Chapters logo

Caught

Chapter 7: Her Last Night

By Michelle HillPublished 6 months ago 6 min read
Like

Chapter 7: Her Last Night

Blanket, check. Candles carefully spread out and hopefully don't cause a fire, check. Pillows, check. Her favorite drinks and snacks, check.

I let out a long breath. Okay, this is kind of perfect. Well, I hope she thinks this is perfect. I hope she likes it. Why am I nervous about this? Of all the women I have been with, why does she make me feel like this?

In Jade's words she's my soulmate and this is how he felt and still feels. He told me this feeling never goes away. I would ask my parents, but they were already married. After I was turned, I turned my family. I didn't want to be alone and I wanted us all to learn together. My dad slowly became the king. One day I will tell you how.

But one day we were in his study and he was telling me about how we find our soul mates. He smiled and told me it was almost like how he found my mom. He tried to pick her up at bar and she slapped him. But he felt his heart skip a beat, he couldn't breathe, and he saw his future with her.

That's how I feel about Haley. It's still early though. I don't want to scare her off. I mean, she's already moving to Madrid with me. But of course she's going to have her own room until she's ready to share one with me.

I look at the sky and twilight hour was almost over. The orange of the sunset was slowly disappearing. Some stars started to peak out a little bit. The moon was already on the rise. I hear howling in the distance, "Of course, hopefully they'll stay there."

If you must know we do have an alliance with the werewolves. It's not all what you see, the whole vampire versus werewolves is a total lie. Whatever you see on TV it's not real. Hollywood just wanted to put drama into things, that's all.

"Oh wow! You really went all out!" Haley said as she came walking up to me.

I smiled, "You said you wanted a night to remember for your last night. Least I could do since I'm taking you across the world. Come on, the stars are about to come out." I nod towards the blanket and the pillow. I hold out my hand for her to take to help her lay down.

We both get settled and looked up at the stars. We stayed silent. But it was comfortable, like we just needed to be near each other. I wanted to look at her but I kept my gaze on the stars. There were so many. The last time I saw stars like this was right before I lived in New York.

"You okay?" I hear her ask and I heard movement. I nod and put my hand behind my head.

"Yeah, I think the question is are you okay? I know I threw a lot at you a while ago. We never really talked about the connection we have." I said, still looking at the stars. I wanted to avoid looking into her eyes, because once I do I will get lost in them.

I hear her sigh, "Out of all the guys that I have dated, I don't know, I can't explain what I feel for you. On one hand I just know you as the guy that delivered my mail at work. Or the guy that just lived above me and would sit on the fire escape hours on end."

I turned to her with a small look of shock and she nodded, "I watched you a time or two after I went to bed. My bed was right by the window. There were nights I would just watch you." She started to sit up and I was still in shock about what she said.

"Then, we started hanging out, and I kept thinking about how I knew you somehow. The visions, the dreams, but I didn't want to believe it until you told me about everything." She reached out and took my hand.

I started to sit up lacing my fingers with hers, "He's such a good listener. I would say to myself after spending time with you on the roof back home. It's the one thing I always looked for in someone. Someone would just listen to me. I tend to ramble and no one ever lets me finish."

I don't say anything, I just wait for her to continue because I know she has a lot to say. Even when she was working, she was always talking to herself. It was just her thing. Sometimes we just need someone to listen to us. That's all we need.

I watched as she smiled and this time she really looked at me, "I'm not sure where we stand but I do want to take it slow. I don't know how far your tradition goes but I would like to hear it."

I smile and brush a strand of hair out of her face, "We have all the time in the world for you to learn about my tradition. It's one of those things you learn as you go. But tonight I just wanted you to have a good night. We leave tomorrow and your whole world is going to change."

I clear my throat, "I'm not gonna lie it's going to be hard, but I promise you I will be by your side the entire time. If there's a time you want to come back and see your family, just say it. Whatever you want you can have. I will make it happen. All I want is for you to be happy, with me or without me. I want you to make your own choices. I won't control anything you do. You will have your freedom."

She looked at me and a breath caught in my throat and I just couldn't think. I don't know who started moving first but we both started getting closer to each other. I can hear heart racing and she was trying to control her breathing.

Our lips barely touched when we heard someone calling Haley's name. I started to pull back but she placed her hand behind my head and pulled me in. Our lips met for the first time and I felt as if I had a heartbeat for the first time in 300 years. I pulled her closer, I didn't want to let her go.

My mind was spinning. I can hear hers too. Both of us are thinking the same thing. This felt so right as if we were each other's missing piece. I wanted more, but I had to stop. I gently pull away from her.

"Holy shit." We both whisper.

I hear footsteps get closer, still calling her name. Whoever this was did not have any respect for a privacy.

"Please not now" I hear her whisper under her breath. I look behind her and see a guy coming up towards us.

"Is this the guy you told me about?" I asked and she nodded.

"Follow my lead." I whisper.

CliffhangerFiction
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Hill

I'm 35 and taking each day one at a time. Writing is my passion and I'm also a huge movie buff. Music is another way I escape reality for a while. I live in VA, and I have traveled a bit. I hope to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.