Chapters logo

Caught

Chapter 8: Won't Be A Bother

By Michelle HillPublished 5 months ago 5 min read
Like

Chapter 8: Won't Be A Bother

"Follow my lead," I whisper to her. I stand up and straighten out my shirt. I turn to look at the guy that is practically obsessed with Haley. He's definitely not much to look at. You could tell he was a jock. He still looks like a douche. Short blond hair, brown eyes. Still wearing his letterman's jacket. You could tell it's seen better days. He was either a star quarterback, or he was a basketball point guard. Either way, he was typically still living in his "Glory Days' ' kind of guy.

"Haley! I thought that was you! Your sister said you were in town." He says as he tries to get past me. I stop him.

"You know it's a little rude to interrupt a date." I say in a calm voice. He tries to step by me again, but I stop him.

"I'm sorry and who are you?" I ask and he finally looks at me with a frustrated look.

"I'm Jacob and I'm a good friend of Haley's." He says in a frustrated tone.

"Oh really, she's never mentioned you. Not once. All of her good friends were at her going away party but you weren't. So I don't think you're that good of a friend to her." I took a step closer to him and he stumbled back. I hear rustling behind me and I felt Haley's hand on my lower back. But she didn't come out from behind me.

"How do you know her anyway?" I ask. Haley told me he was obsessed with her but never told me how they met. I can also see the hurt in his eyes when I told him that he wasn't at the going away party.

"Wait, what do you mean going away party? Haley, can you just talk to me? Please?" He tried to ask looking behind me. But Haley stayed, she didn't move. I move my hand behind my back so she could take it.

"She didn't tell you I guess, Haley and I are getting married. A lot has changed since you last saw her." I felt her hand tighten in mine.

"Here's the deal. She doesn't want to talk to you. You might as well turn around and not even think about her again. I assume by your jacket you two met in high school. She wants nothing to do with you. After tonight you will never see her again. I can promise you that." I tried not to smirk. He was getting angry. I had to move Haley, because he was about to punch me.

In a split second I move Haley back on the blankets and I block Jacob's punch. The look of surprise on his face almost makes me want to laugh. He tries to hit me again and I block his arm.

I stand straight up and look at him, "Jacob, you can leave peacefully and let me and my Fiance finish our date night. Be the bigger man and leave please. Don't make this harder than it already is." I try to explain to him.

He looks at me and then looks at Haley. "Haley, please?" I turn to look at Haley and give her a nod. I watch as she stands up and walks over to him. I can see him smiling, but I know Haley doesn't want him around.

"You need to leave Jacob. You made my life a living hell. I don't ever want to see you again." I hear her say to him. She's reaching behind her for me and I take a step forward and our hands touched. She needed me at that moment. I didn't like the way he was looking at her.

"But the time we spent at Rose's party. That was magical!" He said, trying to smile. She let go of my hand and slapped him across the face. I'm not gonna lie, I was surprised by that. I knew she was my soulmate for a reason.

"Magical?! You took advantage of me! You thought you could have your way with me! That night was a nightmare! I still live that night over and over again because of you! I moved to get away from you! You destroyed me that night! I was fifteen!" Haley's voice started to break. She started to fall back and she fell into me.

I looked at Jacob with such anger, "I think you should go before I bury you in the ground." I tell him through my gritted teeth.

He started to say her name, "Don't you even think her name ever again!" I move Haley behind me and take a step towards him. I push him and he almost falls back.

"You just wanted the piece of her that she wouldn't be able to get back. You wanted that trophy, that's all you wanted!" I look back at Haley.

"He didn't, right?" I whisper to her and she shook her head.

"He came close, but Rose came into the room just in time." She told me. I turn my attention back to Jacob.

"You need to leave. I suggest you leave and never bother her again. If you even THINK her name, I will be there right behind you! I will be watching you. Stay away from her!" I take a step closer to him as he stumbles back.

"LEAVE!" I yell and he turns and starts to run. I wait until he's out of sight.

I turn my attention to Haley, she's on the blanket, her knees are pulled up to her chest and sit next to her. I don't touch unless she wants me to. What she did was so brave, and amazing. I don't want to speak. I just let her be. I sit and wait for her to be ready.

It took a few minutes and she leaned into me. I put my arm around her and pulled her close. We don't talk. How do you talk about something like that? I just want her to feel safe with me. Like she tells me all the time that she feels safe with me.

I look up at the stars and they seem a little dimmer. I just know that Jacob won't be a bother anymore.

RomanceFiction
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Hill

I'm 35 and taking each day one at a time. Writing is my passion and I'm also a huge movie buff. Music is another way I escape reality for a while. I live in VA, and I have traveled a bit. I hope to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.