door burst open and I see Haley rushing out struggling to carry her suitcases and back pack. I rush up to her to help her. She and her sister are still yelling at each other. Not too soon after her parents came out trying to reason with them.

Haley then looked at me, "Tell them where you're taking me!"

I look at her then up at her parents. I don't know what to say. I have to tell the truth. I can't lie, especially since they are going to be my in-laws. I pick up her suitcase and stand straight up. I clear my throat and with confidence tell them, "She's coming with me. On her own free will." I made sure to at that little part.

At this point it seemed that her enitre family was on the front porch. Mind you this is also the first time they are seeing me and Jade. They all grew silent and I keep my gaze at them. I don't what happened, but something was off. I lean down to Haley, "We have to go. It's not safe." I tell her softly and she nods. "Go to Jade get in the car." I give her the suitcase.

"Jade it's the mother. She's the spy." I say in my mind. Jade already knew what to do. He would go the opposite direction to throw her off. But it also doesn't mean that along the way there will be my brother's men somewhere.

Good thing we had a back up plan.

"Will we see her again?" Her father asked. His growing grey hair and his hazel eyes were filled with worry.

"I will not keep her from you. If she wishes to see you again I will make it happen. But you need to let her go, for now. She will be well taken care of I promise." I slowly bow, I don't know why. Think I've watched the BBC adaptation of Pride and Predjudice too much. I stand back up and turn to the car.

I get into the back seat and Jade takes off before I could even close the door. "Jade." I said softly and he just nodded. I look at Haley and I could see her tear stained face.

Again, I don't know if she wanted me to touch her. So I just put my hand in between us and wait for her to make the first move. It didn't take long. She didn't take my hand. She moved closer to me and she put my arm around her. I just held her close. I kissed the top of her head and just held her.

It wasn't long until she fell asleep in my arms.

"Your Highness, you know what you need to do." Jade tells me. I can't look at him. I know what he means. But I have to have Haley take the test when we get to Madrid. The test to make sure Haley wasn't under the influence of my brother.

I had to do it once. I never thought I would have to do it again.

Fiction
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Hill

I'm 35 and taking each day one at a time. Writing is my passion and I'm also a huge movie buff. Music is another way I escape reality for a while. I live in VA, and I have traveled a bit. I hope to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.