Chapters logo

A Wisdom Tooth, a Bowl of Soup, and the Stanley Cup Playoffs

The tale of my wisdom tooth surgery

By Clyde E. DawkinsPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
A Wisdom Tooth, a Bowl of Soup, and the Stanley Cup Playoffs
Photo by Colourblind Kevin on Unsplash

I will never forget that weekend in 2012. I wish I could forget the pain I was feeling in the back of my jaw. It was one of my teeth. I didn't know what the cause was. I thought it was something I had eaten; at that time, I was a bit crazy about M&Ms, usually the peanut ones. Finally, my mom told me what the issue was: my wisdom tooth.

I was not familiar with the concept of wisdom teeth. All I was concerned about was that mine was killing me. I was in pain! I did learn that when a wisdom tooth is in that much pain, it has to go. The surgery was set for May 6--a Sunday. I had never had a surgical prodecure of any kind. Granted, this wasn't involving major organs, it was dental surgery, but still, it's surgery. I wasn't nervous in the weekend entering the procedure, but I do recall other things I was feeling.

May 4-5, 2012

That Friday night was interesting. Watched SmackDown that evening, and then after more TV viewing, I went to bed. That's all I would do, however. I was in bed, but sleep? Yeah, that wasn't an option. The pain was at a bad height; it kept me up the whole night. Attempts to sleep went for naught, so I had to make the most of it by watching some of the American Pie movies. If I recall, American Reunion was hitting theaters, and I was on a binge quest that lasted a few days. So yeah, I was up the entire night heading into Saturday morning, which is when I watched the previous night's episode of Grimm. I vividly remember that one; it was the one that was based on Cinderella, only in the episode, the Cinderella character was the evil one. But that's another story for another time.

So...on literally no sleep, and having had a bowl of cereal, I hopped in the shower, got dressed, and took my usual Saturday walk to the movie theater. The film I went to see that day: The Avengers. Yep. The biggest Marvel movie (at that point) was at the big screen, and my biggest fear was I was going to sleep through a good chunk of it. Thankfully, the sight of Scarlett Johansson as Black Widow kept my eyes wide open. After the film ended, I went to McDonald's for lunch, and after eating, I finally got some sleep, just a brief nap of about two hours.

May 6, 2012 (Surgery Day)

The day had arrived; again, I wasn't nervous. My mom, who drove me to the dentist, was a little bit. I didn't know what to expect, but once I sat at the chair, I received so many novocaine shots. That stuff really does work, I mean really! Didn't feel a thing! The procedure was quick, they actually took out the tooth in halves. For some reason, I thought I'd be knocked out for the whole thing, I don't know why. I knew nothing about dental surgery at that time.

I want to say it took 10 minutes, and then it was off to Walgreens to pick up my medication for any pain I will eventually feel. We also got some soup (Vegetable Beef) because for obvious reasons, eating solid food was out. We returned home and I later turned my TV on to the NBC Sports Network for the Stanley Cup Playoffs. It was the Conference Semifinals, and the game that night was Game Four in the West between the Los Angeles Kings and the St. Louis Blues, and I was still so happy over the former beating out the Vancouver Canucks in Round 1. I had my delicious bowl of soup and watched the Kings defeat the Blues, which actually completed a four-game sweep.

Again, that novocaine really works. I didn't feel any pain until the following day. That was a hell of an experience. Thank God I got that over with.

Biography

About the Creator

Clyde E. Dawkins

I am an avid fan of sports and wrestling, and I've been a fan of female villains since the age of eight. Also into film and TV, especially Simpsons and Family Guy.

Feel free to follow my social media:

Twitter - Facebook - Tiktok - Instagram

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    great story

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Splendid story!!! Right now a lot of family members are having the same dental surgery!!! Left a heart!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Well done, Clyde.

Clyde E. DawkinsWritten by Clyde E. Dawkins

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.