Chapters logo

Caught

Chapter 5: Truth Comes Out

By Michelle HillPublished 9 months ago 6 min read
Like

Chapter 5: Truth Comes Out

"How strong was that sleeping spell?" I ask looking at Jade.

He shrugged taking a sip of his coffee, "I just wanted to make sure she was out for a while. Or a least during this trip. I don't understand why we have to travel like them. We could have been in Michigan within three hours, not almost a full day."

We decided to take a break for a few hours. Jade found a hotel and we got off the highway. He caught me up with news of my family. My two sisters got married, my mother is ruling in my name. So far things have been running smoothly and peacefully. My only concern is my brother. I know once I officially take the crown war will break loose. He's waiting for my move.

Little did he know, he made the first move. That my friends was a bad idea.

"So what are you going to tell her?" Jade asked sitting at the small coffee table. I stood up from the opposite bed and walked over to table and sat down. I shook my head. What AM I going to tell her? The truth? I could always say her ex had men on her and I had to keep her safe. As far as our jobs go Jade already had our letters of regsination sent right before he came to see me. It was like he knew. I don't want to judge my closest friend now.

Everything is just such a mess ya know? On one had I could live this life on the run from my brother and forget about my kind. You know live my life with Haley. On the other hand I take Haley with me after she says goodbye to her family. I show her my world and I bring war with my brother. Either way I just want to be with Haley. I was just about to speak when I hear a small groan come from Haley.

"She's waking up Your Highness. It's now or never." Jade said with a small smirk. I look at him with a glare and I clenche my jaw. I still have no idea how I am going to explain all of this. I watch as she slowly starts to get up. Of course she's looking confused, trying to figure our where she is. She rubs her eyes and finally looks my way.

"Michael? Where am I? Who's that guy?!" She asks pulling the covers closer to her as she sat up in the bed.

"Jade, can you give us a few minutes?" I asked looking at him. He looks at my and then back at Haley. 'Good Luck' I hear in my head. I nodded and watch as he gets up and leaves the hotel room. Once he leaves I look at Haley.

"I hope you're in for a long story." I say as I stood up and walked over to the other bed and sat down.

"What I'm about to tell you may not seem real. But I need you to trust me." I start to tell her.

"Wow, I think that's the most you ever said to me." She said trying to lighten the mood. I give her a little smile for a brief moment. She tries to say something but I stop her.

"Haley, I need you to just listen this time. If you have any questions just please wait until I'm finished. Can you do that for me?" I ask looking at her. She nods, and I cleared my throat.

"Let's start with my name. It's not Michael, it's Alexander Arthur Fairchild the fifth." I started with the easiest thing first. I go on to tell her about my family and our history. Figured starting with that would help ease the blow that I'm a 300 year old vampire king. Well, okay heir to a vampire kingdom.

After beating around the bush, I finally tell her. I told her my family history. When I was born, when I turned, how I became the heir to a kingdom. How yes, we are real and not something you see in fiction. But we keep to the shadows and not ALL of us kill to feed. Yes, we can eat food every now and then. No, we don't hate garlic. Yes, we still have Faith in which ever religion we choose. Yes, we can drink other things that are not blood. Yes, there more ways to kill us other than a stake through the heart.

I finally finish my long story and look at her, "Do you have any questions?"

"Um, I think I need a minute to process this. But why did you take me away from my home?" She asked.

I nodded, "Let me ask you a counter question, and a confession. Okay well confession first. I bumped into you four years ago on the sidewalk. You were looking down at your phone-"

"Oh my God! You're the guy in the hoodie?! All this time it was you?!" She asked her eyes went wide but with a small glimmer at hope.

I nod, "Yeah it was me. So here's my question, when we bumped into each other, did you see any visions? Or have you had any visions since we met?"

I watch her closely. I can see the wheels turning in her head trying to remember. Four years is a long time to think back. Just as I'm taking my eyes away from her she starts to speak.

"I remember being in a gown and a crown was on my head. Then, I remember seeing a little girl and I was holding a baby I think. I think there was one-" She stopped and looked at me. She really looked at me. Her sea green eyes looking into my crystal blue ones.

"OH! You were in all of them. That's why I felt so safe with you! I've been having dreams about you. Every night. You were there." She finished in almost a whisper.

I give her a moment to process everything I told her. I hear the door open and Jade walks in. "We have to get going soon. We stayed her long enough. Plus I'm sure your Queen needs some new clothes and so do you Your Highness."

I turn to look at Jade with a glare that could kill him where he stood. He looked at me with a confused look. It took him a moment and he realized that I didn't break it to her. Jade still has bad timing when it comes to breaking the news.

I let out a sigh and shake my head. I turn back to Haley and she looked at me with of course, a confused look.

"Queen? I don't understand. What?" She asked looking at me.

"You ready for another story?" I ask.

CliffhangerFiction
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Hill

I'm 35 and taking each day one at a time. Writing is my passion and I'm also a huge movie buff. Music is another way I escape reality for a while. I live in VA, and I have traveled a bit. I hope to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.