Chapters logo

Blackbird Fly Part Ten

I Spy for the FBI

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 5 min read
6
Image created by RHC using NightCafe Studio, Photoshop, Microsoft Word

If you haven't read the previous parts to this ongoing story, here are the following links:

Part One: https://vocal.media/chapters/blackbird-fly-xrl46g04bk

Part Two: https://vocal.media/chapters/blackbird-fly-part-two-little-angel

Part Three: https://vocal.media/chapters/blackbird-fly-part-three

Part Four: https://vocal.media/chapters/blackbird-fly-part-four

Part Five: https://vocal.media/fiction/blackbird-fly-part-five

Part Six: https://vocal.media/chapters/blackbird-fly-part-six

Part Seven: https://vocal.media/chapters/blackbird-fly-part-seven

Part Eight: https://vocal.media/chapters/blackbird-fly-chapter-eight

Part Eight: https://vocal.media/chapters/blackbird-fly-part-nine

The Man in the Black Suit

Sheryl's heart sank as she stood face-to-face with the man in the black suit. She knew this was the end of the road for her.

He was so close she could feel his breath on her face.

“What do you want?” She said in a strong voice while she trembled on the inside.

“I’ve heard you're a collector of classical music.”

Sheryl nodded, "Yes, there's nothing like the soothing sounds of a requiem to set the mood for a cheerful evening. What do you want?"

“I am here to take you into protective custody. You'll be staying in a safe house with your son Jack, your husband, and your daughter.

The Safe House

“Ray, Emily, Jack,” Sheryl shouted through the safe house, “Come on down to the living room. We need to have a family conversation.”

They each came down to join Sheryl. Jack was wearing a formal suit found with the other clothes provided by the bureau.

Before Sheryl could say anything Emily laid into the situation, “We wouldn't be here if Jack weren't dating that little Mexican.”

Sheryl intervened abruptly, “None of that Emily. We're a family and we're in this together.”

“Yes, but when do I get to go back to my fiance? When do I get back to my job? My $50,000 a year job?”

“Duly noted Emily. Your concerns are legitimate. But right now we are in danger.”

“Thank you for the danger, Jack. It's just what I wanted for dessert.” Emily pointed.

“Put it away Emily,” Sheryl commanded.

“We need to set some ground rules if we're to survive this,” Sheryl said. “As you've noticed there is no telephone in this house. We are not to make any phone calls from any payphone or any phone anywhere. We cannot call any friends, work, school, or relatives. Nothing.”

Jack and Ray remained quiet as they listened. Emily grimaced.

Sheryl continued, “If any of us leaves the house we are to dress incognito, meaning put on a hat, glasses, and baggy clothes. People are not to recognize us. We are not to go outside a one-mile radius of this house. We're not to drive any automobiles. Everything we need is within walking distance from this house: grocery store, convenience store, arcade, bowling alley, pizza shop, and several restaurants. Do not bring any visitors to this house. Last, but most important Jack is not to leave this house ever.”

“What?” Jack said.

“That's right Jack. The target is square on your back. You are not leaving this house.”

“Okay,” Jack said, ”But…”

“There are no buts, Jack," Sheryl cut in, “Any breach in these house rules can result in a kidnapping, or one of us being harmed, or God-forbid killed.”

Sheryl and Jack

Sheryl and Jack were on the sofa in front of the television. Shirley was sitting at the end of the sofa while Jack was lying down with his head lying in Sheryl's lap.

“You're awfully quiet Jack.”

“Yeah,” he answered faintly. “I'm thinking of my life. How it's going. Then I think about how things could have been had my biological mother kept me.”

Sheryl pats Jack's hand.

“Did you know her mom? My biological mother. Did you know her?”

“I didn't, Jack.”

“I always wondered what she looked like. Was she as beautiful as Dorothy Dandridge? I've always wondered what kind of mom she would have been. But then I think about you Mom. I love you with all my heart. You've always made me feel that I'm special, that I can do anything, and that I can move mountains. You are such a great mom. But there's this burning inside of me. I just can't get over it. Sometimes my stomach turns and twists. I want it so much. I want to know my biological mother. It may sound strange but I feel a bond with her, yet I've never known her.”

She Walked in From the Clouds

Now Jack is sitting up as he continues speaking with Sheryl.

“I saw Angelita in the park the other day.”

“What?” Sheryl was shocked by this revelation.

“I mean she walked in from the clouds. It was a vision, a warning, and a comforting of sorts. She was so beautiful. I couldn't believe my eyes.”

“Did she say anything to you?”

“She wanted to let me know that she was okay and that she was in a good place. She told me not to trust anyone. Then she disappeared back up into the clouds. This encounter left me with the uncertainty of her well-being. Seeing her like that intensified my longing for her in a way I had never experienced before. I really miss her."

Special Agent Tandy

Sheriff Sampson, seated at his desk reviewing documents from a recently closed case, was interrupted by his secretary's buzz:

"Sheriff Sampson, a young gentleman flashing an FBI badge, is here to see you."

"Send him in, Judey. Thank you."

A well-groomed young man wearing a black suit and no older than thirty entered the office.

"Good afternoon, Sheriff Sampson. I am Special Agent Tandy, FBI Orange."

"Welcome, Agent Tandy. Please have a seat."

"I've been assigned to the Xochitl Jimenez case. My records show your office recently reopened the investigation into her disappearance."

"Yes, we've been looking into it but have run into nothing but dead ends. We're in the process of closing the case."

"Well, Sheriff Sampson, we have indeed opened the case. We have reason to believe this is much bigger than anyone thought, with government officials involved. I just wanted to take the time to introduce myself today. I'll be seeing a lot more of you, Sheriff. Good day, W.S.”

🐦‍⬛🐦‍⬛🐦‍⬛🐦‍⬛🐦‍⬛

[ Stay tuned for Part Eleven ]

<<< A little bit of fun: In this story I mention the first name of a popular Vocal Media creator. Do you know who it is? >>>

🐦‍⬛🐦‍⬛🐦‍⬛🐦‍⬛🐦‍⬛

With Love, RHC ❤️

🐦‍⬛🐦‍⬛🐦‍⬛🐦‍⬛🐦‍⬛

A little FYI... By popular demand I am going to bring the Rate-O-Rama game back in February 2023!!! 🎶🎶🎶

❤️❤️❤️

Young AdultSubplotPlot TwistMysteryFictionCliffhangerAdventure
6

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll3 months ago

    Jack was adopted! The mystery on being in the safe house continues. Wow, 10 Chapter . Congratulations Rick on this achievement 🥳🥳😎

  • Hahahahaha Judey obviously! Jack has a sudden yearning for his biological mom. Poor guy. Waiting for the next part!

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 months ago

    BRAVO Cousin! What a riveting story you've created! I'm glad that Jack and his family are protected. I loved the sentimental narrative that you incorporated into the story this time. I can't wait 2 see where the story goes next! You've done some superb writing thus far. It has been a blessing to see this beautiful story unfold! Well done! Judey K is the popular Creator mentioned! :)

  • Yay!!!!! (concerning Rate-O-Rama) Just a slight clue to the sheriff that the FBI knows something he doesn't--about him.

  • Judey Kalchik 3 months ago

    LOL- proud to assist you, Sir.

  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Lots of catching up to do. Always amazing to read your stories. I hope to start from the beginning and fill in the gaps. Amazing work.

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Judey was mentioned. Loved this chapter!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.