Chapters logo

Caught

Chapter 6: Haley's Farewell Tour

By Michelle HillPublished 7 months ago 5 min read
Like

Chapter 6: Haley's Farewell Tour

"Tell me again why we're here?" Jade asked me as he took a sip of his drink. I smile as I turn to look at him.

"Haley mentioned the guy that's obsessed with her might show up. We're the body guards." I remind him.

We've been in Haley's hometown for about a week now. She told me she wanted to make the most of it. I told her that I understood. Of course she would want to spend time with her family and friends before I take her away forever. Jade mentioned I was the only one in our history that didn't take her away in the night. Well, okay I kind of did, but I'm not taking her to Madrid until she's ready.

We rented a house not too far from her childhood home. Told her if her family gets to be too much she would have a place to escape for a while.

I turn my attention back to Haley and watched as she danced with her friends. Good thing she didn't know that the club we are in, I actually own. Okay, well my family owns. All I had to do was say, "Fairchild" and we were in. VIP treatment and all.

After I told her the truth about everything she said she needed time to think. I told her to take all the time she needed. While she did that I told Jade to go and pick up some food for her and something for us. I let her be. I stayed by the pool. Yes, we can be in the sunlight, but not for too long. Once we feel the burning it was time for us to get out. Also we don't sparkle! So don't think that!

Back to this. Anyway, after a few hours she said she would come with us. I told her that she has to see her family and friends first. Then, when she was ready we would go to Madrid. She nodded and said that she needed to get new clothes.

One shopping spree later, we dropped her off at her parents house. A week later, we're here. In the club, making sure she's safe. I told Jade I was going to take a lap around, but he stopped me and told me it was his job. I nod and watched as he left our booth. I take a look around and I can't help but see faces I've seen before. Some have already come up to me and bowed.

No doubt the rumors are starting that I'm on my way home. It would only be a matter of time before the whole underground kingdom knew. I take a sip of my drink and looking around for anything. Every now and then Haley and I make eye contact. There were times her friends would follow her gaze then look back at her. They would say something and then laugh.

I don't know if it was a good thing or a bad thing. I just have to keep telling myself this is for her. I don't care how long it takes. I'm not taking her until she's ready. I mean, even if she wanted to see her family every now and then I would let her. I can't keep her away from her family. I'll even let her keep in touch with them. It's the least I can do since I'm taking her to another country.

I was brought out of my thoughts when I heard Haley's voice and saw all her friends coming into the booth and sat down on the seats.

"Where's Jade?" Haley asked.

"He's taking a look around. Just wants to make sure everything is okay." I tell her loudly over the music. They started to talk amongst themselves. Out of the corner of my eye I saw Jade. I look his way and he gave me a nod. I nod back at him and he disappears. It was almost time for us to go. I can't leave Haley here by herself. Alright, I'm a little over protective of her.

I felt a pressure on my leg and I look down and see Haley's hand. I'm a little confused. When I told her about the visions and what they meant she was silent. Of course I wasn't going to pressure into anything. Everything would be her choice and I told her that. One thing I know for sure is that she wants to go to Madrid. She said she wanted to see the world and not waste her life away.

I don't know when it happened but her hand found mine and she intertwined her fingers with mine. She then started to lean her head on my shoulder. What did she tell her friends? This is the most she has been with me since we became friends a few weeks ago. She would keep me posted about where she was. I never asked to, she just did.

"I'm ready to go home." She whispers to me.

"I'll give you time to say bye." I say and stood up. I lean down and kiss her forehead. I hear her friends say "Awww" and I saw her blush as I stood up.

"Jade" I say silently and within moments he was at my side.

"She's ready to leave. She's also had a lot to drink. Two guys taking home a drunk girl doesn't look good, but I'm sure her friends would vouch for us. I'll stay here until she's done." I tell him over the music. He nods and leaves the club to get the car.

It didn't take long until I felt Haley next to me. She stumbles a little and I catch her. I don't know how much she had to drink, but I told her to have fun. I look at the bartender and give him a nod. He smiles and gives me a bow. "It's good to have you back." I hear in my mind.

We get outside and I saw Jade waiting for us. He helps me with Haley and once she was in the car safe, we headed to her parents house.

"How long do you think her farewell tour is going to be?" Jade ask as he merges onto the highway. I sigh and shrug, "I don't know. As long as it takes. One thing she does want to do is to see the stars in the field across from the house." I smiled, I just had a great idea.

Tomorrow night I'm going to make sure she sees the stars.

CliffhangerRomanceFiction
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Hill

I'm 35 and taking each day one at a time. Writing is my passion and I'm also a huge movie buff. Music is another way I escape reality for a while. I live in VA, and I have traveled a bit. I hope to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.