BookClub logo

View from the Floor

How did this book change me?

By Rene PetersPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
Cover of "View from the Floor"

As many people here know, due to my previous articles and poems, I have a disorder known as functional neurological disorder (FND). A huge part of functional neurological disorder for myself, and many others, is a type of seizure called psychogenic non-epileptic seizures (PNES). These seizures, while not dangerous, are very disruptive to daily life. They make me feel alone, weak, and not in control of my own anxiety (and other emotions).

In "View from the Floor," Kate Berger talks about her experience with PNES, what they feel like, how taxing they are emotionally, and how difficult daily life is for a patient to go through it.

Reading this book in a total of about three hours was extremely helpful to me, as a fellow sufferer. I never thought of anything that might help even a little. When I read a part towards the beginning, she talks about trying eye movement desensitization and reprocessing (EMDR) and I emailed her asking about how helpful it was. Between the book and the email conversation with her, I decided to ask my psychiatrist and we are now considering it.

Perhaps the most eye-opening part came much later in the book though when she talked about the effect that PNES has on caregivers of the patient. In my many years of dealing with PNES, I had never thought of that. I have been unaware of the pain my parents, friends, and people at work may feel since they can't do anything, the confusion they may have as to why these events occur, and any other thoughts and feelings they might have because of witnessing so many PNES.

One more thing that was extremely helpful in "View from the Floor" was very important though... Learning that I am not alone. No matter how long I go through PNES, or how many people I talk to with it, I always feel alone, like no one else gets it.

After reading the entire book, I started to truly realize how many people are in the community of people with FND and PNES. I realize now that recovery from PNES is possible, even though it doesn't feel like it is. I will absolutely try suggestions from the book to recover from PNES.

ReviewNonfictionDiscussionChallengeAnalysis

About the Creator

Rene Peters

I write what I know, usually in the form of poetry. I tend to lean towards mental health, epilepsy, and loss/grieving.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Jazzy 11 months ago

    It's fantastic when an author chats with you, and I'm glad you found community in your ailment. This was a great review ❤️

  • I'm so glad that Kate replied your email, you discussed it with your psychiatrist and are now considering it. Hope it helps you!

  • Mother Combs11 months ago

    ❤💛❤

Rene PetersWritten by Rene Peters

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.