Chapters logo

Caught

Chapter 4: No Choice

By Michelle HillPublished 9 months ago 5 min read
Like

Chapter 4: No Choice

I turn to Jade and he just nods. He knows what to do. In a moment he is gone. I wait. I was careful. I changed my name. I always covered my tracks. How did they find me? I couldn't worry about that now. Jade went to Haley's apartment just in case.

The footsteps stopped right in front of my door. I have five seconds to decide what I wanted to do. It would take me three to escape. Two to tell Jade my plan. I close my eyes and sighed. I knew what I had to do.

All this stuff in this apartment is replaceable. Everything I need is back home. I will miss this simple life. It was nice being away from my family for thirty years, but now this was time to go back. I close my eyes and let out a deep breath.

I took one last sip of my water and put the glass on the counter. I take one last look at my tiny apartment. I paid in full for five years. That's how long I thought it was going to take for me and Haley to get together. But my brother's men had a different plan.

I couldn't let them take her. Everything I ever wanted or gotten he wanted too. But he wanted the best of the best of what I had. But Haley. No. He won't have the chance to take her. For years we've been at war. He wanted the throne. But our father picked me. I was stronger, smarter, and had more compassion for our people. My brother just wanted power, and he would run our world into the ground.

He's still leading his rebellion. 100 years of this and he still hasn't given up.

Okay, enough backstory, let's get to why his men are here. They must have figured it out. There has to be a spy in my court and once I find out who they are will be sorry. Once I move, I have mere seconds to get Haley and Jade to safety. Or well, okay Jade has mere seconds to get Haley and I to safety.

I take a breath and let it out slowly. I clench my fist and close my eyes to clear my mind. I feel the engery and I move. In moment I see Jade and nod, I grab Haley from her bed. Right before her door is destroyed we leave her apartment.

We make it just right outside of the city where of course a car is waiting.

"Looks like you are going to follow tradition after all, Your Highness." Jade said in his monotone voice. I look at Haley sleeping peacefully. I couldn't do this. I couldn't take her away from her life. I just couldn't. I know I don't have a choice, but I had to find a different answer to this.

"Jade, I can't. I can't take her away from her life." I tell him softly. I look up from Haley and see Jade stop in his tracks. He turned to me and shook his head.

"They found you Alexander. If they found you once they will find you again. You need to come back to Madrid. You both will be safe there. You know this!" Jade told me taking a step closer.

"No, she needs to say goodbye at least. Michigan. We need to get her to Michigan to see her family." I tell him with a pleading look. I just can't take her away from her family.

"Okay, look just get her in the car, we'll get a hotel somewhere and we'll figure out a plan. I'll make sure she stays asleep until we get to a safe space." I watch as Jade whispers the sleeping spell on Haley.

Once he was done he goes to open the car door and I follow him. I gently place Haley in the back of the car. After I get her in the car I take more look at her. How am I going to explain to her that we do exist. That we're not just some fictional beings in books, TVS, and movies.

"We have to move." Jade said as I get out of the car and close the door. I look at him and nodded. We had to get somewhere safe. He goes to the driver's side and I get into the passenger seat. Once we get settled he starts the car and we drive off into the night.

We drove in silence for almost an hour and I couldn't stand it any longer. I had to break. I cleared my throat, "Micheal." I said softly.

"What?" Jade asked.

"Haley thinks my name is Michael." I tell him.

"Why would you give her your brother's name?"

I turn my head to him, "Again, I don't know how to talk to her. I just blurted it out. I mean how do I tell her I'm the next King to a kingdom of people that hide in the shadows? How did Isabel take it when you told her you were a Prince and you were next in line for your clan?"

Jade shrugged, "Well, at first she didn't believe it, but once she saw how we lived she kind of figured out we were royalty. So it took her some getting used to. The great thing is that it didn't get to her head. She's still the sweet, humble, loving person. It's been sixty years and she still makes my so called heart race."

I can see a small smile appear on his lips. I took a look at the small ring on his left ring finger. I turn to look back at Haley sound asleep. The least I could do was give her the proper goodbye to her family.

"Look, Jade, I know I don't have a choice, but please just let Haley say goodbye to her family. I can't let her not have closure with them." I turn back into my seat and looked at him.

"I guess you're right. After all I am head of all the armies now. Plus I figured we were going to be on the road for a while. Pretty sure I didn't have a choice either. I knew you weren't gonna come back. But I do need to report back to your Mother at some point." He explained.

I nodded. This was going to be a long trip. My brother gave me no choice now. This time I will be sure to put and end to this war once and for all.

Fiction
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Hill

I'm 35 and taking each day one at a time. Writing is my passion and I'm also a huge movie buff. Music is another way I escape reality for a while. I live in VA, and I have traveled a bit. I hope to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.